We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #27 of 523 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel, which ticks all the right boxes: nicely appointed, helpful staff, excellent location (opposite the harbour and a stroll down from the lovely cathedral). I especially commend the breakfast which has the best peeled fruit pieces I have seen in a hotel breakfast ever. It is also very fairly priced.
Pity about the rooftop bar though as it is not an attractive proposition in winter when the wind blows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    482
    72
    22
    17
See reviews for
332
815
48
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We originally tried to go to this hotel a year ago after seeing the details on the Alastair Sawday website, but had our flights cancelled because of the snow. Very kindly, the hotel agreed not to charge us because it was beyond our control and I explained that we would definitely come again... and I'm very glad we did! What a wonderful hotel.. large rooms, great location, fabulous service, delicious breakfast and a complimentary bottle of cava for my birthday. Thanks for making it a perfect few days!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gstar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Solid 4-star hotel near the beach and Las Ramblas. Rooms were well kept. Fair prices. Right on the edge of the Gothic District and a few blocks away from Las Ramblas and all of that street's debauchery. Wireless internet in the hotel worked, which was great since many hotels we stayed at had broken Wi-Fi connections.

Rooftop terrace supposedly had a bar and a tapas menu, but no one was manning it during the two or three times we tried to go. A bit disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jardfich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked this hotel, after seeing it online and since they had a good deal going on, and we had read the reviews here on tripadvisor, we decided to give it a try.
And I'm really happy we did. First of all the (e-mail) contract that we had with the hotel was very nice and they were so friendly and helpful. Thank you Joselyn, Marta, Ivan and the rest of the staff.
The rooms are nice and the hotel has got a great rooftop terrace (with a small pool) and a stunning view over the harbour area.
It location is perfect for exploring the city. With two subway/metro stations nearby: Jaume I and Drassanes.

If you are arriving by plane an easy way to get here is by taking the Aerobus (shuttle from the airport) this will take you to Catalunya and from here you can either walk down La Rambla, or take the L3 metro for two stops to Drassanes.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Depending on the season, if it's high season, you might want to consider having a room at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank My_guideJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We just returned to spend a long weekend at the Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, having discovered this wonderful hotel several years ago. We got wonderful rooms, a great view over the harbour, and free breakfast, which was really wonderful with lots of Spanish treats such as jamón, lomo and local cheeses. We have recommended this hotel to several friends, as we love the location, rooms and the friendly service. We will definitely return!

We had to make last-minute changes in our dates, and the front desk staff was very accomodating and helpful, so we recommend this hotel for discerning world travelers who like the cozy and luxurious atmosphere, in a fabulous location.

Room Tip: Rooms 21 (Junior Suite) and 23 on the second floor are great, overlooking Passeig de Colom and the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here in January and was very impressed with the rooms, the service and the location. From the moment I made my reservation in December (wrongly) and then called the hotel to fix my online error, they could not have been more helpful or friendly. Massive apologies that my room wasn't ready when I arrived (even though it was before 12 on a Sunday morning and check in wasn't till 3). The room was quiet, clean and very nicely appointed. Great to have a plug point by the bed, so I could recharge my phone over night (pet peeve in a lot of hotels, you need to unplug a light or charge your phone on the other side of the room!), Free wifi was a nice bonus. Roof terrace looked fab but not really the right time of year to appreciate it fully, although the pool was tiny. Location was great for the beach, and site seeing. Would definitely return to this hotel if going back to barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fijura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I echo the other reviews and rate this hotel highly, for comfort, service, location, breakfasts, room and view. It is also very central for the harbour, the main sightseeing areas, cosy restaurants, tapas bars and shops. Barcelona is a wonderful city with so much to see that you do need more than three days, we will just have to go back! People are very friendly there too. The Casa Batllo and La Sagrada Familia are just two of the places which are well worth visiting, probably more than once, nothing else like them.

Room Tip: For a great view ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#18 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#14 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#19 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#17 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,967 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#10 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing