We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Nearby Hotels
$149
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel(Barcelona)
$195
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$240
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$442
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$150
$140
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,040)
Filter reviews
2,040 results
Traveler rating
1,347
570
79
25
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,347
570
79
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgothic quarterrooftop barport view roomgreat locationlas ramblasbeautiful hotelplunge poolsmall pooltapasbusy roaddeluxe roomwelcome drinkbottle of cavael bornwould highly recommend this hotelbarri goticsun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
1,225 - 1,230 of 2,040 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate my 'significant' birthday. The welcoming glass of Cava on arrival got the stay off to a great start. Hotel staff were very professional yet friendly and helped make the stay really memorable.

We had a deluxe room overlooking the marina on the 4th floor - lovely view from the little balcony couldn't have been better. Only downside was the heat during the night and when we opened the window the noise from the road woke us up.

Breakfast was good and we had a couple of drinks on the terrace. I don't understand other reviewer's issues with staff, we went down to reception and got served straight away even though it was mid afternoon mid week.

Bathroom essentials were generous and the free wifi, robes and slippers a nice touch.

The location is excellent for the Gothic quarter and waterfront and we found it very easy to get around from there.

All in all we found it great value for money though I imagine the terrace and breakfast room would get very crowded in peak season. We are already recommending to friends!

Room Tip: On the waterfront side, higher up to avoid road noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Arriving at 8 am from a cruise ship, the hotel was locked, and another guest opened the door to let me in and then had to wait until 3.30 pm to get into my room, even though 2 pm was the official check-in time. No welcome drink so I went to the breakfast room and took a coffee off the buffet and was charged 2.5 euros.. ok? not really... but regardless, not a hospitable way to start. Subsequent breakfast services were a mess.
I would suggest the Management actually step into their customers shoes, and see the problems.
The location was perfect, loved exploring El Gotic area and Barcelonetta but my room was adjoining an alley with several bars that got noisy at 2-4 am... local flavor? maybe..
The terrace that looked so great in the photos was very different after rain.. sad, rundown and not staffed till late afternoon..

Room Tip: Definitely not near the side alley with all the noise from the bars.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Gerente at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing with us your opinion about your stay, it is much appreciated.
We are sorry to hear that at your arrival you did not receive the warm welcome that we are proud to offer to our guests. We have 24 hours staff, and external doors are only closed during some hours at night for security reasons, as most hotels in Barcelona, and guests ring the doorbell, but they should have been opened for the time of your early arrival. Regarding breakfast, we are reviewing what circumstances might have caused the mishandling in the service in order to take inmediate measures to avoid it to be repeated, Breakfast is one of our great values and comments of guest are always very positive.
We insist, thank you very much for your valuable opinion, that allows us to improve our standards and we apologise for the inconveniences caused.
Only a couple of comments to clarify, the official check-in time is 3pm, not 2pm, and the service in terrace is covered with staff all day long, it could happen that in certain moments in winter with bad wheather waiters were not there, but you are provided with a telephone in terrace where you can order directly and be served within a few minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and it was great. It's not a big hotel which adds to the atmosphere of the place, along with the architecture of the building. Well located, just walk down las rambla, not through the gothic quarter on your way home. Not only will you avoid the pick pockets but the prosititutes also! But that, obviously, is nothing to do with the hotel! The hotel is really pretty and clean. We had an interior room with looked into the little courtyard. We were a little disappointed with the view but actually it was wonderfully quiet and we got a brilliant nights sleep. The room was extremely warm though, the temp was about 20 degrees outside but we needed to have the air con on about 14 to make it cool enough . Breakfast was lovely, as a lover of cheese and potato omlette I was in heaven.

We need to check.in for our flight on the way home, there was a computer with printer for guests. This was really helpful.

Aside from the hotel, when in Barcelona eating stick to side streets. Do not eat on the rambla or in squares, you'll pay a fortune for crap food. We paid 4 euro for a small beer at one point!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateandcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in November.
The hotel is excellent: welcome drink, friendly service, roof terrace with great view on the port and superb location with the Rambla and attractions within walking distance.
One drawback: the breakfast room is too small when the hotel is full; when we came down at 8h45 we had to wait for 5 minutes before we could enter.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul8en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is strategically located. A lot of attractions are within walking distance. Service was good and the staff were very helpful. We like the Terrance too - a good place to have a sunbath, while waiting for the time to the train station after checking out. (a small story to share: there is a bar but there were no staff in the Terrence. I saw some guest climbed into the bar and "self service" for drinks!)

The only thing about this hotel is that room was small. We stayed in a standard room. The room can barely fit in a double bed, and basic furniture, with not much room to put our luggage. There was also no view.

Overall I think it's value for money, for it's location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews