We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, simple nice hotel”
Review of HCC St. Moritz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HCC St. Moritz
Ranked #265 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in June. The welcome cava was a nice surprise especially since the bar prices were a bit high. I loved the location! It's right by plaza catalunya which has the large metro that will take you anywhere you need. It's by several restaurants and bars. We walked everywhere or took the metro which was very easy to follow. The neighborhood was safe at night and we walked home most nights at 3 am.
The room was spacious and simple. Nothing special but clean and basic needs met. The bathroom was a good size and water pressure was great.
Employees were helpful and answered our questions.
Overall, I would stay here again because of location and safety. If you're looking for a special place, this is not it but if you want simple and clean then this is it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilove-europ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for HCC St. Moritz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 499 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

The back of this hotel looks onto a large courtyard which usually would not be an issue except for the fact that the neighbor has a poultry collection including a feisty rooster who starts up each day right before 5:30am. There is really not a lot more to say on this otherwise average hotel. Unless they put some coq au vin on the menu best avoid this one.....

Room Tip: Well the front is a noisy street and the back is Old McDonald's Farm. Tough choice!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location could not be bettered - a few steps from the Passeig de Gracia between the Placa de Catalunya and Gaudi's Casa Batllo. The room was comfortable and decent sized. It was on the front on the 5th floor, and the double glazing silenced the noise from the street.

Breakfast was not what I expect for the price in a 4* hotel. Coffee was left in flasks and became lukewarm. I didn't go down to breakfast thinking I might try something interesting and new.

Apart from breakfast, the price seemed reasonable. The front desk staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidM726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great central location. 2 min walk from city centre main bus stop from airport.
Quite location just of the main street so ideal location for setting out to see all the sites within the beautiful city of Barcelona.
Room was cleaned and freshened every day
Room was plenty big with a great bed and good sized bathroom.
Breakfast was excellent with a great selection or both warm and fresh foods.
Hotel receptionists were all very pleasent and always very welcoming.
ps. Excellent sports bar across the road if you fancy a pint while waiting for your better half to get ready to go out!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Discovered the hard way on the first night that our bathroom was infested with ants - as they climbed across my head while in the bath! Moved to another room the next day that smelled of feet with a huge toe nail clipping next to the bed. Third room was extremely noisy - a combination of the lift shaft and street traffic. Good location and pleasant staff but we wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BrotherNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The ST MORITZ is in a good location on a quiet street but it is hard to find after you have been out walking all day. The service staff were helpful and friendly. The elevators were small and slow not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The breakfast bar was less than average of the 5 hotels we stayed at in Spain this was the least impressive. Other wise Barcelona is a great city and a must see.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FYI29192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Pleasant unpretentious hotel 10 mins walk from streets leading into the intriguing old town and a tad more to the top of La Rambla. Handy for the main Information Office and the start of the round-Barcelona hop-on hop-off buses on Catalunya square. Metro station three mins walk away at the end of the road. Breakfast fine but the coffee drinkers I was with complained it was never warm enough. Friendly and helpful front of house staff. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front on the fifth floor - no problem with noise since the road (for Barcelona...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misteresperanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel HCC Regente
Hotel HCC Regente
#252 of 513 in Barcelona
525 reviews
Eixample
HCC Taber
HCC Taber
#273 of 513 in Barcelona
499 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars Cristal Palace
Eurostars Cristal Palace
#364 of 513 in Barcelona
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#232 of 513 in Barcelona
1,046 reviews
Eixample
Hotel El Avenida Palace
Hotel El Avenida Palace
#160 of 513 in Barcelona
2,086 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#96 of 513 in Barcelona
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HCC St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC St. Moritz

Address: Diputacio 264, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#166 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $133 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HCC St. Moritz 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic listed building of artistic and historical interest was built in 1883 and began operating as a hotel in 1990. It is located just off Paseo de Gracia, one of the city's main thoroughfares. Completely renovated in 2010, it offers clients the ultimate in comfort and relaxation, promised by the ideal combination of a classical building -typical of stately Barcelona- and all the modern amenities one would expect to find in a 21st-century hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your HCC St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC St. Moritz Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing