We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants in the bathroom!”
Review of HCC St. Moritz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HCC St. Moritz
Ranked #259 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ants in the bathroom!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Discovered the hard way on the first night that our bathroom was infested with ants - as they climbed across my head while in the bath! Moved to another room the next day that smelled of feet with a huge toe nail clipping next to the bed. Third room was extremely noisy - a combination of the lift shaft and street traffic. Good location and pleasant staff but we wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrotherNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    216
    71
    15
    11
See reviews for
76
208
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The ST MORITZ is in a good location on a quiet street but it is hard to find after you have been out walking all day. The service staff were helpful and friendly. The elevators were small and slow not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The breakfast bar was less than average of the 5 hotels we stayed at in Spain this was the least impressive. Other wise Barcelona is a great city and a must see.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FYI29192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Pleasant unpretentious hotel 10 mins walk from streets leading into the intriguing old town and a tad more to the top of La Rambla. Handy for the main Information Office and the start of the round-Barcelona hop-on hop-off buses on Catalunya square. Metro station three mins walk away at the end of the road. Breakfast fine but the coffee drinkers I was with complained it was never warm enough. Friendly and helpful front of house staff. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front on the fifth floor - no problem with noise since the road (for Barcelona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misteresperanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

On arrival take the Airport bus (Return open ticket 12 Euros) for a 35 min journey direct to the central square in Barcelona. On arrival it is a five minute walk for two blocks to the hotel. No steps or hills involved in the walk. Hotel was very easily located.

We had no problems booking in. Paid 8 Euros to use the room safe for 3 nights. WiFi was free and effective. The first room allocated had twin beds. Having requested a double bed, I returned to the reception who transferred us to Room 514 immediately without any difficulties.

The room was clean and very tidy. The daily service was excellent. It should be noted that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Our room overlooked the street at the front of the premises, no street noise was heard. Guests in the neighbouring rooms could be overheard during quiet periods.

Breakfast was good with plenty of selection. A cooked breakfast can be provided on request at no additional charge. Breakfast time commences at 7am and concludes at 11am.

Would consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiggoryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The main areas are very nice ,Marta on reception was a lovely smiley lady who was very welcoming and always friendly A+ (should keep this one as she was great).
Our room was 213 ,little smaller than usual but adequate .It felt a bit dated and dingey not really somewhere i would want to hang out for long in ,really do with a revamp ,just my opinion.
Also very stuffy and smelt stale ,aircon not working although warm for us at night and could not leave window open as too noisey (Take your ear plugs) as traffic /people noise is constant til early hours.
Shower was great ,bathroom was fine .
Daily maid service was very good with a nice lady who was very good and cleaned our room nicely thankyou.
Room service food was not great,limited choice and very basic.
If you have dietry requirements (my husband cannot eat wheat and few other things) either take your own or ask in advance .
They did try but cereal provided had chocolate in and upset him .
Overall the staff were nice and helpful ,beds clean .
I asked for an extra pillow and it arrived 10 minutes later ,great service.
Would we stay here again if visiting the city ,prob yes although a pool would have been nice.

Room Tip: I can only say that the rooms facing the road are really noisey and the "double " glazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroleserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

First major compliment, I booked a short business trip to Barca not realising the Mobile Conference was on. Hotels I have stayed in previously were charging, last Wednesday, 300 to 400 Euros for room ordinarily around 100 Euros. 200 Euro rooms for 700 Euros everywhere. Absolute pillage and on principle I nearly cancelled my trip.

Luckily this hotel seemed to be the only one charging a more normal price at 150 Euros for room only. Enormous credit to them for that.

Location is very good, just off Passeig de Gracia (100 metres from the intersection) and has a pretty good tapas place opposite.

Reception is large and welcome was efficient and friendly.

Rooms are quite sober in design, rather "brown" but far from offensive and the quality of the room was very good. Room quiet and bed comfortable.

Everything I would want from a hotel and again I was enormously impressed by their pricing.

Would come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher Ber... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The location of his hotel is fantastic. In the very centre of Barcelona.
We didn't have any bad surprise at the checkout.

The reception staff was not equally helpful. Depending on the person we talked to, the services provided were not the same.

Not a very good sleep quality:
- The noises from the other rooms were really loud (TV, steps, doors, voices, teeth brushing,...).
- The mattresses were too hard.

There is no fitness.

Overall, the price was worth the value but no more. I will try to get a better deal if I come back to Barcelona one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel HCC Regente
Hotel HCC Regente
#273 of 513 in Barcelona
508 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars Cristal Palace
Eurostars Cristal Palace
#361 of 513 in Barcelona
852 reviews
Eixample
HCC Taber
HCC Taber
#289 of 513 in Barcelona
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#216 of 513 in Barcelona
994 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#154 of 513 in Barcelona
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HCC St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC St. Moritz

Property: HCC St. Moritz
Address: Diputacio 264, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HCC St. Moritz 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic listed building of artistic and historical interest was built in 1883 and began operating as a hotel in 1990. It is located just off Paseo de Gracia, one of the city's main thoroughfares. Completely renovated in 2010, it offers clients the ultimate in comfort and relaxation, promised by the ideal combination of a classical building -typical of stately Barcelona- and all the modern amenities one would expect to find in a 21st-century hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your HCC St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC St. Moritz Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing