We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location”
Review of HCC St. Moritz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HCC St. Moritz
Ranked #262 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is in such a good location round the corner from the Passeig De Gracia with all the top designer shops.There is also many good places to eat just a stones throw away.On the same street as the hotel there is a nice tapas bar and near to that there is a small shop where you can get drinks and that sort of thing.The hotel's breakfast is nice and there are many things on offer there.The hotel is value for money and would go back anytime!Just one thing is that the hairdryer is not the strongest so I recommend bringing your own.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddieJones98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for HCC St. Moritz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 499 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

welcoming and very comfortable hotel, ideally placed in center. Breakfasts really were a feast! Service very good. Easy travel from Airport by mainline train (get off at Gracias). Purchase 10 ticket (9.45 euros) card from airport which will work on metro and buses too!

Room Tip: Despite having room facing street, we found it was not too noisy and both slept well.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel. Rooms are of good size. Breakfast is good.
You can ask them to cook eggs your way which is kind of unusual for European hotels.
The hotel is located just of Passig de Gacia with all it's trendy shops and plenty of Tapas
bars around. You can't beat the location. Well priced hotel with pleasant front desk staff.
Lin, keep on Travelin

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back. Lin
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkobsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

A great little find just off La Ramblas! Helpful reception staff who speak good English...clean, pleasant hotel with nice size rooms. Very central location for all tourists attractions, most within walking distance!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireEH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the St Mortiz in September and had a great time. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Upon arriving he told us all about the hotel, free breakfast, free wi-fi and welcome cocktail. Later in the week they assisted us with tours, hiring a car and suggestions on resturants.
We were given room 415. This room is in the back overlooking the skylight. The room was clean, stylish and a pretty good size. The only noise was a low base sound from the elevator going up and down, but once asleep you can't hear it. The beds are rather firm and pillows flat, so we had extra brought up to our room.
We used the free breakfast daily, your average breakfast buffet and eggs and bacon to order if you like. It was open until 11am so if you want to sleep in it's great.
The location can't be beat. Right off the main strip of shops, resturants and major attractions. Many resturant open late, so its perfect for an afternoon siesta and a late meal at 11pm! We used the hop on hop off buses and the underground. Both were 1.5 blocks from the hotel.
We would stay here again!!
Tips:
-The hop on hop off is the best way to see the city and plan the sites you want to see on your trip. The city is huge and their are lots interesting places you may not have seen in tourist brochures.
-If you are traveling in a group of 4 it costs the same for a bus shuttle or train to the airport as a taxi. I would recommend the taxi. BTW if you are in need of a taxi, get it on the street it's cheaper because if it is called, their is a surcharge.
-If you plan to take the drive to the Dali museum, be prepared to pay for some pricey toll roads.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, do not get a room overlooking the street on the front side of the hotel...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cosmicevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived from an overnight flight early in the morning and our room was ready. We requested an upper floor, which we got and we were able to check in way before noon. The staff was incredibly accomodating and helped us planned some of our "tours". We were able to walk nearly everywhere, including Ramblas and breakfast spots, and to Hop-on-Hop-Off bus. The room was quiet, spacious and clean. The staff held our luggage when we checked out, and they were always available to answer our dumb tourist questions. Loved it!

Room Tip: great location--used American Airlines points!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KARYNLS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Got home yesterday from a 3 night stay at St Moritz. Where do I start, hotel is amazing now take this as a compliment as I am one of the fussy ones ! I always review trip advisor and it takes me a month to settle on a hotel. The location is amazing, 5-10 min walk to top of Las Ramblas where Hard Rock is. It's a 30euro cab ride from Airport. It's 15 min walk through Gothic area to beach. And 30 second walk to end of road is where you pick up tourist bus. These are a must and so very easy to use and get you round everywhere, you get on and off as much as you want for 24euro per person. Back to hotel. Breakfast is brilliant full choice of cereal, pastries, cold meats, toast, yogurts, tea, coffee, fruit then a menu for hot food which they cook fresh. The room was great loads of room, great marble bathroom, great aircon, bed are hard but i like this, great brown and gold decor, the only thing I would say needs an upgrade is the hairdryer but i have such thick hair, i get this everywhere. Water is super expensive on Las Ramblas so buy from market stools for 1euro for 1.5ltr. All shops open until 9-10pm! This is my seconds time in Barcelona and would go back tomorrow if I could stay at St Moritz, it's a real Gem and HCC should be proud of this hotel. Thank you for a wonderful short break hope to see you very soon !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hewey237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel HCC Regente
Hotel HCC Regente
#251 of 513 in Barcelona
525 reviews
Eixample
HCC Taber
HCC Taber
#273 of 513 in Barcelona
497 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars Cristal Palace
Eurostars Cristal Palace
#367 of 513 in Barcelona
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#229 of 513 in Barcelona
1,045 reviews
Eixample
Hotel El Avenida Palace
Hotel El Avenida Palace
#160 of 513 in Barcelona
2,086 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#96 of 513 in Barcelona
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HCC St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC St. Moritz

Address: Diputacio 264, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#164 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $133 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HCC St. Moritz 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic listed building of artistic and historical interest was built in 1883 and began operating as a hotel in 1990. It is located just off Paseo de Gracia, one of the city's main thoroughfares. Completely renovated in 2010, it offers clients the ultimate in comfort and relaxation, promised by the ideal combination of a classical building -typical of stately Barcelona- and all the modern amenities one would expect to find in a 21st-century hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your HCC St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC St. Moritz Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing