We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of HCC Montblanc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HCC Montblanc
Ranked #217 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I had a one night layover in Barcelona and found this hotel in a great location and great stay. The staff were very helpful at check in. My room was very nice and clean. The WiFi was easy to connect and provided good connection. There are plenty of nice restaurants close by. I would stay there again next time in Barcelona.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank snowmiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    479
    167
    37
    21
See reviews for
181
387
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
293 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Spent 3 night at this hotel. Very good location and easy to get to and from the airport via the airport bus. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very helpful. We had an average size room that faced the pool on the 4th floor. Since we had an interior room, it was very quite. The bath towels and bath supplies were just average, however this is typical for a hotel like this in Spain. Breakfast was included, and was your typical Spanish breakfast. If you wanted you could order egg made to order. Over all this is a nice budget friendly hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel over looking the pool. The hotel is on a busy one way stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steinbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunapee, nh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel was just ok. What they really needed was a top not concierge office. Tried to use the lobby computer to shut off my girlfriends Ipad which had been stolen. This relic from the 1990s couldn't manage. Not sure it was good for anything. Lots of people wanted to purchase tickets for the Sagrada Familia, this computer was not the way to do it. A concierge would have made the hotel more tourism friendly.

Besides the negatives in the front lobby, the room was ok. Surprisingly they had no fan in the bathroom which was a negative. My girlfriend went and bought a candle which helped.

The one highlight for this place it was it is in the Barrio Gothic a/k/a Barri Gotic. This is by far the best part of time in my opinion but perhaps someplace near Barceloneta might be a good choice also.

Will I go back to this place, probably not.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinshoesnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
748 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel might not be the fanciest hotel in Barcelona but it has a big heart! The people at the front desk go out of their way to answer questions, offer suggestions and assist in any way they can. Carmen Delgado, was one of the most knowledgeable hotel clerks I have ever met and she never tired of us asking questions. The hotel was clean and well organized. The dining room was large and the breakfast buffet was adequate. I didn't read the pamphlet on the table til the last day so I didn't realize you could have also gotten eggs cooked to order. The rooms varied in size. Our first room was huge but had the wrong sized bed and we were able to change to a smaller room but still on the large side. The larger rooms seem to be facing the street while the ones' facing the alley seemed smaller. My only complaint was that we were unable to control the heat in the room and it was very warm. We opened the window but then the street noise was bothersome. The location of this hotel was excellent. We were a half a block from the Plaza Catalunya and the Metro station and two blocks from Passeo Gracia for bus and metro transportation.. You could easily walk to the Las Ramblas and the gothic section. We traveled by bus, metro and foot almost everywhere! There were some excellent Tapas places and restaurants within a short walk from the hotel and the hotel dining room also served a very nice dinner. For the location and personal touch, this hotel warrants 5 stars!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Beautiful North
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Excellent hotel. From the friendly, helpful, English-speaking service on arrival, to the easy access to our room (there are 2 lifts available), to the large room itself overlooking the swimming pool at the back, we loved it.

Soundproofing was great, we weren't disturbed by any noise during our entire stay, either from other guests or outside the hotel.

The location is superb - only a 5 minute walk from Placa de Catalunya, but not immediately on it, which makes it quieter and cheaper. Placa de Catalunya is the main square, where the airport buses terminate, and the tourist buses also leave from, also with a metro station. Incidentally, the hop-on-hop-off bus goes right past the front door of the hotel on one of the routes. There's another metro station at Urqinaona about 1 minute walk up the road. If arriving by car, there's an underground car park at the hotel.
Note that the airport buses are excellent, it took only 30 mins from the airport to Place de Catalunya both on our arrival and departure, it was about 6 Euros per person.

The location is also perfect for the massive Gothic quarter, about 5 mins walk down to the cathedral. We mainly picked this hotel as it's so close to the Gothic quarter, but not actually in it, where the buildings are all older and therefore have smaller rooms and less soundproofing.

We knew beforehand that European hotels don't tend to supply kettles (who wants a hot drink in a hot country ? Only the Brits.) So we took our own, plus adaptor plug. Sadly the adaptor broke in transit. No problem - the ever-helpful receptionist directed us to a large department store on Place de Catalunya which supplied a replacement. We also wanted to find local restaurants which opened earlier than the standard 8pm - we couldn't get used to the Spanish custom of eating later! No problem, they helped us again. All in good English.

There are plenty of restaurants within a couple of minutes of the hotel, and also a couple of small supermarkets plus chemist across the road. Everything we needed on the doorstep !

Our room overlooked the swimming pool at the back, facing onto the back of several residential blocks with private balconies. This was always quiet, which enabled us to open the window on a couple of warmer nights. However, this was just our choice - the air conditioning was in perfect working order.

The shower was marvellous, very powerful. The only slight gripe is that although there's a bath, the plug was leaky and didn't keep the water in. However, this is probably why the hotel class the bathroom as 'shower only.' Fair enough.

All in all, this is a great hotel, and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quieter at night, if you want to have your window open. However, the soundproo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NightOwl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had booked through an online agent at this hotel (room only) which had gone into liquidation shortly before our trip to Barcelona. Subsequently, we only found out when we arrived at the hotel that our booking had been cancelled. The hotel staff were sympathetic and helpful, and although we had to re-book our room, for no additional cost we were given a room with a terrace, had breakfast added to our stay and a bottle of cava for the room.
The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. Excellent walking distance from Placa de Catalunya and La Rambla. Direct train to the airport is about a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit worried after booking this hotel by the comments left on here, but we were very pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel was. All staff very friendly, polite and extremely helpful. Our room was on the 5th floor and was massive. Very clean, mini bar well stocked daily. The only downside was no tea/coffee in the room. Good location not far from the ramblers, we even walked to sagrada familla, wow what a church. I recommend the open top bus, we bought a 2 day ticket, used the first day to see what was about, then day 2 used it as a hop on hop off service visiting all the sites we had marked on the free map.

Great trip will defiantly be back

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#138 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#234 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#257 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#165 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hesperia Barri Gotic
Hesperia Barri Gotic
#112 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HCC Montblanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC Montblanc

Property: HCC Montblanc
Address: Via Laietana 61, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#184 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HCC Montblanc 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HCC Montblanc is situated right in the heart of the city, just 500 metres from Plaza Catalunya and bordering the charismatic Gótico neighbourhood. The hotel's location makes it the best choice for soaking up the atmosphere and life of Barcelona, and for discovering or revisiting its most emblematic corners, such as the Palau de la Música, the Ramblas, the Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya, the neighbourhoods of the Born and Barceloneta, among many others. Hotel HCC Montblanc is a new building, and has recently been extended. The hotel makes a good choice for a stay that is full of contrasts and unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your HCC Montblanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC Montblanc Barcelona, Catalonia
Hcc Montblanc Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing