We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise For 3 Star Hotel. ”
Review of HCC Montblanc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HCC Montblanc
Ranked #237 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We came after midnight exhausted and quite haggard after 12 hours of traveling. The receptionist was so charming we felt great immediately. The room was better than some 5 Star hotels I've stayed in. Wonderful bed and really nice room. Breakfast wasn't the greatest I've had but quite typical for European hotels. More than adequate. My wife felt bad and decided to spend the day in the room. I was really disappointed to I went to the reception and asked if I could rent a wheelchair in Barcelona. After a few moments they returned and said I could borrow the new wheelchair the hotel had for the rest of my trip. They really saved our visit. I didn't give it 5 Stars because I didn't want to mislead anyone, but they deserve all the stars available for the way they see to your needs.

Stayed: October 2013
6  Thank Icchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay at this hotel and for a 3 star hotel it was very good. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was good with a view over the pool. We ate at the hotel on 2 occasions and couldn't fault the food - excellent value for money, 3 courses with a glass of cava, a bottle of wine and water included for 24 euros per person. The location was excellent as a base for sightseeing and would most certainly book there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unlimited_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Good location of hotel, rooms were of a good size. First room didn't have hot water, somewhat of a known issue in some rooms when enquiring with reception. I was moved to another room which was fine. Overall it's a fairly decent hotel at a good price for Barcelona

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here on business for visiting a conference in Barcelona. I booked quite late so prices are high across most hotels in Barcelona due the conference, but over 300 Euros a night for this hotel is daylight robbery. I'd still be questioning whether it was god value for money at 100 Euros per night. Plus I'm amazed they still wanted another 17 Euros for a terrible breakfast - continental buffet that's just about OK, no hot food unless you wait ages for it, and terrible coffee. The final cheek is that to use the safe in the room the hotel want to charge another 5 euros per day for that as well!
The room looks like something out of a 70's XXX movie - small, orange/brown dated decor - two single beds pushed together - sheets and a blanket on each bed. I can't remember the last time I wasn't sleeping under a duvet at a hotel. The bathroom has a shower over the bath - but no bath-fill, only a shower - which worked OK most of the time, except coming in late on my last night the hot water was scalding hot and the cold water was even hotter! Dangerously hot. Reception said they knew about the problem and suggested I ran the taps to clear the hot water out of the cold system - tried it for 10 minutes just ended up with a steamy bathroom and still no cold water.
The location is pretty good, but I'm sure you can find much better in the area for the same or less money. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone - glad to be checking out......

Room Tip: Although the view is terrible the rooms not overlooking the streets are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We took A1 bus from the airport to Central Barcelona and found that it stopped in Cataluña square that was only 400m walking distance to the hotel. We had a good size room with air con and clean bathroom. The hotel was also just 600m from the Cathedral and half an hour walk to the port and the beaches.
Breakfast in the hotel costs 17€ each so we did not do that , if you come out of the hotel and turn left you will find several places like Starbucks doing breakfast for 5€ each.
We stayed 3 nights and the hotel restaurant and bar always seemed to be empty so we went out to eat each night,
cheaper and more atmosphere.
Good value for a central location if you don't eat there !

Room Tip: We were facing the man road but were not disturbed by traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I checked in today and I want to leave. the room is pokey no space around the bed. we booked a double but what we have is 2 singles shoved together. with single bed linen. window looks out at a wall. noisy vents on the roof next to our window meaning it has to stay shut. not proper curtains so the sun will be waking me in the morning. €5 a day for safe takes the Mick. if the receptionist smiled it would be a start but no chance. dreading to think what awaits us at breakfast tomorrow.
don't bother with this hotel. I feel conned out of my hard earned money

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kirstyjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. Location perfect, 5 minutes walk from main square and airport buses. We had large quite room on 7th floor,receptionists very helpful. Plenty selection for breakfast in large dinningroom .Would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kat434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#178 of 516 in Barcelona
1,508 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#210 of 516 in Barcelona
1,080 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#127 of 516 in Barcelona
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#48 of 516 in Barcelona
1,225 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 516 in Barcelona
2,143 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#110 of 516 in Barcelona
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HCC Montblanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC Montblanc

Address: Via Laietana 61, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#184 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $95 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HCC Montblanc 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HCC Montblanc is situated right in the heart of the city, just 500 metres from Plaza Catalunya and bordering the charismatic Gótico neighbourhood. The hotel's location makes it the best choice for soaking up the atmosphere and life of Barcelona, and for discovering or revisiting its most emblematic corners, such as the Palau de la Música, the Ramblas, the Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya, the neighbourhoods of the Born and Barceloneta, among many others. Hotel HCC Montblanc is a new building, and has recently been extended. The hotel makes a good choice for a stay that is full of contrasts and unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your HCC Montblanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC Montblanc Barcelona, Catalonia
Hcc Montblanc Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing