We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location, clean, comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HCC Montblanc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HCC Montblanc
Ranked #213 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Portage La Prairie
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing location, clean, comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for four nights. The hotel was just fine, room somewhat basic but comfortable. Well equipped bathroom. There was some street noise, however, this is Barcelona and we were there during Festival. The location is outstanding! We walked almost everywhere, so much to see and do. Four nights was not enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leocraft77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    473
    161
    37
    21
See reviews for
177
382
34
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the airport and took the bus to Catalunya, the hotel was a short walk from the stop but very easy to find. The check in was swift despite being busy, everyone on the reception desk was very helpful and happy to talk in English when my Spanish ran out! Everything was very clean, the room we had was an excellent size. The room was on the second floor and not much natural light came in but that goes with the territory for a city centre hotel, the bathroom was dated but functional although the shower attachment would only work on low power as if you ramped it up the holder was too loose and you ended up spraying the ceiling but not really a problem. The hotel offered us a welcome/complimentary glass of cava which was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of everything including fruit, bread, sweeter pastry things, salami, ham, cheese etc. The hotel was excellent value and the staff complimented this very well. On top of all of this the location as everyone mentions was superb and overall I would say the hotel exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipos12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluEmu1
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Mountblanc is in a perfect location. Walking distance to just about everything in Barcelona. The staff here is very welcoming and efficient. We breezed through check-in and in no time were dropping our bags off in our room. Our room was a decent size, the beds were fine and the bathroom was nice. With a little updating this hotel could be a five star. The bed coverings should be updated and a newer flat screen TV (if one weren't too tired to watch at the end of the day) would be nice. There is a large lounge area next to the check-in and you also could relax a bit by the small pool outside. Overall, I would say this is a very good hotel choice for the location, high level of hospitality and of course, the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluEmu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Located just on the border of the old town, most things are in walking distance. Even the beach, about 20 minutes. I had a room with a balcony on the seventh floor, highlt ecommended! Breakfast was pretty much horrible. But theres great food in walking distance so no problem

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Storemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I wanted a hotel that was pretty central and close to Las Ramblas and this one was ideal. Approximately 5 minutes walk from Placa de Catalunya and Las Ramblas. You can pick up the tourist buses from here and the tourist information is also here. The room was a good size for a city hotel, clean and served its purpose. I stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the street so experienced a fair bit of noise from the street below. I stayed bed & breakfast which was a self serve buffet with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caron105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I took my 22 yr old daughter to the hotel HCC Montblanc, Barcelona for a 5 night city break in August 2012. We were really pleased with the location which is a short walk form the airport bus link stop and walking distance from Las Ramblas and the main city sites. Our room was at the back overlooking the pool and was very quiet. The pool is small but lovely to enjoy in the morning when the sun is on it and you can relax on the surrounding terrace. Towels are provided by the pool which saves taking them. We did not eat in the hotel and I agree with another reviewer that it was expensive considering the there were numerous more economic restaurants nearby in which to eat.The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we felt it was a really excellent hotel all round.

Room Tip: Ask for one that does not overlook the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

6 of us went for a stag do (sorry Barca!!!) and had 3 rooms here. I hadn't been to Barcelona before so was not too sure about this location, but it turned out to be perfect!

The rooms were as expected, pretty much like a Premier Inn and the bathrooms clean and tidy. The reception was a little slow to check in, probably felt like that though as we were all chomping at the bit for our first Estrella Damm!

If I could give any advice, it would be steer clear of Ramblas etc - it's so expensive and full of tourists! You only need go quarter of a mile for beer below 2euros and free tapas as you drink.

All in all though greatly served the purpose and I'd go back for a city break there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#135 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#230 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#272 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#162 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HCC Montblanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC Montblanc

Property: HCC Montblanc
Address: Via Laietana 61, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#184 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HCC Montblanc 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HCC Montblanc is situated right in the heart of the city, just 500 metres from Plaza Catalunya and bordering the charismatic Gótico neighbourhood. The hotel's location makes it the best choice for soaking up the atmosphere and life of Barcelona, and for discovering or revisiting its most emblematic corners, such as the Palau de la Música, the Ramblas, the Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya, the neighbourhoods of the Born and Barceloneta, among many others. Hotel HCC Montblanc is a new building, and has recently been extended. The hotel makes a good choice for a stay that is full of contrasts and unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HCC Montblanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC Montblanc Barcelona, Catalonia
Hcc Montblanc Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing