We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”

La Forquilla Restaurant
Reserve with
La Forquilla Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #146 of 9,704 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $82
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Poblenou
Description: At La Forquilla Restaurant we look for a different view on the concept of a restaurant. Services with few diners but attended by the same Chef who creates the dishes, Vidal Gravalosa. This approach seeks the highest quality both inside and outside the kitchen. Nobody better than the same Chef to convey the sense of each ingredient of each dish during the experience.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you get the chance to eat at La Forquilla, then you should grab it. We went for dinner on Christmas Eve based on the reviews on tripadvisor. Our expectations were high and were more than met. We both had the sensations menu, which was an absolute delight and one of the best bargains I've ever had. We had chicken nugget appetiser, salad with roast hazelnut and blue cheese sauce, stuffed squid, Iberian pig, autumn pudding and sweets. Every dish more creative and more delicious than the one before. The restaurant was full, with very happy customers. It was so delicious that we booked for lunch later in the week week. Lunch was possibly even better. We shared a salad and croquettes to start. Yumm! Then Arroz con Espardenas which was sublime. I'm ashamed to say we also had pudding....The service is first-class and Vidal is a real talent who clearly loves delighting customers with exquisite food and wine to match. An experience to be savoured.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish-Scoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    97
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most amazing & delicious dinner!!!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me on my birthday with the visit to this great chefs restaurant choosen primarily by the perfect reviews on tripadvisor.

We were both fascinated by the owner, chef and waiter, which is all Vidal, one person, calm and most friendly and working on an excellent highly professional level.
We enjoyed most delicious and artful presented food and wine. You feel the high hosting spirit and food art knowledge which Vidal collected at his stations all over spain at michelin star restaurants with most famous chefs.
Food was presented modern and every dish was served on special plates, high quality also the Riedel wine glasses and the silver cutleries.

Vidal made our stay in Barcelona unforgetable. He's a great man and works hard and with all his heart to present you his world of taste!

You have to reserve a table if you are in Barcelona, take a cab there and enjoy... as we will next time we are there

Helpful?
1 Thank dragonheartwines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villalbilla, Madrid
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly high quality at a reasonable cost”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We celebrated our Christmas gathering at La Forquilla, we were a small group of colleagues and I was surprised by the originality and excellent quality in all the dishes. We chose the "menú degustación" consisting of roughly 8 very diverse small dishes ranging from salad, rice, oysters, chicken, beef... Everything was so carefully presented and cooked, it was just a memorable experience and we all were very satisfied. Service was also outstanding and nice.
I recommend this place for any kind of occassion, whenever one wants to surprise someone or just enjoy an out-of-the-ordinary meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jumimori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect dinner”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We can very recommend this Restaurant ! We had the tasting menu and the food was just perfect. The size and the flavor of evry dishes was great !
Try the austers with cava foam, incomparable !

Thank you for your wine recommendation, all had wonderfully harmonizes.

At all the time, you will notice, chef vidal knows what he doe`s. He is a perfect host and chef. He was very friendly.

you made the birthday dinner memorable for me and my girlfriend, thank you very much.

keep it up !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MG_1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, memorable experience”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

A wonderful little restaurant with great, imaginative food and attentive service by Vidal, the owner-chef. Highly recommended.

La Forquilla is located in the St Marti residential neighborhood of Barcelona, near the Poblenou metro station. It is just a few metro stops away from the center of the city. The decor is simple but tasteful, and the menu consists of around eight appetizers, and a similar number of main courses and desserts. We were told that they change according to seasonally available ingredients, and can be found at the restaurant's website.

Our party of five had dinner there on the last Thursday of November. The flavors were delicious, the presentation wonderful, and the service impeccable, personally delivered by the chef Vidal who also owns the place. He suggested for us two different red wines, both great, and was glad to answer our questions about the menu. Vidal's attention to every detail of the experience impressed us.

All the courses that we tried were composed of a mixture of traditional, mostly local ingredients, and modern, imaginative touches, such as lemon foam, berry reductions, or wine sauce. The combinations proved extremely successful and left us all agreeing that our meal La Forquilla was one of the best dinners we've ever had.

The same can be said about the wonderful desserts. They were all truly great. 

All in all, a most memorable experience that I recommend without hesitation. It has instantly become a must for me, whenever I go to Barcelona again. 

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Forquilla Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Forquilla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing