We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positively surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Ranked #156 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in the touristic city center of Barcelona, this is not your hotel (the metro or tram can take you there in less than 15 minutes though). If you are looking for a nice, modern, clean hotel with one of the friendliest staff you have ever seen for a reasonable price....this is it!
Checkin was super smooth and my SPG Gold Status got immediately recognized and got me an upgraded room. There is free bottled water in the room and wifi is free as well.
I didn't use breakfast but had lunch one day and that was pretty good as well. Three courses for about 11eur as an SPG member.
In short: I can highly recommend this place and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Sven_Barca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

the front desk staff were always ready to find and resolve any and all of your situations, and always with kind words an a smile. the rooms had good beds, but lack storage space. Breakfast was ok, they could improve it by adding omelets,fried eggs, etc. the only option are scramble eggs that are not properly cooked.
its location is excellent, great restaurants and safe walking anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Absolutely great neighborhood.

Right in the middle of the action but hotel was good to get away for peace and quiet.

Front desk was very helpful, people were great.


For runners, there is a long strip right near the hotel where people run and ride their bikes constantly. It was very fun to get out there and exercise.


Metro was about a 3 minute walk, extremely convenient.

note: travelled here june of 2012

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NewtdaJamaicanAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel was chosen because my father in law had loyalty points to redeem.
My wife and I had a pleasant check in experience, the desk agent was most helpful especially when he had a problem with our reservation. It was late but he did the right thing by checking us in and allowing us to go to our room. He said he would resolve the problem and someone would get back to us in the morning. So far so good for service.
Our room had a king bed which took up the majority of the floor space but that isn't a problem for us since we use the room for sleeping not lounging. The furniture was in very good condition, all lights worked but the HVAC system was difficult to manage. The thermostat had few settings and we could not lower the temp beyond 22 degrees Celsius. We like our room cool for sleeping but there was a window we could open for ventilation however, with that came street noise.
The tub/shower was just the right size but the hand held shower was a pain to use. The rest of the WC was spacious and well maintained. On Saturday and Sunday mornings we experienced a problem with the hot water in the shower. My guess is the hotel's occupancy was high for when we showered the water flow would suddenly turn to straight hot water and in my opinion the hot water is set way too high. Both my wife and I were startled by this sudden change of temperature, we felt like we were almost scalded.
Another short coming is the availability of outlets near the bed. There are one on each side of the bed which is great but one side has the telephone plugged into it and if you unplug it in order to charge your cell phone or pad the battery of the phone goes dead and the phone won't work. Another concern is the lack of "hot" outlets. As most
travelers to Europe know you must insert a card/room key into a receptacle near the entry door to activate the lights and outlets. What is surprising, none of the outlets remain active when you leave for the day. So if you planned on charging an appliance while out and you removed the room keycard from the slot your appliance would not be charged upon your return. Considering the fact that almost everyone travels with some type of smartphone, pad or laptop this is a an oversight that needs to be corrected.
My in laws room had several issues which took some time to resolve. The issues were not big ones but inconvenient for them. They had asked for the problems to be fixed early in the day and they had not been resolved by the time they returned 8 hours later.
The food and bar service were good though we had to hunt down a bartender two times in order to be served. Breakfast buffet was good and typical with meats, cheeses, fruit, breads, cereals etc. coffee was a problem though. They had two machines which were very slow. They had plenty of staff working but they were more concerned making sure every guest was checked prior to seating to see if they were on the breakfast included plan. We saw three servers stand at the front checking, while lines developed at the coffee machines. This needs to be addressed by management. The coffee machine at the bar was not being used at all.
All in all the front desk team were excellent, the security people were helpful, the bartenders were excellent once on the job and the servers were good except for the item mentioned above.
Would I return there in the future, probably not but mostly due to location. We used public transportation most of the time or just walked. The metro was a 10 minute walk, not bad but then the ride to Plaza Espana was a good 20 minutes. I am sure we could find better accommodations closer in at a reasonable priced.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was a great place to stay before embarking on a transatlantic cruise. Four Points Diagonal is in a very convenient location, close to shopping, restaurants and beach. Good walking neighborhood.
We were on the 2nd floor and I wish we had been higher to help block out some street noise, but the room was large and bed very comfortable. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Very convenient to restaurants, shopping and the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DariaChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A decent hotel... a little off the beaten track but a great place to stay.

Our rate included breakfast.

The front desk staff were incredibly helpful as were the cleaning staff.

The room was very clean and everything worked as it should have.

For the non Spaniards staying at the hotel, "early" dinner service is available. Early is anything before about 8:30 PM.

One drawback... we were upgraded to a larger "01" room and the air conditioner was not up to the task.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here on 5-8'th November, 2013. The location could be more central for the main tourist attractions, so you need taxi almost every time in order to go places like Rambla etc. Clean rooms with free wifi and bottled water in the minibar. However, in the minibar there is nothing else. Lobby bar is reasonably priced and service is good. Breakfast is pretty good with a lot to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyboyFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#93 of 513 in Barcelona
876 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#179 of 513 in Barcelona
3,608 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#200 of 513 in Barcelona
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Pol & Grace Hotel
#72 of 513 in Barcelona
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal

Address: Avenida Diagonal 161-163, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $112 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in into any of our uncomplicated and comfortable 154 rooms for the best sleep ever. Strategically located on the Avinguda Diagonal in Barcelona's cool new 22 district, the hotel is close to the beach and just steps from great local shopping, sports facilities and museums as well as one of Barcelona's most important convention centres. Easily accessible and well connected to the rest of the city by train or bus, you can also walk to Gaudi's famous Sagrada Familia Cathedral, the Agbar Tower any many other city hot spots. Relax and enjoy La Avenida restaurant, El Rincon bar, lounge and outside terrace to take advantage of Barcelona's great weather and a free coffee per person each day of your stay. Nothing ever tasted better than a fresh draft beer from the Best Brews program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
4 Points By Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Amrey Diagonal Barcelona
Amrey Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
Four Points By Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing