We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staffing & location let down otherwise good hotel!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Ranked #151 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Staffing & location let down otherwise good hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lets be honest, its quite far from the Metro/Underground station.
A good 10-15min walk.
On a nice day, its bearable. Won't want to do this in the rain.
Yes, there is a tram, but you add transfer time and you must be on a 2 or 3 Day Transport Pass if not the cost of travelling into the main areas and back is doubled (1 In, 1 Out, +2 Trams).
There is a decent sized mall with : Carrefour, Zara, H&M, etc...
As well as some food options (we did not try any). Note that the cinema is only in Spanish.
And Yes, there is the largest shopping center in Barcelona on the end of the tram line... (its only ok, unless you're dedicated shopper... we cleared it in 2hours with a preggers wife!).

Rooms were fine, we had a high floor so the views were good. Try to get a corner room on a high floor for the best views (but it will be next to the lift so there is a trade off here).

We could see the Gaudi Catherderal and several other landmarks.

Ammenities were good. Toilets and rooms were clean. There's ability to open a window for fresh air (and to dry out few pieces of washing).

Cleaning lady never gave me a new toothbrush or mouthwash... which was strange, and when I requested for it, it never appeared in my room...

Other issue I have is with the overall staffing. It was not very very busy, but the staff seemed quite full to capacity - Management: You need MORE staff!
Lobby was tiny! so not sure where they would be placed.
But it was a good 5-10min wait to get served or for anyone to pick up your call from the room!

So the pluses kinda get weighed down by the 2 main problems (location & staffing) for me.
Yes, its HALF the price of the LeMeridien which is super central. And yes it will pay for you 2 or 3 day pass to ride all public transport options... I guess it depends on your budget and what you're looking for.

Personally, I am not sure I will stay here again on my next trip...

Room Tip: Rooms were fine, we had a high floor so the views were good. Try to get a corner room on a high floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t4tortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin M, Director General at Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear t4tortoise,
I would like to thank to you for sharing with us your experiences in your last visit to Barcelona at the Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona.
We do take good note of your points with the idea of improving our services. We do celebrate you had a great time in Barcelona.
If you plan that a second visit to Barcelona we do welcome to you and your family back at the Four Points by Sheraton barcelona.
With warm regards from Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    527
    95
    21
    19
See reviews for
238
446
83
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel, very well located in Avenida Diagonal.
Very easy to get around town being a few blocks away from Diagonal Metro station and with a Tram line running right in front of the hotel.
Several shopping centers and various stores within walking distance.
Nice and fairly spacious room (by European standards) with a comfortable bed.
Definitively recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeedr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night. It was a very nice hotel, rooms were clean and tidy (a little small) and the bed(s) was comfortable (two twins pushed together). The hotel itself it nice and pretty modern looking. Its one of the nicer Four Points I've stayed at. Its location is great, theres a street car right outside that runs you straight down to Barceloneta and port Olympic. Staff was friendly and helpful. Cost about 30 to get to the hotel from the airport. Could see the Sagrada Familia out of our window. The free wifi worked great. Only draw back to the hotel was that it seemed that every time a door closed you could hear it in the room. All in all a great hotel.

When booking this hotel, on several booking sites we saw that they offered an airport shuttle, which was one of the main reasons we ended up booking here. However, that is not the case.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 81pez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin M, Director General at Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear 81pez,
Thanks for taking extra time and share your experiences at the Four Points Barcelona with this huge travellers comunity.
We take good note of your advice about the shuttle service and we do solve it due to we have only transfer services and a charge. We do check all the online travel agencies and we do fresh up with the correct information. Thanks to point it out.
We do celebrate that you enjoyed Barcelona.
If you plan to visit us in the future let us know news and we do welcome you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Four Points hotel and truly enjoyed our stay. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. Free internet was great. It is near the metro and close to many restaurants, sightseeing and shopping. I highly recommend this hotel for the price, location and staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Really nice and clean hotel. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was plain but satisfying. There's a shopping mall near by where you can buy pretty much everything. There are some restaurants too. The beach is not far and there's nice walking street to go there. Hopefully I'll go there again some day =)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I booked this hotel with points for 5 nights. I have never stayed at a four points before but by the amount of points I had to burn, I understood that it's an economy hotel. The hotel did not disappoint. Our stay was very pleasent. The Glories metro train stop is 700m away and there is a number 7 bus stop close by. We bought the 10 metro tickets for around 10 euros and used public transportation. Unfortunately it rained all the 5 days we were there and it was a bit of pain to walk to train or bus stop when it was raining. But it does not rain in Barcelona every day.

A couple of things to note - 1. When I checked in the lady at the front desk gave me a room on the second floor. Once I got in to the room I saw that it has two single beds. So I called right away and asked that I booked a room with King bed. She said she would give me a king on the 11th floor and it was a nice room. 2. She also mentioned that as a SPG rewards gold member I can choose from breakfast, points and something else. I chose breakfast. So the next morning I and my wife went to the restuarant. The waiter said that our names are not on the list and he went and checked with the front desk and they said there is no breakfast as I was only a gold member and not platinum. I have not stayed at a SPG property in more than a year and don't know what benefits each level of rewards categories have. So I was furious and asked that front desk guys why did the lady gave me three options and asked me to choose. They said they were sorry but I was not happy. Since it's a low category property may be they don't invest in training these folks or may be some of them are part time.

Overall a nice stay with small glitches.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin M, Director General at Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Coolbabu,
I would like to thank to you for give us feed back after your stay at the hotel.
We do celebrate that you had a great time in Barcelona.
We do regret that we were unable to explanied to you the right benefices for your level status.
However we do honor the benefices for each type and we can not extend benefices to members of lower status due to those benefices are to each level - Preferred / Gold and Platinum -
We are at your total disposal and we hope we have the oportunity to welcoming you back at the hotel in the future,
With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This newer very modern property is slightly away from the main tourist attractions but in Barcelona we found that to a distinct positive. I would rate this five stars but it is a very well designed, comfortable hotel that is more that worthy of it's four star rating. Free and speedy Wi-Fi as well free computers in the business center to print attraction tickets and boarding passes is a real plus
We loved the location with it's convenient public transit and inviting walking street full of well priced and delightful local restaurants and bars. You get a true Barcelona experience here.
Perhaps the biggest positive is the staff. All are fluent in English and ready with suggestions for transit, dinning, and attractions. This hotel presents a tremendous value for your Euro!
If there is a negative to point out, it's the noise the adjacent doors to the hallway make when closing and the lack of carpet in the rooms (which is big plus to us) does tend to amplify the sound

Room Tip: Our third floor room provided a beautiful of the tree tops and the streets below
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida-Traveler-888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agustin M, Director General at Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Florida Traveller 888,
Thanks for sharing with the travellers comunity your opinion about Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona.
Thanks for rating us with this high scores and commends like yours encourage us to continue in this way looking for our guest and being proactive.
Location is always a must however we feel like we show to you the real Barcelona Rambla del Poble nou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#157 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#181 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#84 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Address: Avenida Diagonal 161-163, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in into any of our uncomplicated and comfortable 154 rooms for the best sleep ever. Strategically located on the Avinguda Diagonal in Barcelona's cool new 22 district, the hotel is close to the beach and just steps from great local shopping, sports facilities and museums as well as one of Barcelona's most important convention centres. Easily accessible and well connected to the rest of the city by train or bus, you can also walk to Gaudi's famous Sagrada Familia Cathedral, the Agbar Tower any many other city hot spots. Relax and enjoy La Avenida restaurant, El Rincon bar, lounge and outside terrace to take advantage of Barcelona's great weather and a free coffee per person each day of your stay. Nothing ever tasted better than a fresh draft beer from the Best Brews program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
4 Points By Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Amrey Diagonal Barcelona
Amrey Diagonal Hotel Barcelona
Four Points By Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing