We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andante
Ranked #77 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wonderful hotel with a great location. Walking distance to Las Ramblas, the metro, and Plaza Catalunya. The front desk staff was wonderful. I have never stayed in a hotel with a more helpful staff. They provided us with maps, tourbus tickets, restaurant recommendations, etc. and always with a smile. Our room looked exactly as pictured and was extremely clean. Would definitely stay there again if I am ever in Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear client,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers.

We appreciate your comments about the location, service, staff and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise.

We are very pleased to hear that you would definitely stay with us again. Comments like yours, help us to continue improving and we really want to thank you for these nice words.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,
Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    601
    90
    16
    8
See reviews for
291
759
48
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marmora, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Andante is an excellent base for exploring Barcelona. The location is central to Los Ramblas and the waterfront. The metro is a short 5 minute walk away. There is an ATM 2 doors away and a convenience store just across the street.
The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The staff was very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. The breakfast was great with plenty of seating, never a hassle to find a seat as experienced in other hotels. Very nice lobby, a bar would be nice however!
The rooms were spartan but large and clean and with comfortable beds. Wifi signal was good and free! The pool and rooftop view was nice but the size of the deck is inadequate for the volume of the hotel. Don't revolve your plans around any time at the pool unless you like lying literally right next to a stranger, if you're even lucky enough to find a seat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear client,

Thank to you for choose our establishment for your last stay in Barcelona, and for your positive assessment. Your comments about our location, service and quality, are the best reward and encouragement to continue making our guests' stay an unforgettable experience.
We are sorry the swimming-pool did not fulfill your expectations due to it is a free service we offer our clients to make their stay more comfortable, that usually three stars hotels do not offer.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Can't recommend this hotel enough. Minutes from bottom of Las Ramblas, you could walk to the beach and a subway station nearby! The hotel itself was modern, the rooms were spacious and well equipped. Breakfast was varied and we enjoyed eating it out on the terrace. The roof top pool was also fantastic with breathtaking views of Barcelona. Will definitely go back. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncp150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear client,

We appreciate your comments about the quality, service and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise.
We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.
Best regards,

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for a total of 4 nights in Andante Hotel and, having paid very reasonable prices for a stay so close to Las Ramblas in Barcelona, we were amazed at the quality of the hotel.

The hotel lobby, corridors and rooms are stylish and efficient.

The staff are welcoming and very helpful - providing directions and maps when asked.

The roof pool has incredible views and is an amazing experience. Although the decking area can get very busy at peak times, it provides some great holiday photos of the city.

The location is ideal: there are multiple restaurants and cafes nearby, a supermarket and bank in very close proximity and Drassanes metro station and Las Ramblas are less than a 5 minute walk.

We will definitely be returning to Barcelona again in the future and Andante Hotel is top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear client,

Thank to you for choose our establishment for your last stay in Barcelona, and for your positive assessment. Your comments about our location, service and quality, are the best reward and encouragement to continue making our guests' stay an unforgettable experience.
We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed with our family two days in a family room. This are two bedrooms with a common hall. As there are two doors, sleep quality is excellent. We were on the 9th floor end of the corridor, so no street noise. Pool on 11th floor is small and rather cold with only 14 chairs and no bar but with nice view. We could leave our luggage when we arrived at 9:30 from the cruise, and got nice information on activities in the area.There is a bakery 30 meters left and again left to avoid the expensive breakfast. Taxis pass by constantly, so not needed to pay extra at the reception.
We also liked: hotel was clean, excellent sleeping, interesting (cheap) area close to the touristic places (palao Guell 100 meters - opens at 10:00), free wifi, safe, good bed, good curtains, many TV channels.
Less: very minimum furniture, no coffee, mini-bar; there is only one chair, shower is very slippery/ dangerous without any support when falling; doors make a lot of noise when opened and closed, elevators are slow with card security.
Worst: the corridors are black, as is the shower; the spot lights do not help; music in the corridors give it the atmosphere of a parking garage.
Will we stay here again? Possibly, but not as first choice.

Room Tip: Family rooms on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear client,
Envia
First of all, thank you for choosing Andante Hotel for your stay in Barcelona and share your experience with the rest of travellers.
We appreciate your comments about the quality, service, staff and the rooms in general.
Referring to the elevators, a card is needed due to security systems. We are sorry if you found it uncomfortable . However, we believe this is an adecuate way to make or guests feel as safe as possible.
As you comment, there is no mini bar in the room, but we offer vending machines in our lobby where you can find snacks and hot/cold drinks 24hours.
Finally, it is important for us to let you know that we take seriously your comments about the lights in the corridor. We are sorry for the inconveniences it could cause.
Once more, thank you for sharing your experience with other users, your comments make us improve every day.

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Andante in the spring, a bit early to really enjoy the roof pool but we managed to enjoy the brilliant view.

We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel, the room and the bathroom(very clean, stylish and modern) and how close it was, both to the metro and La Rambla. The free WiFi was another great surprise, along with a nice breakfast; we were very please with the hot chocolate and the variety in breakfast foods.

At Andante hotel you get a lot for your money and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear client,

Thank to you for choose our establishment for your last stay in Barcelona, and for your positive assessment. Your comments about our location, service and quality, are the best reward and encouragement to continue making our guests' stay an unforgettable experience. We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just like "uptownzee", I was really looking forward to my stay in the Hotel Andante. Spent three nights there, (Dad and I had a single room each on the first floor), and I am now back home feeling slightly disappointed and short-changed. But let's start with the positives:
1) Comfortable beds, plenty of hanging space and a decent safe, (that didn't require a deposit);
2) Spotlessly clean. No mean feat given how dirty the city has become.
3) Not a bad location; although it is well placed for the dump that La Rambla resembles, Port Vell, El Raval and Paza Reial, you do have to walk through some less than desirable streets in order to get anywhere.
4) The view from the pool floor is pretty good and well worth going up there for that alone.
5) The ground floor terrace was a proper sun trap, although overlooked to a certain extent.

However:

1) The hotel is utterly soul-less. The rooms are nothing short of white boxes and are sparsely furnished, (not a single picture on the walls); you do feel that you are walking through some sort of tomb as the corridors are very dark;
2) Breakfast, (€12 per day), was utterly appalling. In fact, even €6 would be a rip-off. Anaemic eggs, flabby bacon, (although that was only on offer one day), foul tea and slimy mushrooms. 3) Don't ask the hotel to book you a cab. We paid €32 to get back to the airport, a good €8 more than our journey to the hotel, with the extra going to the hotel as a "fee";
4) If you are given a room overlooking the main road - ask to be moved. It might be quieter on the higher floors but I was on the first floor and the noise from the street and the car park was continuous, (although fellow guests made enough of a racket themselves, slamming doors etc).

(Oh and its a €10 deposit for a towel. The receptionist must have told me half a dozen times that they were not to be taken to the beach, but I saw numerous people walking out with their towels to do the same!)

I didn't expect anything grand, (it is an expensive city and has rapidly grown in popularity in recent years), and you don't go to Barcelona to stay in your hotel room for the duration. (Just as well, because any prolonged time spent in the Andante would have driven me mad). However, there are plus points as detailed above and I think you would be hard pushed to find a cleaner hotel in the city.

Tips: The City Tour buses are a great way to see the city - €26 for over four hours of sight-seeing. Up by the Olimpic Park is beautiful, very green and calming.

Pre-book your Sagrada Familia tickets and make sure you include the tower visit at the same time, otherwise you are looking at a four hour wait at least. There are two queues for S.F - the long one will be for those who haven't pre-booked.

Baritimo at Port Vell - gorgeous bar with a great view and excellent service.
Plaza Reial - just a step away from La Rambla with some great restaurants and a lively atmosphere.

Stay away from La Rambla - its become a real dive, (certainly in the half leading down to the port). The more tourists who refuse to eat the sub-standard food, (our hotel was very clear on steering clear!), and pay the over-inflated prices, (even for a European city, they were steep), the more likely it is that La Rambla will get cleaned up and become a more attractive tourist spot again. Last weekend it resembled nothing more than a giant toilet with tapas on the side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road, (I asked for one for Dad and his overlooked the terrace). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-happyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear client,

First of all, we regret to know that your expectations weren't satisfied during your stay.
We appreciate your comments about the quality, cleanliness, services and location . We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise.

Referring to the design, we are sorry it was not up to your liking. We regret that the breakfast has not met its expectations. We try to offer a varied breakfast with top-quality products at a cheap price.

On the other hand, it is important for us to let you know that we do not get a fee from the taxis. The price of the taxis in Barcelona it is up to traffic and timetables. Also, the extra charge for luggage, This is maybe the reason why it costed you more to get back to the airport.

Finally, We would like to thank to you for sharing your experience with other users.


Best regards,

Andante Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#73 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,688 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#108 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,668 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andante

Property: Andante
Address: Drassanes, 23-25 | Raval, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andante 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is located in the Raval Quarter, in the Ciutat Vella district. It is superbly located on the Av. Drassanes, 23-25, which is in the old city center, right in the heart of Barcelona, a few minutes walk from Las Ramblas, Port Vell, the cruise terminals at the port, the Maremagnum leisure area and the Paral.Lel theatre district. Andante Hotel is a 3* establishment, practical, modern and inexpensive, with 134 rooms over 10 floors, with different types available: Doubles, Triples, Family, Singles, with a Balcony, with Panoramic Views and for the disabled. All rooms are exterior rooms. The hotel provides an outdoor plunge pool, free Wi-Fi, Internet corner 24h, luggage storage room, late check-out room, reception 24h and gym. It also offers buffet breakfast with "show cooking". It has a large terrace and a self-service microwave and vending machines for drinks, snacks and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Andante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andante Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing