We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Andante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andante
Ranked #85 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Varsovie
1 review
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice location, close to everywhere, I enjoyed the roof pool with an outstanding view so much!
Emplacement fantastique, proche de tout, J'ai pris plein de plaisir dans la piscine sur le toit avec la vue incroyable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear client,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city. Please don't hesitate to contact us again for any question or requirements.

Best regards,
Hotel Andante, Barcelona
reservas@andantehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    610
    95
    17
    8
See reviews for
296
770
48
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in the andante for two nights in january. Found it to be perfect for my needs. Girl on reception was welcoming and gave me a map and lots of advice about where to go etc. Room was not huge but adequate. Everything was modern and clean. Card system was fine I just had to ask for a second one so I could leave my phone charging and still get up and down in the lifts.I was concious of the pickpockets etc and just walked fast up to the ramblas as it was a quiet street. Had no problems whatsoever. Very near the port also handy to go to the shopping mall when it rained.
Breakfast was ok but if it wasnt included I dont think its worth 12 euro. The orange juice was awful. Thick syrupy orange liquid. Everything else was fine. One of the main reasons I choose hotel was the wifi included and it was perfect no problems at all. I was on the 4th floor.
Would reccomend to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear client,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city.

As you could verify, the staff is carefully selected because we want to offer our customers the best stay possible.

In reference to the breakfast, we try to offer a varied breakfast with top-quality products at a cheap price. We regret if this has not met its expectations.

Once again we would like to thank to you for sharing your experience with other users and we expect see you again in the next visit to the city.

Best regards,
Hotel Andante, Barcelona
reservas@andantehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We came for a short holiday in January. The Aerobus dropped us at Plac de Catalunya, which allowed us to walk straight down La Rambla and turn off at Drassanes Metro. Simple to get there. Obviously in January it's a bit quieter, so we were welcomed and checked in at reception swiftly. The card system is simple and effective, and I can only surmise any software problems with the lift have been resolved as we had no problems with them.

The room was simple and exactly what we needed for a short stay where we wanted to see and experience the city. The two single beds pushed together was not ideal but I'll be honest, a few nights without Jenny lying over me wasn't the end of the world. ;-) I'm a reasonably tall rugby player and the height and size of the shower was great. TV was right size and place also. Slept better the last night when I opened the window to let some air in, but Jenny didn't sleep as well as the increased street buzz was too loud for her, whereas I can sleep through a thunderstorm. Pool was too cold to try but has a great view. Not really long enough to swim in.

The crew at reception were great, and dealt with my fumblings with language with grace and conversed in English to help. One of the gents recommended a couple of places in Raval for our first night and they were both excellent. Someone put a comment in a review about the bars on the window, but that is a design feature repeated on many buildings in Barcelona. Yes the advice about keeping your valuables safe holds true, and we clocked some guys sizing us up in Rambla Raval, but don't give them an opportunity and there's no problems. Likewise, in a city you will find women working the street. But you don't have to buy, just keep walking. This is an excellent hotel from which to go out and discover Barcelona. It's close to the water, close to La Rambla, close to the Metro, close to LIFE. If you want a country retreat look elsewhere.

I am recommending this hotel to any friends who want to come to the city.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor to move away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear client,

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city.

Thank to you for choose our establishment for your last stay in Barcelona, and for your positive assessment. Your comments about our location, service and quality, are the best reward and encouragement to continue making our guests' stay an unforgettable experience.

It is important for us you to know we share with the rest of the team your experience. Your comments cheer us every day.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,
Hotel Andante, Barcelona
reservas@andantehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is rated as a 3 star!!!!!! No way is this possible, this hotel should defentley be 4 star plus. The hotel is in a great location next to the harbour for people travelling on cruises and is also next to La Rambla. Andante is very modern inside, contemporary and is also very clean. Staff were also very friendly. Rooms are spacious and electronics in room are new and modern.
There is a swimming pool on the roof and the view is spectacular. It over looks famous landmarks of Barcelona. It was a shame as the pool was cold in January as to be expected, but the pool at night in warmer conditions would be great.
If I am travelling to Barcelona in the future I would defentley come back again.
I would 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear client,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. We appreciate your comments about the quality, service, staff and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise.

We will be satisfied to can welcome you the next time you are in our city. Therefore, don't hesitate contacting us in advance, to offer you any particular request.

Best regards,
Hotel Andante, Barcelona
reservas@andantehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is new in 2012, and in an ideal location for the Rambla, the Port and many interesting tourists areas of Barcelona.

It is a 3 star, quite minimulist in decor. Rooms very clean and bathroom spacious.
Very good value for the price of the rooms. Front desk spoke good English and were very efficient.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear client,

We’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,
Hotel Andante, Barcelona
reservas@andantehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Well located a few hundred meters from the port and la Rambla. Rooms are reminiscent of modern college dormitories, as is the lounge area similar to a new student union building. Wifi coverage was not always available in all rooms. (We changed rooms as our first floor room did not have wifi.) Cell phone coverage in room was also inconsistent. Room cleaning was minimal. In room amenities very limited: no fridge, no facial tissue, bathroom mirror light located above and behind the person, not always a bedside lamp on both sides of bed. Laptop safe excellent. In basement exercise facilities are claustrophobic. Basement parking is excellent and secure, and a good value compared to street prices. Water pressure in shower seemed less on upper floors. Roof top swimming pool a bit of a joke, especially as there is no night time lighting. Key card security system is cumbersome, with many guests struggling to use lifts easily. No restaurant, and did not try the breakfast service. Lovely coffee shops and good bakeries located nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor, as there is also noise from the automatic doors below. Window grills on firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micleroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear client,

First of all, we would like to thank you that you take a few minutes to share your experience with other users.

As you mention, the hotel Andante is located in the center of Barcelona where all the shops, restaurants and bars are. The hotel is well-connected with the mean main transport, lets you go to the center and to the most emblematic touristic sites of the city easily.

In reference to the decoration, our main purpose is offering to our clients a modern and functional decoration. We regret that the decoration was not to your liking.

We are surprised about your cleanliness complaint due to we always try to offer our customers the best cleaning service. However, we will talk to the responsible person and take the necessary measures.

In reference to your complaint about the amenities in the room, the gym and swimming pool, we are sorry if this did not fulfill your expectations. It is a free service we offer our clients to make their stay more comfortable, that usually three stars hotels do not offer.

The card security is a system that the hotel offers to their clients to guarantee their security. We regret any inconvenience you may have with this security system.

Once again, we would like to thank to you for sharing your experience with other users and we expect see you again in the next visit to the city.

Best regards,
Hotel Andante, Barcelona
reservas@andantehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Really satisfied with our stay at this hotel. We stayed here for the night before taking a cruise from the port so it was a great location for us to get to the port in the morning but also great for walking to the busy tourist attractions.

The rooms were really nice. We had three separate rooms with clean, modern comfortable beds, bathrooms and other furnishings. All three had nice views of the port and surrounding buildings.

Sadly given the time of the year we didn't get a chance to use the pool which looked to be one of the highlights of staying here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowbrite89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andante H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for your comments. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We know every visit is unique and special. We will be satisfied to can welcome you the next time you are in our city. Therefore, don't hesitate contacting us in advance, to offer you any particular request.

Best regards,
Hotel Andante, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#76 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,745 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#102 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,721 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#71 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andante

Property: Andante
Address: Drassanes, 23-25 | Raval, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andante 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is located in the Raval Quarter, in the Ciutat Vella district. It is superbly located on the Av. Drassanes, 23-25, which is in the old city center, right in the heart of Barcelona, a few minutes walk from Las Ramblas, Port Vell, the cruise terminals at the port, the Maremagnum leisure area and the Paral.Lel theatre district. Andante Hotel is a 3* establishment, practical, modern and inexpensive, with 134 rooms over 10 floors, with different types available: Doubles, Triples, Family, Singles, with a Balcony, with Panoramic Views and for the disabled. All rooms are exterior rooms. The hotel provides an outdoor plunge pool, free Wi-Fi, Internet corner 24h, luggage storage room, late check-out room, reception 24h and gym. It also offers buffet breakfast with "show cooking". It has a large terrace and a self-service microwave and vending machines for drinks, snacks and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andante Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing