We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and marvellous host”
Review of Salsas and Co

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salsas and Co
Ranked #80 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Regrettably, in hindsight, we only had booked two nights to stay at Salsas. Regrettably because we didn't give Barcelona enough time and regrettably because Salsas is a fabulous place to stay. Fleur was a wonderful host: very attentive, always making sure our stay was pleasant and we had all the advice needed to find our way around the city. She suggested great restaurants, suburbs to visit and she made sumptuous small chocolate cakes for us. She's a great story teller, an open and very honest person, and she's creative, a quality that is reflected in the design of the place: it has a gorgeous simplicity about it, with unique and unusual times placed at just the right spots throughout.

There was no problem at all with bathroom sharing; in fact we cannot think about a single inconvenience! And pricing: we were charged exactly what had been advertised on the website - despite having had extra little morsels like the chocolate cakes or Fleur's attention and support.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Salsas and Co
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 122 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

I went to Fleur's B&B with my 2 daughters. We enjoyed very much our stay. Comfortable, clean, convenient location, .... And an EXCELLENT breakfast! Not to mention a charming hostess. We could not have asked for more!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Stephaniehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Salsas & Co is an overpriced youth hostel – I am surprised that it is priced and evaluated as a mid-grade B&B.

My sister and I had planned to stay here for four nights (100 euros per night). We paid 130 euros via PayPal to confirm the room prior to arriving, but decided to leave—and lose some of the money—after only one night because:

1. The Salsas & Co website misrepresents the bathroom/bedroom ratio and the room appearance. In reality, there are two shared bathrooms for the four bedrooms on each floor. Some of the bedrooms are triples (which adds up to a lot of people using two bathrooms!). Our two bathrooms were poorly ventilated and generally occupied when we needed them. Also, we were advised not to shower after 10pm and before 7am. Our room consisted of small twin beds with only a fitted sheet, flat sheet, and pillow. The furniture consisted of the cheapest, particle board shelving, and paper streamers across the ceiling. The room looked NOTHING like the bed/room images we viewed on Trip Advisor or the Salsas & Co website. It was more uncomfortable than any youth hostel I’ve stayed in.

2. Our room lacked access to a window for fresh air. The room was so stuffy and sweltering that we sweated all night and couldn't sleep—the room was at least 10 degrees warmer than the outside temperature. (Our room had a fan, but fans are useless without fresh air!)

3. After one night, when we politely explained why we were leaving, the owner (Fleur) immediately yelled at us without giving us a chance to speak (via telephone—we never actually met her in person) and threatened to call the police. Her assistant grabbed my sister by the arm, blocked the door, and tried to refuse exit until we paid for three nights we wouldn’t use. We refused to pay for the three unused nights because we had already paid for MORE than the night we used. (As a side note, there was absolutely no cancellation policy, though Fleur angrily insisted that there was.)

4. The cooking classes were nowhere to be found.

Also, be aware of the following:

1. The B&B consists of eight rooms on two non-adjacent floors of a high-rise building. Only the lower four bedrooms are directly adjacent to the B&B lobby. The upper floor (located 2-3 floors above the lobby) is accessible via a tiny elevator and dark, stuffy hallway.

2. There is no inner courtyard conferring “peace and sweetness” (as the website proclaims). Rather, the rooms overlook a tall, narrow, dark, unused, courtyard. It lacks natural daylight or ventilation.

3. Check-in hours are very limited (2-6pm or so). You will get charged extra if you arrive after that. Late arrivals after 11pm are not tolerated (I have no idea what would happen if your flight to Barcelona was late...)

Of all B&B's, youth hostels, and hotels I've visited in Europe over a three month period, this was my worst experience and the worst value (by far). I would absolutely not return and would give it 0 stars if I could.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rachael_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur S, Propriétaire at Salsas and Co, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest,
I’m very sorry to read that you were so disappointed by your stay with us. I will simply respond briefly to your key points.

1. Our website does, we believe, reflect our ‘home from home’ and we have never before had anyone say that it is not representative. The images are a true reflection of our home and we request our guests to be considerate and, ideally, not use the shower late at night so as not to disturb others – but it is not forbidden! Just a general courtesy.

2. We don’t claim to have air conditioning for the moment, (it is not standard in the old part of Barcelona) and Barcelona is warm in the summer!


3. & 4. When a guest ask for checking out 3 nights earlier with the personal arguments like "Barcelona is too hot", unfortunately yes the booking has to be paid.
We of course respect your opinions but your recollection of the final conversation/actions, in our opinion, is not accurate. And we do have a cancellation policy but I have taken your point and will ensure it is more clearly indicated on our literature.

Finally, €100 euros for a superior double room with breakfast is not expensive for Barcelona and we are 25% less expensive than most other B&Bs in Barcelona. It's used to pay €130 to confirm a booking for 4 nights. At some other B&Bs a full payment in advance for all stay is required to confirm the booking in the high season i.e. now. We offered flexible way to book but 7 days before arriving is a non-refundable option.

Salsas and Co is dedicated to travellers, open to good experiences and shared moments with guests from all around the world, who love to cook and enjoy vintage style decoration. We are not a 4/5 star, impersonal business hotel with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning.

Nothing pretentious, just a home from home – to most guests. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here and adored it. As most of the other reviewers have already stated, the rooms are very clean and tastefully appointed, and the shared bathroom is not even an issue; there are two and they are maintained immaculately throughout the day. Indeed it is not in the city center, but we walked everywhere and actually enjoyed getting to see and know Barcelona by foot. There is nothing touristic about the area where Salsas is located, so it's a great opportunity to have some authentic experiences too. Fleur is radiant, smiling, and passionate about her food. There is no way to have a bad day after beginning it with one of her prepared-to-order breakfasts. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank il_Dante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I chose this B&B due to its reasonable prices and good location. The owner is very attentive and helpful. There is very tiny elevator. There are many stairs and the place is not wheelchair accessible, but elevator helps with big luggage. The selection of breakfast was nice surprise. It is good to know that you have to order things from the breakfast menu, and they bring only some things first, and then you can order more if you need. Rooms are not huge but I liked much about this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As the other reviews explain, the b&b is very clean and comfortable. Be warned that there is no air conditioning which can be VERY hot in the summer!!! The location is not convenient to the metro station but the buses work quite well and are close. The neighborhood is very safe and quiet but it is a hike to get to any of the museums or tourist areas and restaurants. Fleur is lovely and the only reason I gave this review only 3 stars is that we were very excited about doing a cooking class that was to be offered on the last night we were in town and it was cancelled 45 min before it was to begin. This was not only disappointing (we chose to stay at this b&b because of the cooking classes) but inconvenient as we planned our entire day around being back at a certain time to be ready for the cooking class. We actually skipped going to a few spots on our list to be back in time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprunner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur S, Propriétaire at Salsas and Co, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for you nice review, it always help us to offer a better service. Unfortunately, and as I told you during your stay, the cookery class starts with a minimum of 4 guests. As we had cancelation I left a message to you earlier in the afternoon on you mobile, to cancel, as I said I would probably do. Sometimes we are depending of the others. Flexibility is very important from us and from you also, because there are things we can't manage.
In another part, I understand your point of view, Barcelona is very hot on summer. On our wesite we never said we had air conditionning but all our rooms have air fan on demand. In case of problem, we are always here and try do the maximum to help you to have a nice stay. I'm sorry for those disappointments. Best regards, Fleur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here recently, and loved it. It's in a great area, with access to public transport nearby. It's very cool and stylish, with a lovely room for breakfast and relaxing in the evening. Bathrooms and bedrooms clean and comfortable, even if you do need to share - we never queued the whole time we were there. Highlight was the breakfast, with home made yoghurt, ginger bread, and freshly squeezed OJ - and we were looked after wonderfully by Emily and Fleur.

Room Tip: Ask for the back room - very quiet, and charming.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Live & Dream
#74 of 308 in Barcelona
320 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#14 of 308 in Barcelona
570 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#103 of 308 in Barcelona
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albergue Studio
#109 of 308 in Barcelona
132 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Argo Barcelona
Hostal Argo Barcelona
#29 of 308 in Barcelona
288 reviews
Les Corts
Dream Cube Hostel
Dream Cube Hostel
#125 of 732 in Barcelona
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salsas and Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salsas and Co

Address: Josep Tarradellas 147 | 1st Floor ,1st Door, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $69 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salsas and Co is a guesthouse and a touristic apartment with Cookery Classes and catering service in option in the heart of Barcelona. It is a home from home for people who love to travel, discover the world and relax each night in intimate surroundings while experiencing exquisite new culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Salsas and Co reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salsas And Co Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing