We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean with friendly host and staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Salsas and Co

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salsas and Co
Ranked #91 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Clean with friendly host and staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

As the other reviews explain, the b&b is very clean and comfortable. Be warned that there is no air conditioning which can be VERY hot in the summer!!! The location is not convenient to the metro station but the buses work quite well and are close. The neighborhood is very safe and quiet but it is a hike to get to any of the museums or tourist areas and restaurants. Fleur is lovely and the only reason I gave this review only 3 stars is that we were very excited about doing a cooking class that was to be offered on the last night we were in town and it was cancelled 45 min before it was to begin. This was not only disappointing (we chose to stay at this b&b because of the cooking classes) but inconvenient as we planned our entire day around being back at a certain time to be ready for the cooking class. We actually skipped going to a few spots on our list to be back in time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprunner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur S, Propriétaire at Salsas and Co, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for you nice review, it always help us to offer a better service. Unfortunately, and as I told you during your stay, the cookery class starts with a minimum of 4 guests. As we had cancelation I left a message to you earlier in the afternoon on you mobile, to cancel, as I said I would probably do. Sometimes we are depending of the others. Flexibility is very important from us and from you also, because there are things we can't manage.
In another part, I understand your point of view, Barcelona is very hot on summer. On our wesite we never said we had air conditionning but all our rooms have air fan on demand. In case of problem, we are always here and try do the maximum to help you to have a nice stay. I'm sorry for those disappointments. Best regards, Fleur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    23
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
51
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here recently, and loved it. It's in a great area, with access to public transport nearby. It's very cool and stylish, with a lovely room for breakfast and relaxing in the evening. Bathrooms and bedrooms clean and comfortable, even if you do need to share - we never queued the whole time we were there. Highlight was the breakfast, with home made yoghurt, ginger bread, and freshly squeezed OJ - and we were looked after wonderfully by Emily and Fleur.

Room Tip: Ask for the back room - very quiet, and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful last minute stay at Salsas and Co at the recommendation of a friend from Villanova. The rooms, bathrooms, and communal areas were spotless and charmingly decorated. Coming from New York City, we were happy to be located on a quiet street but still within walking distance to Barcelona's notable neighborhoods and landmarks. The breakfast, prepared by Fleur, the hostess, was fresh and delicious-- a wonderful start to the day. We cannot recommend Salsas and Co enough!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in April 2013 and were charmed by Fleurs warmth and bubbly personality. She was a great hostess that added a delightful bonus to our stay. She even cooked for us one evening. The rooms themselves are clean and adequate.Even though the bathrooms were shared, having 2 baths meant at least one was always available. We were provided with a nice breakfast each morning. Parking was available just down the block on Josep Tarradellas but was very expensive at 40 euros a day. We found much cheaper parking at the Sants train station and taking the bus or cab back to the B& B. The nearest metro stop is about 1 kilometer away but busses are nearby on Diagonal, just a block away. We would definitiely stay with Feur again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Park your car at the train station and take the cabto the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldedude1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My daughter & I went to Barcelona on a game day. In spite of great communication from Fleur- the proprietor, we managed to get taken for a ride (figuratively & literally) by an affable but wayward taxi driver. She had told us it was right down the street from the Sants train station (which it was). He chalked it up to game day traffic but it wasnt necessary to go around several blocks but never mind. Fortunately there was a lift because due to my daughter finishng up a semester abroad we had a lot of luggage. Fleur greeted us and gave us suggestions of places to go. (her English was excellent). We had a room with three twins and it was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in! The view wasn't great because it ever looks out on an interior courtyard but it didn't matter. We weren't really there much when we were awake. The decor was spare but fun. The only thing I'd add to the room would be a mirror. The shared bathrooms were close & not a problem. We never had to wait & they were always immaculate. Breakfast was delicious! The living & eating area were beautifully decorated! Barcelona is a huge city & Salsas is centrally located & accessible to all via the city's buses and metro line. The price is very reasonable. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to get back there on future visits to Barcelona!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nsj1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I spent 3 wonderful nights at Salsas & Co Bed & Breakfast and I was blown away by the style and charm of this place. The attention to detail, the quality of the bed linen, the bedding with an uber comfortable mattress and pillows, the overall cleanliness throughout and the lovely peace and quiet despite being very centrally located far exceeded my expectations for the price. It is beyond good value, it is exceptional value.

The host, Fleur is an absolute dream and takes this business very seriously. She is easy to reach and has a ton of insight and tips into getting around Barcelona plus she makes a killer breakfast which is all part of the package.

I would go back again and again and highly recommend it to anybody visiting Barcelona.

Room Tip: I checked out most of the rooms and they are all spacious and have their own unique character and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonebaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day stay in Barcelona and could not have been happier with our accommodation at Salsas & Co. We had one of the larger rooms which was spacious and bright. The bathrooms were clean and modern and there were no problems with sharing with the other guests. Bathrooms and bedrooms are cleaned and serviced daily. Fleur serves a varied and extremely tasty breakfast with as much to eat and drink as you can manage. There is a lovely friendly atmosphere at breakfast and we enjoyed being able to get to know the other guests. Fleur is a wonderful hostess and is always happy to offer advice, hints and tips about all the things tourists needs to know. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Barcelona!

Room Tip: We had a 'superior' double room which gave us a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Petit Hotel
#59 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#83 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Les Corts
Dream Cube Hostel
Dream Cube Hostel
#136 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Casa Mathilda
Casa Mathilda
#50 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Aslyp 114
Hostal Aslyp 114
#11 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Albergue Studio
#82 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salsas and Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salsas and Co

Property: Salsas and Co
Address: Josep Tarradellas 147 | 1st Floor ,1st Door, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salsas and Co is a guesthouse and a touristic apartment with Cookery Classes and catering service in option in the heart of Barcelona. It is a home from home for people who love to travel, discover the world and relax each night in intimate surroundings while experiencing exquisite new culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Salsas and Co reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salsas And Co Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing