We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went here twice it was so good”
Review of Gasterea

Gasterea
Ranked #27 of 9,594 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Gracia
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Went here twice it was so good”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Maybe my favorite bar/tapas place in Barcelona. Not much on the ambiance, but is really a cozy place, fun laid back bartenders and amazing tapas. They have close to 35 items on the menu and we had probably close to 18-19 of them. Simply amazing, you can't go wrong. Prepare to order a lot and leave very full, happy and wanting more.

Too many highlights to list, go with what you feel like and it will be good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    52
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing staff and food!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Do not miss this place out on your trip to Barcelona! We ordered nearly every single piece of bread that was freshly served and could not find one we did not like. This is a truly lively atmosphere with friendly (and very mischievous staff) and where you can easily strike up a conversation with the person next to you. We enjoyed ourselves very much here, it's a good representation of lively Barcelona!

Tip: Dont miss out on the beef steak sandwich if they display it, its really good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy place, great tapas & pinchos”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Visited this place with my girlfriend during our last trip to Barcelona and following the nice reviews on TA.
I have to say that the promises were well kept, as we really had a good time here.
The place is located in the lively Gracia neighborood, and even though they don't have much space to sit, it was fine anyway to sit on stools just in front on the food exposition.
We tasted several kinds of tapas and pinchos, both cold and warm (fried squid super!) but we really wanted to try everything because it all looked good.
Another good point: we had dinner in two for little more than 20€.
Definitely a place I would visit again when in Barcelona!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darione70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
1 review
“Worth it for the all round experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I ate here late last night just before they stopped serving hot tapas at 12:30am. The staff are friendly, happy and helpful. The food was tasty, creative and fast. The place had charm in a rustic fashion although I didn't see any tables, just bar stools. Super value and I will go back, perhaps tonight for a late night dessert as they looked fab. Rememeber, tapas is rarely a gastronomic experience, especially at 1.9€ per plate, and this food lit up the taste buds. Worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tscan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to this wonderful bar yesterday evening (it was open... it's a late night place that really gets going around 10pm, I suggest the previous reviewer gives it another go at night). Wonderful atmosphere, strangers chat enthusiastically to each other, extremely friendly and helpful staff who seem genuinely interested in you having a great time.

I recommend positioning yourself at the back near the kitchen door so you can intercept the best cazuelitos as they (somewhat randomly) appear. No idea really how they keep tabs on who is taking what food and drink when the evening is at its most chaotic. Magic, possibly.

A really fun place. We might just go back today.

Helpful?
Thank smbse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasterea also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Gasterea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing