We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique tapas and amazing atmosphere FUN”
Review of Gasterea

Gasterea
Ranked #110 of 9,541 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gracia
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique tapas and amazing atmosphere FUN”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Never written a restaurant review before but i felt that this place is that good that the world must know! Visited here on a Thursday night around 8pm. Don't be put off if the place looks full just find a space anywhere even if there's no seat and enjoy the wonderful food and drink this place has to offer.

Gasterea is a Small bar with Bar seating only, The menus are on the wall and there are English versions also for ease of translation. You can order tapas as required from the menu or as the restaurant gets busy the kitchen will start producing large plates with 6-8 of each item and you just shout out as the staff walk up the bar with something you like, and you do have to shout sometimes its a very busy bar if you make the mistake of being quiet you may miss all of the food which would be a shame as the food is amazing.

Good variety of different tapas all reasonably priced and well prepared 1.90 euro per small item and about 2.70 for a larger dish. A very decent amount of food and drink came to 20 euros per person

To top it off the bill came with a home made truffle dusted in coco (Complimentary) and a fairly sizable one at that.

Defiantly worth the go but expect it to be a wild crazy affair

PS. CASH ONLY

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    51
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, very good food , reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I found this place on tripadvisor when looking for a spanish cuisine with good prices, A place definetely worth visiting - small, cosy, only bar available, no tables but don't worry! Even if you don't find a free space you can ejoy nice tapas standing and waiting - after a few minutes a place for you will be found. This happend to me and my two friends - when people at the bar realised that we have no place to sit, they made space and add chairs. Mostly spanish/catalan speaking people there but staff speaks english and if you don't - you can always show what you want by pointing a finger:) Very good prices -a lot of tapas, pinchas for three, 2 bottles of wine (red, very nice) for 70 euro

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia28x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas in a great place”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Cheap and friendly tapas in a friendly restaurant, the prices were great too! At 2 euros a plate and so yummy too, I will definitely be going back there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best tapas in barcelona”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is quite hard to find but when you get there it will be well worth it, full of locals witch is a good start and really nice tapas for a very reasonable price. so much to choose from and all cooked very well. make sure you try the chicken skewers and the veal. was the best place for tapas we found dont be fag and get your bottom down there!!! ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mishmash6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A fantastic experience, with some great flavors and very friendly service. The space is small and intimate and the tapas just kept coming. I think we tried just about everything without a miss. I'd recommend this to anyone that loves the idea of great food in a cozy local bar atmosphere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PacificNWJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasterea also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Gasterea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing