We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pefect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona
Ranked #314 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Torrox Costa, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pefect Location”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel for it's location within walking distance of Palau Sant Jorge (20 mins), although a bit apprehensive of traffic noise with it being on a main dual carriageway.
Our fears were unfounded. Our room (107) was down the side street, well sound-proofed, we hardly heard any noise at all. The room was spacious and clean with comfortable twin beds. A fridge with complimentary bottles of water also a nice touch, the downside we had to keep the curtains closed as it was closely overlooked by apartments across.
Lots of bars/cafes and shops nearby and within a few minutes walk the excellent Las Arenas shopping centre, which is the converted old bullring. Also Placa D'Espanya metro, train and bus hub . From the airport, it is easy to take the Aerobus €10,20 return.
All the reception staff were very pleasant and we felt really welcome and will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavoreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    219
    70
    17
    13
See reviews for
161
110
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for a week in May. The location is great for transport links and there is a handy cafebar right beside the hotel.

The hotel itself is very clean and, after a mix up in our rooms on the first night, we got the wheelchair accessible room which was massive. The mix up annoyed me a little as I had booked the room months in advance, but the staff were really nice about it and the size of the room made up for it. Extremely clean hotel and in a good location.

Room Tip: Use the cafe next door to buy water, snacks etc...its really cheap and open til late. Also, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days 4 nights March of 2013 after having read good comments from Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The standard room was very spacious and clean. Bed was comfy though we found the pillows a bit too high. There's AC, TV and mini-fridge with complimentary water bottles. Staff was helpful and nice. We didn't take breakfast here since hotel is right beside a bakery and was very near to a mall called "Arenas" where we took our meals most of the time. What I loved about this hotel was our good night's sleep. We chose Hotel Azul over the hotels in the heart of the shopping center (La Rambla) because we read that sleep was hard in hotels within the center. Distance of Hotel Azul was not a problem though - it's about 5 minutes- walk from the next metro station which will take you to La Rambla in about 15 mins. We bought a three-day pass for the metro anyway.

It was really a pleasant stay though I have to mention some cons. We requested a double room and we got a twin :) Was able to live with it for a few nights though. Another thing is when you decide to sleep until past 9 in the morning, the noise created by the cleaning ladies moving chairs etc can wake you up, because they clean at 9 am. I also found the tissue paper dispenser in the bathroom quite a hassle because it wasn't on a roll but in small and thin folded pieces you have to pull out of the dispenser - again nothing major.

Overall, I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, either as solo or travelling as a family. Will definitely stay here again when we come back to Barcelona. Gracias Hotel Azul!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocomausi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A commodious hotel, easy to locate and also good location. All rooms are suites, some with kitchen facilities. We had Room 42. Spotlessly clean, TVs in both sitting room and bedroom, well-appointed bathroom and a nice table and four chairs where we could sit with a drink if we wished. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.

Double glazing keeps out most of the traffic noise and there are controls on the heating/air con which you can use to get the room to a temperature you prefer - a nice touch.

Whilst this is not the hub of the tourist industry, it's very near a metro stop, a close walk up towards the Museum of Catalan Art and there are lots of lovely little restaurants and bars near-by. There's a bakery within a short distance that serves great breakfasts as well.

We will most definitely come back our next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IdahoSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lododo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su cometario y nos alegramos de su grata estancia en el hotel azul,intentamos cada dia mejora y ofrecer un buen servicio para todos nuestros clientes.
saludos cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel's location didn't make any sense to us -quite close Plaça d'Espanya, but what's good about about that? Like many mid-range Spanish hotels, it looked brutally functional and slightly neglected and felt quite cramped. We were surprised to get a split-level apartment with a well(ish) equipped kitchen rather than just a room, so we could have cooked a meal if we had wanted, but in the end it proved more practical to eat out. We found the split level layout (with a connecting spiral staircase) quite uncomfortable. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and showed great flexibility by allowing us to change our booking almost at the last minute. I think the price was very high for the quality but in Barcelona they do exploit the location. With hindsight we should have stayed in Gerona which is cheaper and safer than Barcelona yet well enough linked to allow us to both commute into Barcelona and reach Púbol Castle and Figueras.

Room Tip: Ask for a room all on the same level -split level is a pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Positive: very good location to explore the city - closed to metro station, within walking distance to Montjuic are, with many bars, restourants and small supermarkets around; availability of triple rooms; clean, spacious and reasonable equiped rooms; very polite ENG speaking staff at reception
Negative: the 3rd ( single ) bed was very noisy

We didn't try breakfast at hotel, so no comment to this... Taxi from BCN T1 - 21 EUR; taxi to BCN T2 - 25 EUR.
I would recomend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekspertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We visited Azul for the third time. This time we got room No. 52 which consists of a large living room with a sofa, TV set, fridge (free water provided), table and 4 chairs, and a bedroom with a closet. Very good windows block any noise from the street and the air con works perfectly. The bathroom is also spacious, soap/shampoo provided next to the bath tub. Nice breakfast served daily - 8,60 E/person: cereal, ham, cheese, cottage cheese, different kinds of bread and pies, as well as nice coffee and tea. Really worth the price.
Next to the hotel you will find a bar named Candela (run by a Chinese family) which served good fresh food at really good prices (lunch for 9 E, weekends - 10,50E: starter, main, dessert and drink). Even locals come to eat there :-)

Room Tip: Rooms 52 and 55 are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Małgorzata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
BCN Montjuic Aparthotel
BCN Montjuic Aparthotel
#257 of 513 in Barcelona
143 reviews
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#96 of 513 in Barcelona
1,509 reviews
Hotel Sant Angelo
#325 of 513 in Barcelona
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Acacia Suites
Acacia Suites
#230 of 513 in Barcelona
250 reviews
Eixample
Onix Fira Hotel
Onix Fira Hotel
#364 of 513 in Barcelona
671 reviews
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#148 of 513 in Barcelona
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona

Property: Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona
Address: Gran via de las Cortes Catalanas 327, 08014 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Access)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Azul Barcelona is a family hotel located in the center of Barcelona, ​​at the foot of Montjuic and next to Plaza of Spain (Plaza Espana), 200 meters from Barcelona's Fair. It offers elegant accommodation, a rooftop terrace, a reception open 24 hours and free Wi-Fi in all the hotel. In one of the best connected parts of the city, by metro, bus, airport bus (direct to the airport in 15 minutes), railways ... Can be reached by metro to Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter of the city in less than 10 minutes. Also we are in a booming area and recently renovated shopping center called Las Arenas, the Magic Fountains of Montjuic or MNAC (National Art Museum of Catalonia). Our rooms are spacious (25-50 m2) and have a very colorful decor. They feature wooden floors, air conditioning, heating, flat screen TV with satellite channels and a work desk. Ideal for families, groups and business people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Mirai, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing