We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelona Photography Tours
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great For Learning Street Photography

I booked this experience as a birthday surprise for my husband, who is a great landscape and nature... read more

Reviewed February 20, 2020
eebeard
,
Richmond, Virginia
10/10!!!

This was a present for my 11 year old son who has recently shown an interest in photography. Mabel... read more

Reviewed February 2, 2020
aliluss
,
Barcelona, Spain
via mobile
Read all 228 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Barcelona
from $83.90
More Info
from $31.48
More Info
from $43.11
More Info
from $71.86
More Info
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
220
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
220
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street photography photo tour manual mode camera settings some great photos great teacher hour tour different angles learned a great deal gothic quarter nico photographs skills shooting neighborhoods scenes dslr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 228 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2019

I got a new camera for my birthday and my husband booked Mabel for a photography tour of Barcelona. Mabel was fantastic - she was very patient, an excellent teacher and went above and beyond to ensure I had some great photos. We had a fantastic 3 hours and saw some spots in Barcelona we would never have seen on our own. Very pleased with the entire experience, thank you Mabel!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank StutiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

My teenaged daughter and I just returned from four days in Barcelona. We booked two photo tours with Barcelona Photography Tours and, based on our interests, they scheduled us with Mabel. We did a two and a half hour nighttime tour of the magic fountain in order to practice some nighttime photo skills, and a two and a half hour daytime tour of the Gothic Quarter. The first thing Mabel did was re-set our cameras to the most basic settings, center spot focus and metering. This forced us to really think about what we were doing technically, and not just compositionally. My daughter has won photography awards, but knew almost nothing about how to meter before this experience. Mabel took us to the magic fountain via the subway, which we would not have experienced without her, and that was fun, and empowering. She also knew what time to go, where to stand and when to leave to avoid the worst crowds and traffic. That was very helpful. Mabel has a very good energy about her....she is energetic and engaging without being loud. She is insistent without being pushy. This is great for teenagers, who would often rather die than be noticed or make a "scene." It was a revelation to my daughter that a person could ask total strangers to stand in a particular position, or walk around the corner into the light, so that a couple of American tourists could take their picture, and that people not only agreed, they participated willingly. This was literally the first time my teenaged girl child ever took a picture of a stranger. Mabel gave us basic history about the area as we walked around, which was nice -- teenagers hate lecture tours, and this gave us just enough info for context, and not enough for boredom. Mabel also took us to special shops that she knew about where we had an opportunity to do things like take photos of a pastry chef, and photos of a crème brulee being heated with a torch. We were also lucky enough to see a parade of the giants (effigies of the former rulers of the region), and Mabel was willing to follow along as we tried to catch different angles, though she got us back on track when she knew the time was right to catch the light on the Pont del Bisbe (similar to the Venetian Bridge of Sighs). Mabel also took pictures as we traveled around, and showed us what she was trying to capture, and whether she felt she had succeeded or not. That was an unexpected bonus. We wore out long before Mabel did!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 509ElizabethG509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Great photography tour with Nico! He is a professional in every aspect and it was a fun time hanging out. 6 hours did fly by! I did learn a lot on this tour... I can only recommend it

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank georgekarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Our guide Nicolas Ochoa was an excellent host. He took us to non-tourist areas of Barcelona to see and photograph the cultural diversity of the city. He also provided photography instruction and guidance, including composition suggestions, how to capture night scenes and photograph the market. Overall it was a great 6 hours. I highly recommend Nico.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank el0ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurieciao, Owner at Barcelona Photography Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your experience with Barcelona Photography Tours. Nico mentioned to me how much he enjoyed the time spent in your company. We hope to see you again in the future! Best wishes, Laurie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Nico is a fantastic photographer and a great guide.
My husband learned a great deal from him and he even gave me some tips for shooting with my iPhone.
I can’t recommend this tour enough, it was a pleasure to meet this friendly and professional young man

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank margaretw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurieciao, Owner at Barcelona Photography Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Thank you so much for choosing to tour with us, and thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write a testimonial to let others know of your experience with us. I am glad you also benefited from the tour with the camera on your cell phone! We would be delighted to tour with you again, should you find yourself in Barcelona in the future.

Best wishes,
Laurie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews