We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular and whimsical hotel near Sagrada Famlia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia
Ranked #48 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is wonderfully designed from it's full kitchen ,living room, and bedrooms with balcony.Huge flat screen TV. Even had a washing machine and dryer! Loved it all.The furniture was like Gaudi artworks,very whimsical and creative.Traveled with elderly parents and the staff(especially Paulina) were so accommodating and helpful to us English speaking Americans. The spa,( right next door) and fitness center was incredible.Sauna,pool,weights,showers and hairdryers as well as spritz of perfume! anything you needed was right there. And the Sagrada Familia was within walking distance,along with many other sites to see. The breakfast( included ) was so delicious from the bacon and eggs to the mouth watering croissants we wanted to stay another night! We loved every minute there and will be telling all our friends to go there. Thank you Paulina for our wonderful experience in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castro_Exclusive, Mkt Manager at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Thank you very much, Michelle:
It was a real pleasure. Now Paulina work between offices and the building itself so I will convey your greeting. I hope you come back soon to coincide again, hehe.
Thank you very much for describing such a cute way experience.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 360 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

I was travelling with 2 families with young children and the main attraction for me was the fact that a swimming pool was advertised for this apartment. However, it was a little disappointing to find out that the pool was actually in a Spa next to the hotel that does not allow anyone below 18 to use the pool. So while the pool is available, the description of the hotel should state that no under 18 are allowed. Apart from that one issue the Apartment itself is actually very nice and adults have full access to the Gym and Pool in the Spa.

The apartment is fairly clean with a well equipped kitchen. The onsite laundry is definitely a plus. Bathrooms were very nice, good showers, and provide premium l'occitane toiletries. Though an apartment it is run like a hotel, where towels were changed and apartment cleaned daily. Location is excellent with a supermarket right in front of the apartment. Like the fact that we could just walk across the street to pick up fresh produce and groceries. The Sagrada Familia is just 3 mins walk and of course the metro is right there too. However we rented bicycles to get around, which really is the way to travel in Barcelona with its many bicycle lanes. One warning, parking bicycles outside the Apartment is not recommended as we had 3 bicycles stolen overnights even though we double locked the bikes. The apartment does not provide free bicycle parking in its underground parking facilities and charges 30 Euro a night.

The apartment do need refreshing soon, as some of the walls had shoe marks and scuffs on them, and some of the fittings were damaged by previous guest. Also the windows are not soundproof, so when our neighbors decided to sing the La Bamba at 1 am in the morning there was no good way to totally shut the noise out.

Overall I would recommend this apartment/hotel which comfortably sleeps 7 to 8 once you overlook the mis-advertised pool. BTW the Barceloneta beaches are nicer anyway and our kids had a great time there which made up for the lack of the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelPlan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEPESTEL S A M, Director General at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments!
hope to see you again in Barcelona, we really liked hosting you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Have to agree with other reviews, the descriptions for castro exclusive apartments are misleading, misselling and frankly a con. The photo's of the lovely spa and facilities are there to fool you! the apartments do NOT have a pool or restaurant!! this should be reported to trading standards.

What they are showing you is a health club next door, worse still it is not included in the price. And worse again Imagine our dissappointment at a family hol in march when we went to take the kids to be told under 18's are not allowed - I picked this beacuse of the spa facilities so i could take kids and wife could have a break - no mention on booking and i read every detail. furthermore for over 18's to use the pool they wanted 14 euros per day and 6 euros for a swimming cap! After i complained i was offered half price but not good enough!!

To be balanced i have to say that the apartments themselves are lovely, very modern clean and everything you would need and right beisde the sagrada, handy to underground, tours restaurants and bars. We stayed for 7 days, there is a nursery school out the back but it didnt cause any disturbance. The walls are thin but we only had noisy neighbours for a few hours 1 night out of 7. If i was rating the aparts alone they would be 4.5 stars. but we were so gutted to find out about the spa con on arrival and by then it was too late.Hotels.com did give a 10% refund and an apology but wouldnt have booked had we known!

To sum up
No POOL
No SPA
No RESTAURANT
Health club next door UNDER 18'S NOT ALLOWED
costs 14 euros + 6 euros for cap
Location very good
apartments very good

good luck
steven

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castro_Exclusive, MKT Manager at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Hello, s m:
thanks for your contribution. For the good reviews and the not so good;)
I apologize if at the time the information was unclear. for the other guests I must say that the SPA is a proven club that our guests have access, to have permanent partners decided that only those over 17 years accessing it. It is a place of relaxation that invite children to a swimming pool on the joint street,
On the other hand, the location is exactly next door, they walk 15 seconds and enters the lavish reception where we have the restaurant (breakfast and lunch high quality)
Steven, I love it when you return to Barcelona tell us because you will discover everything we have improved in recent times.
Even the bathrooms caps cost less; D

Thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel descriptions talk about a spa experience and indoor pool. Nothing could be further from the truth. My wife, who wanted to have a spa weekend, read the descriptions of the hotel and chose it. Well, contrary to the descriptions, the hotel has no indoor pool and no spa. The price of the rooms would lead you to believe it but all the hotel has is an agreement with a very busy and crowded health club. You get no privileges as the guest of the hotel at the health club. For example, the spa services cannot be booked in advance but only on the same day. We tried to book a massage on Saturday morning and were told there were no slots available. Then, it turned out that the spa at the health club was closed on Sunday (why would you want to go to a spa on a day when you don't have to work?) and no reservations for Monday spa services could be made on Saturday - we had to come back Monday morning in the hope to be there early enough to compete with the rest of Barcelona for a spa appointment. You shouldn't advertise something that you not only don't have but also can't help your guests in getting. So no spa break for my wife.
Apparently the hotel is building an "exclusive" passage for its guests to the health club but there was no date for completion.
We travelled with 2 dogs and read on the Expedia website that it would cost us EUR 20 per day to have the dogs stay at the hotel. We confirmed that when we called the hotel on the day we made the booking. However, when we were checking out we were told that it was EUR 20 per dog per day - the receptionist insisted on it and said that because so few people stay at the hotel with dogs she is sure that it is EUR 20 per dog per day. That strange logic was nothing compared to the fiasco of getting late checkout for free. During the same conversation with the hotel when we were told it was EUR 20 per day for pets to stay, we were told we could get free late checkout till 3.30. Based on that information, we booked our train tickets back to France for a later train. On Monday morning, before we started our day, I wanted to confirm that we had free late checkout. I even gave the receptionist on duty the name of her colleague, Assunta, who told us that. After numerous calls to the management, the final word came from Senor Alejandro (the manager who clearly shouldn't be running a hospitality establishment) that we had to pay EUR 100 if we wanted to stay till 3.30. The best part was when the management said it is a special service they offer to their guests. Well, taking money off of hotel guests is not usually qualified as a special service. Oh, and we were told that Assunta doesn't speak English so well. Interesting staff selection then at a hotel that clearly aims to cater to the higher end of the international tourist clientele.
As for the apartment itself, the living room sofas and chairs were the most uncomfortable pieces of plastic covered furniture we ever sat on - certainly not "deluxe" as the hotel described its accommodation. There is also nothing "deluxe" about posting a price list for every single thing in the bathroom you might want to use (and you usually get for free at comparable - and cheaper - hotels). We were afraid to use anything in the bathrooms for fear of being charged even more money. As an added attraction, one of the two bathrooms had a shower cabin which did not drain properly and the whole bathroom plus the bedroom smelled like sewage most of the time.
Finally, if you wanted to have breakfast for the princely sum of EUR 16 per person, you also had to trek to the healthclub and hope to get a table at the cafeteria populated by the post- and pre-workout crowd, their friends, families, children and strollers.
And if you wanted to get any help from the receptionist, you also had to time it since the receptionist desk was staffed only during the day and there was nobody there during the weekend - just a piece of paper with a mobile number.
I have been to Barcelona many times. Avoid the Castro apartments like the plague - expensive, uncomfortable, pretentious, with bad management and non-existent facilites. You can do so much better in Barcelona for that kind of money - and at least be treated with honesty and hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rafal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafa M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you for your comment but there are a lot of comments which are not true as gladly we can see from other guests.
We will take your opinion into consideration as our commitment is to improve and make our clients a wonderful stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Marrhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank TeooPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erykalycia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castro_Exclusive, MKT Manager at Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Sensation Sagrada Familia
#10 of 736 in Barcelona
615 reviews
The Urban Suites
#45 of 736 in Barcelona
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Paseo De Gracia Bas Apartments
Eixample
BCN Rambla Catalunya Apartments
Eixample
Midtown Apartments
Midtown Apartments
#2 of 736 in Barcelona
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia

Address: C/ Provenza 412 - 414, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $154 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Words like comfort, location, sustainability and modernity are the perfect definition for this exclusive residences concept in Barcelona.The privileged location and views of this building makes possible to see the Sagrada Familia temple, and in a 10 minutes’ walk arrive to the city center, were the Modernist Barcelona merges with the business district combined with the most exclusive shops; Paseo de Gracia.3 metro stops and the “Bus Turistic” for a perfect communication with any part of the city.Our building has 20 residences with 80 sqm with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms fully equipped with all the luxurious details and amenities for up to 6 people. It offers concierge service, daily cleaning of the apartments, electronic surveillance, safe, among others.You have at your disposal the Metropolitan Restaurant, where you can enjoy breakfast and lunch low in calories for a minimum price.Other services we offer are parking, purchase of food packages, discounts in upscale restaurants, baby cots, baby-sitters, and much more.You will enjoy the best connectivity with Wi-free, and you can enjoy our multimedia library; both movies and music specially selected for you to make your stay unique. (We include top technology with 2 TVs, 50 "with ambilight system and 32" accompanied by a gorgeous speaker system so you can play all your favorite music).The colorfulness, exclusivity and elegance are the mainstay of the decoration, which integrates the real essence of Barcelona.If you just want to pamper yourself, we encourage you to relax in the beautiful spa, with more than 2,500 m2 dedicated to wellness and physical activity "Metropolitan". For us sustainability is not necessary, is essential. Therefore we offer you products that respect the environment, LED lighting and a hybrid car rental service.Experience the stylish city Barcelona, be amazed by our cultural and gastronomic offer.From Castro exclusive residences we want your stay in Barcelona is unique because our commitment is to transform your visit into a ... see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castro Exclusive Residences & Spa Sagrada Familia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing