We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gothic perfection”

The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.67*
and up
Barcelona Old Town and Markets Sky Walk
Ranked #9 of 698 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the fourteenth century, this cathedral is one of the most important religious centers in Barcelona.
Ealing, London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gothic perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

A glorious, light and airy (and blissfully cool on a hot June day) interior with virtually perfect acoustics. The anarchists ripped out the baroque excretions during the civil war, leaving just the original wall, and it's great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EalingKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,114
    2,882
    522
    51
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely gothic reminder of Mary's glory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Handsome Gothic style cathedral which is unusually attractive because of the devastation to it during the Spanish Civil War when it was essentially burned out. The bare walls and pillars enhance the statuary in the side altars which are more modern and plainly artistic than most Gothic churches further north in Europe. Well worth the visit - the small entry fee discourages casual tourists keeping the interior relatively free and quiet

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We thought we were "churched out" but then we were introduced to this church by our guide and founder of FoodiesGo, Sonia. To think that fishermen worked all day and then came home and in the late day and evening spent only 55 years to finish this wonder is amazing. The other churches we saw took hundreds of years and the Familiaria is still not finished! A must see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Khakijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So beautiful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This church is just right next door to my rental flat in Barcelona, so I've witness one of the most beautiful and respectful architecture that I've visited. The amount of visitors that flocking in each day were so much that I felt so privilege that I just stay next door to the cathedral. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hazame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiac
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Art, peaceful, great place to visit and pray if you want so.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

wow this Cathedral is wonderful, the architecture amazing , is free to get in , you have to go .Love everything

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diosaximena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing