We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rooftop Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar

The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar
Book In Advance
$46.84*
and up
Barcelona Old Town and Markets Sky Walk
Ranked #9 of 683 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the fourteenth century, this cathedral is one of the most important religious centers in Barcelona.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
242 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Rooftop Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This church is not very ornate (it dates back kto the 13th century), but we took a tour, which led to two levels on the top of the structure. I have been on such church tours before (to bell towers, etc), but never to the roof. This was a unique experience, with great views of the city!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,688
    2,704
    496
    48
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We participated the guided tour to tower and the roof top of this cathedral. So marvellous wiew over the city and one of the bet guides I have come accross - a historian with enthusiams for his home town. This place is a must especially if you have read the book " The Cathedral of the See"

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
702 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Better Experience that Sagrada Familia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I enjoyed my 40 minute tour here more than Sagrada Familia. They charge 5 euros for an extensive narration of the church, its history in barcelona, along with barcelona history. The views of the city are much better from the top of this church. Yes you actually get to go on the roof. Fabulous views and descriptions. The church was built in a catalan gothic style and only has 2 aisles, nave and no transept. Also the aisles as tall as the nave as they use the side chapels to support the height of the church. It is 3 euros to enger but pay 5 euros and visit and tour the tours and listen to this great story.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tfizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The cathedral at the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I you have read the book of Idelfonso Falcones, this is a must sea. You can go back in time and experience the ancient times and realise the work performed in the MiddelAges. Something we cannot equal anymore

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simple but still stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very different than the Catedral or the Sagrada Familia, but still incredible. Amazing the detail work even in it's simplicity.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CobbKappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing