We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, hold local intimate concerts”

The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.94*
and up
Barcelona Old Town and Markets Sky Walk
Ranked #8 of 697 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the fourteenth century, this cathedral is one of the most important religious centers in Barcelona.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, hold local intimate concerts”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited and noticed that there was a small intimate guitar concert in the evening and reasonably priced. We had a lovely evening there after dinner listening to the local musicians. I say local I think the person we saw was really famous but we didn't know him. Fantastic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelyabsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,269
    2,944
    531
    52
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great catedral”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

enjoyed my visit to the catedral, the frescos and alter pieces were very opulent and impressive a must visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nedeljko_stoykovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashkelon israel
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“REMINDING THE PAST”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

On your way to port vell or to ciutadella park go and see it.If you are an architecture fan you -ll enjoy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ianilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely cathedral”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

beautifully proportioned, stunning vaulted ceiling but possibly a little overpublicized... a nice place to visit as part of a wandere around the area rather than a specific destination. The church closes between two and six (open until half eight) and there are plenty of cafes and interesting little shops in the surrounding squares.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank niamhsfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful Church.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm not a religious person but this was just an amazing place to see and in the most interesting area of Barcelona. Absolutely huge! Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteTheSeasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to The Basilica of Santa Maria del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing