We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine but there were mice.”
Review of Black & White Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black & White Home
Ranked #248 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It was fine but there were mice.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The two members of staff we met (the guy who came to greet us and the cleaner) were both very friendly. The location was very good (close to La Rambla, metro station and the opera hall). The bedroom was quiet and spacious. We were happy with our stay overall. It's a good flat for 2 people to stay but you may find it noisy if you sleep in the sofa bed in the living room. But hey, it's next to La Rambla so it's hard to avoid the noise. The quality of the deco wasn't great. The work bench in the kitchen was damaged and the toilet did not stick well to the floor. One night we were woken up by some noise in the kitchen and saw two little mice in our biscuit bag! So maybe the management could do something about it. They could be just off the street so we were not too put off by it. So, if you're staying there, remember to put all your food in the fridge!

Room Tip: Put all your food in the fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Great apartment, spacious for 2 persons. Excellent located in the middle of the Ramblas, everything nearby. Room (1st floor) was as pictured, with bedroom conveniently in the back. Friendly reception. Would reccomend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very pleased with Black and White House apartments. We will definitely stay here again and enthusiastically recommend to others. Located just steps away from Las Ramblas and very near El Boqueria market; the big open air market. The apartments are quite livable for short term or long term stays; well equipped, good free WiFi Internet. Our 4th floor apartment was exactly as pictured. That said, we found quite a few defects that shouldn't exist; street door only sometimes automatically locks (a big security problem), the interphone doesn't work to buzz people in, the interphone's video camera is too high and doesn't show shorter people, the entrance way smells badly but definitely not our apartment, very low flow on hot shower water, bed's matress is a bit too soft, bath electrical socket is worn and doesn't snap, bath's hair dryer outlet is defective (must continuously hold plug into wall), vacuum in kitchen wall socket kept blowing fuse, bedroom wall socket cover missing, WiFi access code is nearly illegible. None of these was a showstopper for us but it does speak to sloppy management. We were checked in by a nice young man who did a thorough job. The space is ample for a couple.

Room Tip: Call for rendezvous with check-in person immediately upon arrival. This is stated in their email doc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bsalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We found this apartment really easy to get to by public transport, it's very central and easy to get everywehre from here.
Only problem was our flight was late arriving in Barcelona, so consequently we were then later arriving at the apartment than planned. I had rung the contact number when we landed as advised by the paperwork, but the person who was meeting us had not amended her schedule so we were left waiting outside with our bags for a while before we could get access.
We saw a number of people in the same situation as us over the few days we were in Barcelona and I think this could be a bit of a problem if you arrived late at night.
However we were very happy with the apartment - clean and spacious with contemporary furnishings and very spacious.
It has a good sized and well-equipped kitchen and living area and a decent sized bedroom with lots of wardrobe space to the back of the property - so away from the noise of Las Ramblas.
There was free wi-fi and a phone that you can use to make free local calls too.
Carrefour on Las Ramblas is only 5 minutes away which is great for stocking up on supplies.
Just one thing we noticed - the bed is very low and mattress quite soft, so if you have any mobility issues you might end up on the sofa bed
Having said that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 60dragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#231 of 513 in Barcelona
475 reviews
El Raval
Residencia Universitaria San Agustin
El Raval
Viu Barcelona Apartments
Viu Barcelona Apartments
#215 of 723 in Barcelona
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
BWH Gracia
BWH Gracia
#242 of 723 in Barcelona
32 reviews
El Raval
Apartaments Unio
Apartaments Unio
#118 of 723 in Barcelona
71 reviews
Bwh Park Guell
#361 of 723 in Barcelona
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black & White Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black & White Home

Property: Black & White Home
Address: Carrer Sant Pau, 8, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black & White Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black & White Home Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing