We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good music but nothing more!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamboree Jazz

Jamboree Jazz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Faithful to the club's desire to be a reference point in the sector, open to all possible schools of jazz and, therefore, to the ever-increasing number of fans of this hundred-year-old genre in Barcelona, Jamboree presents an assorted monthly programme with the cream of national and international jazz. Under the management of Pere Pons, it attempts to include a selection of musicians from Catalonia (60% of the total monthly programme), the rest of Europe (20%) and the United States (20%). Among the local artists included in the programme, there is a balanced combination of established figures and up and coming young artists. Jamboree is, above all a place where you can find out what's hot both among the new generations and the best known artists. A laboratory through which fans can keep up with the latest by our artists. With regards to the international program, first rate American artists, recognized by national and international press, are used to capture the interest of many fans.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good music but nothing more!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Jamboree is quite famous among locals. One of the few clubs who have live music - mainly jazz. Inside the club, space is quite small. Once the seats are full, one has to watch it standing. Drinks are slightly overpriced. Didn't see any food menu inside. There is an entry fee which starts with 8 Euro. While the club is average, music was quite nice and authentic. Plays for an hour or so. Can be a good interim stop if you are planning to go to a nightclub which starts late. Although, don't plan your entire evening at this place!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mitul09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    82
    20
    11
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It might be good for jazz but forget about the nice club!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

i've been there few times with a friend who love that place, but i still can't understand why. Yeah, lot of chicks dancing and drunk and whatever you find in a commercial club. They don't have a good choise of music, drinks are not tasty and it smell kinda bad downstairs. I guess i have to go back to check out the Jazz gig, as i heard lot of nice things about it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Creepy with Terrible Music”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This place has two levels, one with rap/dance music and the other with 80's/90's music (sounds pretty cool right?) Well after we went down to the 80's/90's part of the club we find ourselves in a creepy basement with an [--] bartender, the DJ is a computer on shuffle, and a bunch of shady characters. We left promptly to see what was upstairs to find that this was in fact the 80's/90's portion of the club (this shows how back the music was in the "rap/dance" portion) and a DJ that's a bigger [--] than the bartender downstairs.

Needless to say we left.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it for a good night of jazz, although sets are quite short.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We paid about 17euro each for 10.00 pm entry and saw a very good jazz quartet who played for about an hour or so. Drinks were not too bad for a club at around 4euro for a beer. The sets are quite short but we felt it was reasonable value in a good atmosphere in cavernous underground type room.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulriddiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We visited Jamboree one night in august. I did not like it at all. Club was over packed, there were just too many people. Lots of Scandinavian girls showing of and living in the bubble.

Jamboree was not all bad, they really played good music to dance to. Entrance costs 5€ or 10€ depending on nights.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank luhnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamboree Jazz also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Jamboree Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing