We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting, but hard to find”

Museu d'Historia de Barcelona - MUHBA
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.15*
and up
Barcelona Guided Walking Tour: Secrets of the Gothic Quarter and History Museum
Ranked #32 of 697 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ancient and medieval Barcelona in the monumental ensemble beneath Plaça del Rei, organised in the 20th century. A tour through 4,000 square metres in an underground archaeological site that takes us from Barcino to Barcinona. Exhibition on the emergence of the medieval city. Visit to the Palau Reial Major palace.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very interesting, but hard to find”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My friend and I walked around for about 30 minutes until we found this place. I would suggest the city invest in some serious signage.

If you are coming from Placa de Sant Jaume down la Libretaria, take a left before you pass Placa de l'Angel and the building is on your right. If you begin passing shops and start seeing the roman wall on your left, you've went to far and back up a street.

The museum itself is wonderful! There are various discounts for under 25 and on certain days, which means its not terribly expensive.

The best part of the museum is under ground where you walk across a glass walkway that is hovering over archeological ruins of the city. You can really see where people used to walk, live, make wine, go to church, and hang out. The museum has restored the ruins beautifully and you feel like you have stepped back in time. It's just amazing how the city was just constantly building on top of its former self.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_addict_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    497
    124
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So much Barcelona history here.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's amazing walking around the lower part of this museum as it is true history. Preserved dating back to the city Barcino (Latin). Built on an early Roman settlement the lower floors consist of the excavated remains of the settlement in the positions as they related to the past layout. One of the best values the city has to offer....7 euros not only gets you into the museum but for up to a year after purchasing the ticket you can visit 6 (or 7 maybe) other museums that are part of the city's history. So if you see this museum near the start of your trip be sure to take advantage of the other museums.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 4TTdotME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Good luck finding it but worth it”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a Roman dig that has been transformed into a museum. You watch a short movie showing the history of the Roman settlement that founded Barcelona. It was basically a retirement community for Roman soldiers in sunny Spain.

They detail the building of the town from a small stockaid and village to walled city...through modern day. I can not stress how seeing this first helped me understand all the tourist sites in Barcelona. You really understand where the walls are there and what all the buildings around you are.

You walk on a glass catwalk suspended 15 feet above the actual Roman houses, walls, cisterns, pottery and work areas. They display all the items found there and what they were used for.

Really amazing. I found the building itself difficult to find even with a map. I walked around it and in front of it for an hour before finding it. There are no signs and it looks like the front of a small buisness not the massive museum that it is hidden away behind the massive Roman towers and wall

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank camperben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I wanted so much more...and all the descriptions were in Spanish and had to get a leaflet to read the English which you get tired of very fast. I wish I spent that time visiting Picaso Museum or somewhere else I didn't have enough time for.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BatoolM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
265 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Another aspect of Barcelona”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you want to know more about the Roman origins of the city then you will enjoy this well laid-out museum. We spent a good few hours there and found wandering over the ancient walls and seeing the areas that were once dedicated to fish processing and laundryparticluarly interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu d'Historia de Barcelona - MUHBA also viewed

 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Museu d'Historia de Barcelona - MUHBA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing