We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”

Frederic Mares Museum (Museu Frederic Mares)
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.75*
and up
Barcelona Shore Excursion: Barcelona Card with Guidebook
More Info
$53.45*
and up
Barcelona Card with Guidebook
Ranked #107 of 714 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Samsun, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Absolutely a hidden gem. This place is my most favorite museum in Barcelona. Also entrance fee was really cheap for this kind of huge and fascinating museum.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank msdundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    84
    37
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hoarder or visionary?”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had walked by this museum many times on our way to the cathedral and been intrigued but didn't take the time to enter until a few weeks ago and our feelings were mixed from the beginning. The building itself is beautiful, especially the courtyard. The myriad of religious sculptures on the first floor became almost redundant, even though many were exquisite. I agree with other reviewers who suggest that the real interest for us was piqued when we went upstairs and saw the amazing breadth and depth of his collections. Frederic Mares was either a hoarder or a visionary, or maybe a little of both, but his genius was to collect for posterity some of the most fascinating items imaginable. It is possible to get an idea of many different lifestyles over the centuries from these exhibitions. This is well worth the very reasonable entrance fee and the investment of time to look at the world through the lens of such an eccentric man.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Crazy, and unexpectedly good fun”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when we went to this museum, it was free on our Barcelona card. It turned out to be a crazy collection of EVERYTHING. Toys, fans, pipes, swords, religious artefacts etc etc etc. Frederic Mares either had a screw loose or just way too much time on his hands, and we are lucky enough to reap the benefits. There is a collection to suit everyone, and far too much for one visit. Choose your rooms and skip those that don't interest you. If you go with an open mind you will love the absurdity of this museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Don't even think about it”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Should you already be inside when reading this...don't walk, don't stroll or trot, RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!!
This is not a museum, just a big house which has been filled with the spoils of a crazed collector. A museum should tell a story, it has to bee more then just a big display cabinet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Go straight to the Collector's Cabinet!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What I love about this place are the top floors with Marès' mad collection; pipes, cigar papers, weapons, toys, kama sutra playing cards etc. from the 19th century! The dimly-lit rooms are the perfect seeing for a day away from the sun and into another world.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Petzdelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frederic Mares Museum (Museu Frederic Mares) also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Frederic Mares Museum (Museu Frederic Mares)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing