We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience City Hall (Casa de la Ciutat / Ayuntamiento)
from $123.91
More Info
from $14.85
More Info
from $21.70
More Info
from $78.80
More Info
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
50
80
37
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
50
80
37
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open to the public local government great square impressive building gothic quarter guided tour independence century demonstration architecture arches catalunya exterior statues photos visitors
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 168 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

This is an impressive building on Plaça de Sant Jaume. Casa de la Ciutat was originally built in the 14th century. The building sits across the square from Palau del Parlament de Catalunya. A benefit of our visit to Barcelona has been to gain a better understanding of and appreciation for the history of Barcelona and Catalonia. So it was good to visit Plaça de Sant Jaume to see the base of local and Catalonia government and appreciate the beautiful historic buildings in which they reside.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 31HomeGames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

This city hall flanks one side of the square Placa de Sant Jaume. This ancient building is well preserved, beautiful facade, with nice sculptures and flags right at the top. Drop by to take some nice photos in this Gothic Quarter.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank LG_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Stumbled across this on a Sunday morning whilst waiting for our departure time from the city. Entrance was free on Sunday morning up to 1330 I think so popped in and there were some really nice rooms and things to look at. Worth a visit but only when free I think and not on the top of your list of things that should be visited whilst in the city.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Sunday is the only day that Barcelona's 15th-century City Hall opens its doors to the public. As an architecture buff, I was disappointed to learn that when I saw its magnificent neoclassical facade on the south side of the big rectangular Placa Sant Jaume on a Saturday afternoon. I had seen photos of its stunning interior and wanted to go inside but had to content myself with careful scrutiny of the exterior, because I was leaving for Andorra early the next day.

The entrance is flanked by nicely done statues of King James I and his adviser, Joan Fiveller, in vaulted niches. Columns support the upper porch, in the middle of the three-story structure. I especially enjoyed the unexpected Gothic facade with stained-glass windows on the side, essentially untouched during later renovations. Earlier-era lampposts, each with five light fixtures, along the front of the building provide pleasing visual elements.

The City Hall opens on Sundays from 10 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Visitors can go on a self-guided tour (brochures provided) or take a guided tour. One in English begins at 10 a.m.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2018

Casa de la Ciutat is located in the center of the old town. The city hall building is beautiful while entry thereat is free. It is good to stroll around the square in the frontage and to look at the internal arrangements if time permits.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank YTCHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews