We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel”
Review of Ofelias Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ofelias Hotel
Ranked #183 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay here - mostly because of the beautiful boutique design throughout the hotel and rooms. It was always a pleasure to come back here after a day sightseeing in barcelona, and with a metro station just a 2 minute walk away this was very convenient. The breakfast selection was nice, and of very good quality. I would say it's a great hotel for couples and adults, maybe not so much for families/children. The pool (although tiny) was nice to sit by after a long day on your feet. The only reason I haven't given this hotel 5 stars, is when we arrived and checked in, the lady behind reception was very cold/unwelcoming, we almost felt a bit unwanted! Which is unusual for a receptionist, who is welcoming you to the hotel when you first arrive. We found the staff in general to be rather cold, and would have preferred a friendlier environment. Otherwise though - we would highly recommend this hotel as a great base for exploring Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bettyboo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 538 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

Walked into a lovely & warm lobby with nice seating areas. The hotel room was clean & bright, nicely decorated and comfortably furnished. Breakfast was excellent and served in a nice open area. They even cooked eggs to order on request. The rooftop pool terrace was a welcome way to spend a much needed relaxing afternoon after lots of sightseeing. Hotel staff at the reception desk were always pleasant and eager to help tickets and reservations. Great location - 5 minute walk to Metro & lighted fountain show and just around the corner from Las Arenas. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Well... this was our second hotel on our Euro trip. The people were very friendly and very helpful ... no issues... we got exactly what we scheduled. My daughter was a little concerned in that we did not have a door on the bathroom or the shower... (the toilet did).... only shutters on the window. It turned out not to be a big deal. The beds were good, shower was good.... and the small balcony worked out great for us since we are smokers... The location was perfect.... A short walk to an old bull fighting arena which has been converted to a mall.... go up the elevator and see a good part of the city.... especially the fountains.. we were able to walk to several of the attractions.. and there is a metro / bus that we navigated extremely easily very close by.... we did not do the breakfast.. it was rather expensive... 19 euros per person per day... not sure if it would have been worth it or not.... if you enjoy dogs.. there is a park just adjacent to this where we went out every morning and just watched them play... the building was well maintained... very pretty .... overall well worth the money..... I will definitely stay there again if we go back.. very happy with the whole experience...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We loved this hotel
I would book it again tomorrow and suggest it to all my friends
The location is superb, the staff are helpful, the breakfast is lovely and most of all, every bit of it is beautiful - the rooms, the pool, the breakfast area - everything
Like others my only complaint is that even families travelling together would prefer a door or a screen to the bathroom. And the shower is either super hot or super chilly. Fix these things and it's worth triple the room rate. So, actually, don't fix them and I'll come back and get two rooms next time to ensure a private bathroom !

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyfromwestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in July and would happily return.

Take the aerobus from the airport, as it's cheap and very tourist friendly. Get off at the first stop (plaza espanya), hotel is about 100m away. Lovely entrance, and smell, as you walk into the hotel. Rooms are clean, neat and have everything you need, yes, including Wifi!!! (Note to all hotels, tourists need wifi as much as we need things like towels and toilet paper!!!). About a 30 min walk into las ramblas and the gothic qtr where it is very busy. Train ride is only about three stops to catalunya station. Take trains everywhere, it's so easy once you get the hang of it and is much cheaper than taxis. Lastly, for a quick easy meal after a long flight, just go yo the top of the shopping centre straight across the road from the hotel. Once you settled in though, eat in the main city area around las ramblas, it's so cheap. Take the aerobus back to the airport but ask reception where it is as it is in a slightly different spot to the first drop off

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a 3 night stay here in July 2014. I decided to book a luxury room with a spa bath, bathrobe slippers, free mini bar, tea/coffee facilities etc. When we arrived they said the room wasnt ready but they could get a room with a terrace ready in half an hour. When we got into our room it was lovely and clean etc but the bed was two singles pushed together (not great for a romantic couples break) and there was no bath, no tea/coffee no bathrobe/slippers and the mini bar was incomplete and came with a price list. I contacted reception (where the staff were continually pleasant, welcoming and helpful) and explained this. She said I could see the other type of room the morning after but she recommended seeing it first as the ones with the king size bed and spa bath did not have a terrace/balcony. My partner and I viewed the room but he decided it was nicer to have a terrace than the bath (the terrace does not have a very nice view but there's nothing the hotel can do about that). I informed reception that we wished to stay where we were but could we have all the extras sent to the room which was promptly obliged. I do feel as though this should have been their idea but they were very obliging.

The room was very clean and tidy, the shower very good, the terrace had a lovely comfy sofa and a table and chair with red flowering plants and a lamp. The air con in the room can get cold but is adjustable. Perhaps quite a personal room for a non-couple to share as the shower was open with no door and had an opaque panel in the middle for modesty, as did the toilet (so in theory someone could look over!). There is a flat screen tv but only 1 English speaking channel (BBC World or something). Everywhere in the hotel is BEAUTIFULLY decorated, very classed and tastefully lit. The hotel is exactly as their own pictures described. The whole place is very classy; glass lifts, designer lighting, wooden floors, flowers, massive bookcases etc.

The pool is rather small but very clean and great for a cool off. It is only wide enough for one person to do lengths and not deep enough to jump in but we still enjoyed it. Around the pool there are proper upholstered beds (3 doubles which were singles pushed together) and a couple of table and chairs. There is always a bucket of pillows and clean towels at the stairs and the staff fold towels and place them on the beds during the day.

Breakfast was really nice. Literally something for everyone: scrambled egg, bacon, grilled tomatoes, chipolatas (which unfortunately were usually cold) a fresh white and brown sliced bloomer everyday, normal sliced bread and a toasting machine, different types of bread rolls, different pots of jams marmalades and nutella, pastries, cereals, cured meats and sliced cheeses, fresh fruit, yoghurts with bowls of oats, coconut, apricots, dates, honey and walnuts, orange juice, oat milk, normal milk, peach juice, different sorts of teas and lovely coffees. If you say there was nothing on there for you then its definitely not the Ofelias' fault! Again the breakfast room was nicely air conditioned and beautifully decorated with an outdoor area to sit in.

All in all we loved staying here. It was a bit more expensive than what I'd usually paid but you do get quality. Staff were great, free wifi was great, rooms great, breakfast great, location was great, seconds away from a main metro station and the simply stunning musical fountain displays next to the Placa d'Espanya. Shopping centre literally outside the front door and if you stay here you should try Dim Sum Wok just on the same street and Pura Brasa just out onto the main street. If... when we go back to the beautiful city of Barcelona I would want to stay here again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, good for siestas, drying out clothes, sunbathing when the sun is there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed for the second time for two nights at Hotel Ofelias in June. The location is very good and the pool on the roof is great, although the weather did not cooperate. The shower is great and beds are comfortable.

The only thing I would suggest is that they are better at recognizing repeat customers. When I mentioned we stayed last year, the receptionist was very happy and "put a star" on our reservation. The star doesn't mean or get us anything, so why tell us we have a star? Also, some of the daytime front desk staff couldn't seem to be bothered to say hello.

Otherwise, this is a great hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a double bed as otherwise you will get two twins pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Advance
Hotel Advance
#323 of 516 in Barcelona
365 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 516 in Barcelona
2,312 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#40 of 516 in Barcelona
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#51 of 516 in Barcelona
375 reviews
Hotel Rekord
#287 of 516 in Barcelona
250 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#81 of 516 in Barcelona
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ofelias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ofelias Hotel

Address: Calle de Llanca 24, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $88 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ofelias Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We present the new destination for the most demanding guests. We invite you to discover the most "chic" Barcelona in the new space with flavor of the city, designed by the interior designer Lázaro Rosa Violán.All Ofelias Hotel services are designed to provide maximum comfort and the essence of the Slow-philosophy (slow travel, good life). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ofelias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ofelias Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing