We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but couldn't sleep as my room was too close to lifts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
Ranked #116 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel but couldn't sleep as my room was too close to lifts”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Nice hotel, friendly staff.

Unfortunately I couldn't sleep as my room was next to the lifts. Not the best thing when you are travelling for business and have to get up early in the morning.

Breakfast is decent but lack of cosyness: it is served in the basement and you will have share the space with 100's of other guests, with tables lining up in the empty, high-ceiling space...

Room Tip: avoid rooms next to lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_deezLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    577
    241
    83
    30
See reviews for
338
435
92
532
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Very grand , as the name suggests.

Our room was comfortable , clean and well equipped.

The staff were excellent from the car valet service , the reception staff to the cleaning staff. Deserving special mention is Pedro the concierge. Nothing was too difficult and he certainly rose to the many requests we made , always patient , interested and helpful. A real asset to his employer.

We found the hotel well positioned and close to very efficient and inexpensive public transport.

On the negative side , it needs some minor maintenance work. There were many business conferences underway over the 3 days we were there and the hotel was nearly full. This led to some congestion with the lifts and breakfast was served in a large conference room/ballroom in the basement with 100's of conference attendees. It was like a boarding school!!

Surely non conference guests could have been served in their usual breakfast facility , a smart ground floor restaurant?

That being said , should we ever revisit Barcelona , we would stay at the Princess Sofia again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We as a party of four adults and two children nine and eleven years old,chose the Hotel because of the location being near to the Barcelona football stadium and a 5star rating.We were visiting Barcelona for only the second time,the first time was on a Cruise with Royal Caribean,where we spent just a day on a Tour.We said at the time we should come back as the City looked beautiful.On arrival to the Princess Sofia we were welcomed by the front of house staff who were very pleasant.we booked in and were shown to our rooms.With there being two family's the Hotel had given us adjoining rooms,which was very thoughtful.The interia of the rooms were what you would expect from a 5star hotel,very nice.we ate in the Hotel which was of a very high standard.With there being two boys we All made use of the pool and sun terrace.The staff throughout were very pleasant and professional.We would use this Hotel again and recommend it.The tour buses and Metro are 5 minutes away.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barrington M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My brother stayed there some 3 years ago and enjoyed very much. Through the hotel website there was a promotional code that turned the hotel rate to less than 100 euros.So I booked it and have no regrets.
Location is not perfect but Barcelona subway service is very good and the nearest staion is just a 5 min walk from the hotel.
The spacious Room was always very clean when we arrived at night .Breakfast buffet was very good.Fitness center was outstanding with a fully equipped gym and a 20m swimming pool.
I had to use the business center to print the Sagrada Familia reservation voucher and it worked very well.
Every hotel staff personnel we had to deal with was very very friendly and informative.For sure We would come back in case of a new visit to Barcelona!
Things that need to improve are internet connection and TV channels options(very few good channels)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Spent weekend at Princess Sofia, it was amazing hotel, the staff were friendly, location was perfect. Easy access to city center, tram and underground few mins walk from hotel. Camp nou is 5mins walk. It cost 25Euros from air port by taxi. 10-12euros to la rambla. To top it up, we get to see Messi in the Hotel. He was the Guest, incredible. The SPA facilities are great, the message therapist is exceptional. All in all we had pleasant stay, thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Spent 1 night here, as it's really close to Nou Camp, which was the reason for staying. It's a grand hotel but needs modernising..... Key fob to room finally worked after 20 attempts, antiquated bathroom had a ghastly shower curtain that got sucked into the shower area when used. I'm sure using the bath would have been fine. Bed & pillows ok.
Friendly staff throughout, good restaurant/bar on the ground floor, also great breakfast spread in a vast room 2 floors below reception (once I found it, as I couldn't see any signs... )
Added bonus - Barcelona football team walked through heading for lunch there before their game - I guess that's a good advertisement for the cuisine ?!
Perfect location for Nou Camp - that's it's claim to fame

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Staff were very helpful. Stayed in the club room. The rooms were very comfortable. Hotel was very clean and tidy. Would certainly give a five star rating, worth the money. Would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Level 16 and upwards were the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vino V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#137 of 512 in Barcelona
787 reviews
Les Corts
Catalonia Rigoletto
Catalonia Rigoletto
#203 of 512 in Barcelona
564 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Residence
Majestic Residence
#326 of 512 in Barcelona
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
#244 of 512 in Barcelona
324 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#139 of 512 in Barcelona
2,301 reviews
Hotel Upper Diagonal
#49 of 512 in Barcelona
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia

Property: Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
Address: Plaza Pio XII 4, 08034 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first 5* hotel in the city, this emblematic luxury retreat forms part of the history of Barcelona and bristles with tales around national and international royalty and important figures from the world of politics, culture and entertainment who have been amongst its guests. Perfectly located on the famous Avinguda Diagonal - in the noble financial district of the city - it is only a 5 minute walk away from Camp Nou football stadium, home of the legendary FC Barcelona, and a mere 12km from the airport. Its 500 timelessly elegant rooms are all exterior-facing and offer - from the 9th floor up - magnificent panoramic views of the Catalan capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princesa Sofia
Princess Sofia Barcelona
Princess Sofia Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing