We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
Ranked #116 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a long weekend away in Barcelona, first thing to say is that it was very quick and easy to get to the hotel by taxi cost 21 euros. The hotel itself is a modern tower hotel with everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel ( I would say though that it is probably a 4 star in the UK ). Its location well that depends what you are in Barcelona for if it is business, shopping or going to watch Barca then you will not get a better location. If you are there to spend the evenings strolling The Ramblas then this will involve either a trip on the Metro or a Taxi. We found the Metro to be convient, cheap and regular it took (10 mins) to The Ramblas which to be honest was no inconvienence. There are some eating places locally to the hotel but not that great. Overall for what we paid and the standard of the accomodation this was a good choice for our weekend in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand the heating controls in the room we found ours to be a little tempremental...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMcK1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    577
    241
    83
    30
See reviews for
338
435
92
532
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is amazing, and a wonderfully relaxed, friendly and clean . Reception staff are very helpful (Greetings for Ewelina ) and the room housekeeping showed quite exceptional attention to detail. We loved our stay here and hope to return soon ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia_282013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The gran hotel princesa sofia is quite a good place to stay; very friendly staff, clean, spacy and easy access to metro (5 mn) direct lane to Placa Catalunya the Downtown (15mn); close to nice cafes and good restaurants
I highly recommend

Room Tip: there are no preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I would recommend staying in this hotel, particularly if you can get a good rate. The hotel definitely targets the business market and have a strong focus on healthy living. They offer healthy meal options, excellent health and fitness facilities, etc - which can also be good if you've been on a holiday-induced diet and exercise hiatus...

The location is a short drive from the inner city area, but not in the 'boondocks' by any stretch of the imagination. We caught taxis to the sights and they weren't expensive, we were also a bit travel-fatigued and unwell so eating in the hotel was very appealing and it didn't matter to us that we weren't in the thick of it. If you're wanting a wide selection of shops, cafes, etc, then somewhere closer in will be better for you.

The hotel has a lovely lobby area as you would expect for a large five star chain hotel. There is a reasonable lounge bar area where the service is excellent and a it is great spot for unwinding. I had the pizza there one night and it wasn't great: swimming in cheese (over a centimetre thick) and not a lot of flavour. The restaurant dinner was not the best but certainly edible (tasty pasta with a pool of oil at the bottom) - but I don't expect much in these sorts of hotels. We had the buffet breakfast on two mornings and it was really quite good, though the coffee was awful one morning and okay the next.

Depending on the room you get, sometimes use of the fully equipped gym is included, otherwise it's just the mini-gym. The fully equipped gym was great with a full range of cardio and strength training equipment similar to many stand-alone gyms. It would be better if there were some fans in there though.

Service throughout the hotel was really outstanding, definitely five star. The staff on reception and the bar deserve a special mention, they were all brilliant.

The room was nice enough and quite large, maybe a tiny bit tired, but no rusty fittings or any real problems like some other reviewers.

Overall, it was only the dinner experiences that stopped me rating this place five stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Well, can talk a lot. Simply an excellent, 5 minute walk from Camp Nou. One thing to be mentioned, it is Pedro the Concierge. A very friendly guy, with excellent knowledge of what is going around, and if you plan to visit Barcelona, I strongly recommend this hotel, and talk to Perdo, he is a great help. Our kids liked him a lot. In general, the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed this hotel for 6 nights. The hotel shouldn't be rated five stars. It should be at most four stars.

The room is OK but they did not have rooms with a king-sized bed unless it is deluxe rooms. Breakfast was so-so. You don't want to have the same breakfast for six days unless the quality of foods is good. But after two days, we were fed up with the food.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sunggook P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you are a supporter of FC Barcelona & planning to have a vacation to see them live on their home ground "Camp Nou" then this is the hotel for you to surely stay in. It is close to everything, walking distance from the stadium & all main transport. This is surely the Hotel for you!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#137 of 512 in Barcelona
785 reviews
Les Corts
Catalonia Rigoletto
Catalonia Rigoletto
#203 of 512 in Barcelona
564 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Residence
Majestic Residence
#326 of 512 in Barcelona
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
#244 of 512 in Barcelona
324 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#139 of 512 in Barcelona
2,301 reviews
Hotel Upper Diagonal
#49 of 512 in Barcelona
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia

Property: Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
Address: Plaza Pio XII 4, 08034 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first 5* hotel in the city, this emblematic luxury retreat forms part of the history of Barcelona and bristles with tales around national and international royalty and important figures from the world of politics, culture and entertainment who have been amongst its guests. Perfectly located on the famous Avinguda Diagonal - in the noble financial district of the city - it is only a 5 minute walk away from Camp Nou football stadium, home of the legendary FC Barcelona, and a mere 12km from the airport. Its 500 timelessly elegant rooms are all exterior-facing and offer - from the 9th floor up - magnificent panoramic views of the Catalan capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princesa Sofia
Princess Sofia Barcelona
Princess Sofia Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing