We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and average service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
Ranked #118 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good location and average service”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 4. We watched the great Mach (Barcelona vs Baladoveled).
The hotel was very close to Barcelona club, so it was very smooth to be on time there. The room is average, the hotel is old style and the location was perfect.
You can find so many POI close to the hotel, i e: Bokeria Market (the traditional vegetable market), the main street and the port of bacelona).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khadim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    577
    241
    83
    30
See reviews for
338
435
92
532
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just returned from sunny Barcelona to rainy London after a lovely three night break at the Princesa Sofia. There is much to recommend about this hotel. I booked due to its close proximity to Camp Nou stadium as I was attending the Barcelona vs Espanyol match and it exceeded my expectations. From the moment I was booked in (and out) by the friendly and very pretty girl on the front desk, I felt very much at home. There is an excellent breakfast selection with hot American style breakfast, cereals, delicious freshly baked pastries and more - with the added advantage that breakfast runs to 11am. I stayed in a comfort double room which featured a large and luxurious bathroom with toilet, bidet, sink, shower, towelling robes and generous amenities. The room included a desk with a selection of sockets for all plug types which is a nice touch if you have forgotten to bring an adaptor. The TV offers a wide selection of digital and analogue channels though mostly in Spanish understandably. I had a later flight on my final day and the staff were very happy to look after my bag in a locked room while I went out to marvel at La Sagrida Familia and a few other sights I had missed. Camp Nou is literally five minutes away from the hotel; first, immediate left out as you head to the nearby Palau Reial Metro stop. Match tickets are available on the Barcelona official website and can be helpfully downloaded onto a printable PDF to take to the stadium turnstiles. Check out the fantastic Camp Nou Experience (stadium and museum) tour while you are there. Buy a 10-trip Metro ticket for 9.80 Euros to see the city's sights though the turnstiles can be confusing. Just watch a local pass through and follow their lead rather than be charged for an extra journey. A taxi to the hotel costs 25-30 Euros not including tip and I would recommend this method rather than the airport train which can be unsafe for tourists. I had a lovely stay and will definitely be back at the Princesa Sofia next time I am in Barcelona to watch the great Lionel Messi, Andres Iniesta, Xavi and company.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I booked this hotel for a three night break as it offered everything I was looking for: good location close to a metro stop, swimming pool, nice well equipped bedrooms. We could see Nou Camp from our bedroom window, and it was only a short walk there and well worth visiting. The tour bus stopped very near the hotel too, and this was an excellent way to get your bearings and have an audio tour of all the places of interest in beautiful Barcelona. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. There was a conference on at the hotel when we were there and so the breakfast room was very busy as you would expect. My only gripe is that no member of staff advised us that there was plenty of avaialable tables in the beer garden area, as we wandered around with our breakfasts going cold. The staff should have directed people to that area which also had continental buffet food laid out on the terrace. Only a minor point. Apart from that the hotel was lovely, clean with helpful staff and had a nice bar area to have a cocktail before setting off into Barcelona for the evening. Would definitely return if I travel to Barcelona again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiedoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was there for the end of the year 2012 with my wife for three nights.
The location is on Avenida diagonal a little far from the middle of the town (Piazza Catalonya) but in 5 minutes you can go at Maria Cristina underground metro station and after 9 stop you are in the middle of the town. (about 8-10 minutes).
The Hotel is very beatiful, the staff is perfect and multilingual. The breackfast buffet very rich and good. The rooms are large and very comfortables. The price in respect of the quality is very good for a 5 star hotel.For sure i will go again if i go in Barcellona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lio056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palamos, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I went to this restaurant for bussines proposes a couple of times during december. They have a full peninsular assortment of food to choose and repead as many times as you want. The food is fresh, large salad combinations, and amazing dissert table. You can select the fresh fish and meat while they cook it before you.
I strongly recoment if seeing before eating is your desire for unforgettable place and environment. Art on the walls is exquisit and the hotel hall is amazing too. It is common to see Ferrari cars parked at the entrance.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LSJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was on a business trip in Barcelona and stayed 1 night in Princessa Sofia hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, all speaking English well. The hotel is beautiful, very nice atmosphere and very clean. Wonderful buffet where price quality is excellent. The house-wine was fabulous.
The location is nice, but in business environment. You have to take taxi, metro or bus to go to center. Slept like a princessa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erikaAlkmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice large, clean comfortable room, great staff, all in all very good hotel, will use again.

Very close to Camp Nou

Amazing views from the top floor, 19 floors.

Superb breakfast, huge choice of good fresh food, hot & cold buffet

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Catalonia Rigoletto
Catalonia Rigoletto
#166 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#136 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Stadium
NH Barcelona Stadium
#202 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
#244 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#170 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Residence
Majestic Residence
#337 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia

Property: Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia
Address: Plaza Pio XII 4, 08034 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first 5* hotel in the city, this emblematic luxury retreat forms part of the history of Barcelona and bristles with tales around national and international royalty and important figures from the world of politics, culture and entertainment who have been amongst its guests. Perfectly located on the famous Avinguda Diagonal - in the noble financial district of the city - it is only a 5 minute walk away from Camp Nou football stadium, home of the legendary FC Barcelona, and a mere 12km from the airport. Its 500 timelessly elegant rooms are all exterior-facing and offer - from the 9th floor up - magnificent panoramic views of the Catalan capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expo Hoteles, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princesa Sofia
Princess Sofia Barcelona
Princess Sofia Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel Princesa Sofia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing