We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
Ranked #163 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Initially booked another hotel in Barcelona but decided to change to the Eurostars. Glad we did because it is a fabulous hotel, very modern and clean with friendly staff in all areas, not the usual surly spanish we have encountered in other parts of Spain. We asked for an early check in which we didnt get (seems to be impossible as other reviewers have had the same problem) but did get the requested sea view, high floor. Cava and chocolate coated strawberries in the room and a free drink each in the bar were nice touches. Room was excellent. Large and airy, huge bathroom with jacuzzi bath and double sinks but only a hand held shower over the bath, very strange. It was described as a superior room but I think a superior room is their basic room. Breakfast looked nice but cant comment as we didnt eat there as it was £15 each. We had breakfast in the World Trade Centre behind the hotel for £5 each. Did eat dinner there one evening and the service was outstanding. I am a vegetarian and was offered three or four options which were not on the menu. This is very unusual here in England but unheard of in Spain. Cost was what you would expect in a high class restaurant, cant remember exactly how much but it certainly wasnt a rip off. Overall wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel, cost £238 for two nights through Bargainholidays and was well worth it. Suspect it may be cheaper to book directly with the hotel. Location is five minutes walk from Las Ramblas which must be seen. Dozens of street entertainers and cafe bars and restaurants. We had been warned about crime in this area but didnt see any at all, felt very safe wondering round late at night. Tourist bus stopped right outside the hotel and was an ideal way to see Barcelona but be prepared to queue. Overall it was a fabulous weekend break and we wouldnt hesitate to stay at the Marina again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Shower was hand held over bath
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oudec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    733
    230
    94
    90
See reviews for
324
1,013
81
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated, with a closet area and a large bathroom.
Breakfast was good, with a wide variety of sweet and savoury choices.

It's primarily a business hotel and very large, but all in all a good choice. Cannot comment on the price as it was a company trip, but I'm sure it's not cheap.

It's situated at the edge of a 'quay' so be sure to know the way back, otherwise you may find yourself walking a very long way...

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artemis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for one night on July 1st, and were not too impressed. First of all, we could not get our room until 3:30 pm, although we had checked-in at 11:00 in the morning. We had payed 300 euros for a city suite, and were pretty turned off by the reception staff who only found it normal that the room was not cleaned so late in the afternoon?

The room itself was very nice looking, and offered a great view of the city. We went out for dinner, as we are familiar with Barcelona and wanted to go to a special restaurant we enjoy. When we got back around 11:00 pm, we asked if we could order a crema catalana and coffee. It took three staff members and a few phone calls before they finally agreed. And they call this a 5+ star?! We also asked for some information on the shopping tax refund, nobody knew what we were talking about.

We thought this hotel is really for conventions and business travellers. We have traveled quite a bit around the world, and this hotel does not deserve 5+ stars. You can get much better service and attention from lower rated hotels.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie. pa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

We stayed at the hotel for a pre cruise adventure. The Eurostar was very, very nice. However for the price, I thought it could have been better. We paid over 350.00 for one night. The room was on the small side, we usually stay in suite hotels in the states and the carribean. The bathroom was wonderful. I must say this bathroom even beats the best hotels in LasVegas! The staff was very helpful and spoke english w/o problem Great location as well. The costs of the food wayyyy to high. We ventured out about a 5 min walk and came to a great cafe' with wonderful food, and cheep. It looked like the locals ate there. We found Barcelona to be very safe, and the area around the hotel appeared to be fine as well. We had an inside room and about 2 am, the night club let out and the noise was very loud, for about 1 hour. We had a good say, but again, for the price, I did expect more.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coldinerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

stayed there recently with some friends, fine hotel, helpful staff, nice rooms, & good service. Location is failry central but away from the madness. Views from some rooms are stunning

Only downside as far as I could see is that the pool is tiny, so dont expect to be doing many laps

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank MACTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

This is a very good hotel. Overlooking the port with nice balconies I suggest u got a room with city view. It is much better.
We arrived there. Lobby was really nice, however, the receptionists had a huge problem with their English. Very poor language skills. Quite jolly people. Went to our room (just a standard one). It was very stylish and big. Bathroom was nice and balcony was very pleasant overlooking the city. Quite centrally located (not right in the centre but not too bad either) this is one of the nice hotels in the area. Don t forget to visit the lovely bar and the exterior toward the world trade centre.
Just a tip. We went end of May. Website shows a lovely air lounge with a swimming pool. In fact there was nothing up there (dont know whther it was too early) apart from the pool and some lounges. Good facilities, gym etc, however no towels provided ot any staff present.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kyrikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
269 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2006

Flown some 18 hours from Singapore into Barcelona, and spent two nights from 4 - 6 May in the Eurostars Grand Marina, under its Celebration Package - a Deluxe room with free breakfasts, water, fruits, Cava wine, Casino entrance tickets. Our requests for an earlier check in was not met with, and only allowed to check in at 2pm. However, other requests for a higher floor, quiet room with superb ocean views was met with, thus quite happy.

Room was huge, with a closet area, balcony area and a huge bath room. Everything is modern and yet functional in the room. Breakfast was even better than the 5 star Ritz in Madrid - with the widest selection of bread, cakes, cold cuts, fruits, hams, eggs. And the lounge area, which is just outside the breakfast area, has Wi-fi, which allows free internet access! Just bring your own laptop and you are connected to the world.

The only downside I found is, the closest subway is a good 10 minutes walk away. If you are fresh in the early morning, having rested well the night before, its fine. Otherwise, it would just be taking taxis whenever you want to go out or coming back. Fortunately, unlike Madrid, taxis are in abundance in Barcelona, and the charges are reasonable, too.

Currently, in May 2006, the cable car in Montjuic is under repairs. After the tram ride, it is advisable to take a taxi up to the Montjuic Castle, otherwise, you would have to spend the next 20-25 minutes, climbing up a hill. The Castle is, however, nothing much to see but the views at the top, are to die for. So for the next few months in 2006, for those wanting to travel up the Montjuic, be forewarned.

Lastly, most guidebooks would recommend to take a train to Vallcarca station to visit Parc Guell. However, its a long and tiring climb up a hill (though there are escalators along some sections), then down the down hill again, before you can finally visit Parc Guell from its back. This is the most silly way to visit, we thought, very cumbersome and tiring indeed. The best way would be to take a cab, which is inexpensive, directly to the Parc's main entrance, that's it!

Overall, loved Barcelona for its fresh Mediterranean air, and stunning ocean views. Most importantly, unlike in Madrid, the place is not overly crowded and taxis are easily hailed from the street. Good Barcelona stay indeed.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#119 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#93 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,047 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#51 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
#190 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#178 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars BCN Design
Eurostars BCN Design
#325 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel

Property: Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
Address: Moll de Barcelona s/n, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#115 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean surrounding, Avant-garde Art and a soft sea Breeze envelope the privileged facilities at the Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel ***** GL. It is located in the World Trade Centre - leisure and business Complex in the middle of Barcelona's Old Harbour. The colourful Ramblas street and the magic of the Gothic Quarter make the perfect match for a unique feeling which is to be experienced from any of the eight floors of our magnificent Hotel. Both businessmen & women and leisure tourists will find in the Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel a wonderful place to enjoy a perfect stay, surrounded by every possible amenity and comfort. An excellent communications network that connects the Hotel to the Old Town and to the Financial District simply adds that little extra to a truly luxurious offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Marina Barcelona
Hotel Eurostars Grand Marina
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing