We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-stars? Really?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
Ranked #190 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel was pretty nice - and the rooms are larger than you expect in Europe - but I expected much more since it was listed as a 5-star hotel and fairly expensive. We encountered friendly staff who spoke English well, which was nice, but I would compare this hotel to a Hilton or Marriott in terms of furnishing. It's in the marina where the cruise ships pull in, so there's a lot of activity. It's a short walk to La Rambla, and you can catch those double-decker tour buses just outside the hotel. Overall, a pleasant stay but I expected more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,264)
There are newer reviews for Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week. We were upgraded to a superior room (615) with the most fantastic view over the harbour and the city. Our teenage children had a room with balcony looking over the city. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. They were all happy to give restaurant recommendations and shopping advice. The pool on the roof is not really big enough for swimming but great after a long day out sightseeing and the roof area/pool/gym is a lovely place to relax. We had room service once and found the food very good and service very prompt. The buffet breakfast was excellent and it was also possible to order omelettes, poached eggs and speciality coffees. The food was a little expensive and drinks at the bar overpriced but I suppose that's to be expected at a hotel of this sort. But that is a minor complaint.

The hotel is in a great location, 10 mins walk from Las Ramblas or the marina. Also all the open top tour buses stop right outside hotel. Great holiday and great hotel. Would be very happy to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms are all large and have very comfortable beds with a pillow menu! All bathrooms have jacuzzi b...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightnBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Arrived at 0900 and room was ready. Friendly staff who spoke English well. Very modern lobby and large guest rooms with a huge bathroom. Hop on Hop off buses stop right outside. Ice is extra $. Bed was VERY comfortable. It was only a 15 min walk to the start of Las Ramblas and it was great being able to get away from the tourist sections and retire to some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel located at the habour, not far from La Rambla. Hotel has a very high service level in all areas. Rooms have a very nice view to habour or city, rooms are very comfortable and very big. Bathrooms was equipped with jacuzzi and nice big shower area. On the roof there is a small pool area. Restaurant is very nice, with good prices and very good atmosphere. Breakfast buffet is very good and service excellent. Very good parking posibilities in the basement of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Th following describe the experience my wife and I had upon arrival at the Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel in Barcelona. We arrived at about 2:00pm and the reception desk was staffed by 5 employees all clustered together at the right side corner of the Reception Desk chit chatting amongst themselves and ignoring my wife and I altogether. After waiting few minutes with no one paying any attention to us, I addressed the group and asked how long will it take us to check in?. Only then did anyone notice us and proceeded to pick up our reservation (made by our travel Agent at Pro Travel in NY) and began to process our check-in. I provided my gold Amex card and was immediately billed for the full stay in the hotel. On this trip to Spain my wife and I stayed in 3 other hotels, none billed us up front and never have I been billed up front in any hotel in Europe, Asia North America or Latin America.
The person handling our reception fumbled with the credit card machine and was unable to process the card. So he called on a colleague for assistance. When the credit card was finally swept through correctly the incompetent person checking us in ripped of the printed receipt too soon handing us only ½ of the receipt while the other ½ was still being printed. So far for the unpleasant welcome to this hotal.

The hot water is so hot it scolded my hands when I went to wash them.

Finally as we were leaving the hotel, and having paid in full upon our arrival, I decided anyway to stop by the reception desk just to make sure we are fully paid. The person at the reception desk checked and told us that although we paid for the room we need to be charged separately for the hotel tax which for some reason was not included in the initial charge. So we settled the hotel tax and were glad to get away to our next stop in Spain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the port
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yigal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went for a long weekend, loved Barcelona will go back again very soon, but I was not impressed this hotel even though was it very convenient the receptionist (blonde girl face like a bulldog chewing a wasp, so miserable) was soooooo rude when I went to the desk she just put her arm out and said move along Ma'am,she didn't even look at me even the other receptionist was shocked ! Our room was very nice, lovely big bathroom good view of the marina, but no tea or coffee making facilities which I was not impressed with, there's a mini bar though so obviously they want you to spend money there instead. The rooftop pool wasn't in use when we went (June) they said it was because it was cold, I thought it was warm but not to worry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diyqueen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in the Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel during a 4-days-trip to Barcelona in March 2013. The location of the hotel is very convenient, it is right at the old port and a good 5 minutes walk from the beginning of Las Ramblas (where you can also find a tourist information). In order to get to different quarters of the city (such as for a visit of the Sagrada Familia) one can use the subway at Las Ramblas; the hotel now also offers bikes for rent (which was not the case when we were there) which is an excellent way to avoid excessively sore feet as there is so much to see in Barcelona.

One more tip when you arrive at the airport: It's more convenient to get to the hotel by taxi, as the shuttle bus is extremely crowded, does not always stop where it is supposed to (which leaves you stranded with your bags somewhere in the city) and is not that much cheaper than a taxi.

We had a superior room on one of the upper floors with a view on the harbour which was a real treat - when you wake up to a clear blue sky and can see the huge cruise ships as well as part of the architecture of Barcelona, this is a good start into the day.

The rooms themselves were quite nice, modern with all necessary amenities, quiet as well (we never had trouble sleeping) and well cleaned every day. Of course there are larger rooms available (deluxe rooms or suites), but if like us you're mainly in Barcelona to discover the city and don't do more than sleeping in the hotel this will probably not really bother you.

We also quite liked the hotel's interior architecture, already the lobby is quite modern and spacious with lots of light. You can feel that Barcelona is a place where people take architecture quite seriously....!

The service was very good as well, the staff was always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent too, lots of choice and a nice setting (also on a terrace).

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much and would not hesitate to book it again - which we certainly will as it was not our last stay in Barcelona.

Room Tip: View on the harbour recommended, upper floors have a nicer view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpina_B3_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#118 of 513 in Barcelona
2,399 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#114 of 513 in Barcelona
6,361 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#63 of 513 in Barcelona
4,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
#155 of 513 in Barcelona
999 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
2,520 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars BCN Design
Eurostars BCN Design
#341 of 513 in Barcelona
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel

Address: Moll de Barcelona s/n, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $167 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean surrounding, Avant-garde Art and a soft sea Breeze envelope the privileged facilities at the Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel ***** GL. It is located in the World Trade Centre - leisure and business Complex in the middle of Barcelona's Old Harbour. The colourful Ramblas street and the magic of the Gothic Quarter make the perfect match for a unique feeling which is to be experienced from any of the eight floors of our magnificent Hotel. Both businessmen & women and leisure tourists will find in the Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel a wonderful place to enjoy a perfect stay, surrounded by every possible amenity and comfort. An excellent communications network that connects the Hotel to the Old Town and to the Financial District simply adds that little extra to a truly luxurious offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Marina Barcelona
Hotel Eurostars Grand Marina
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing