We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, a perfect hotel in an amazing city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
Ranked #189 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were amazing and convieniently close to Las Ramblas
The bar was a bit on the pricy side and one needed a mortgage to get a g&t but the ambiance made up for it.
Breakfast was again flawless including soya milk and other speciality dietary items.
All of the staff were very attentive and seemed more than happy to help and advise
There are great views from the hotel roof terrace and the rooms

All in all well worth the stay

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig0austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,265)
There are newer reviews for Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

This Hotel is perfectly located to get into town and sightsee or choose a nice resterant to eat in, the hotel is lovely and clean rooms are big and ours was a corner room with views over the marina would go and stay again anytime superb

Room Tip: the corner one we had had lovely views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela186230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This trip to Barcelona came up rather last minute and my favorite hotel was sold out. I thought it would be fun to stay near the water, and envisioned a weekend enjoying the sun & water and the hotel (since I've been to Barcelona before I was not as keen to explore the sights.)

But the hotel felt like staying in an empty convention center, or in a multi-tiered parking garage. No one around except half a dozen docked cruise ships. and all night, you can hear the cruise ship announcements to their passengers on loud speakers.

The rooftop pool was a disappointment, no shade, no hip pool bar (as I've experienced in other Barcelona roof top pools.) It, too, was rather like just being in the sun on top of a parking garage. (See photo.)

That said, the room was large & clean, the staff friendly and responsive. It just wasn't the luxury retreat I was looking for -- or that I paid for (the place isn't cheap, for parking garage ambience!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H2where
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you have read any of my other reviews, you will know that I consider myself to be a savvy traveler, well versed in all classes of travel and I feel I have reasonable expectations dependent on the trip, venues or countries visited and the price paid.

I know Barcelona well. It is a frequent stop for me on business. On this trip, I had a full day in the city (Thanks to early flight arrivals from the US) and so wanted to be somewhere central.

One thing in Barcelona. Very, very few hotels are truly central. (To where most people want to be - Las Ramblas area). There are a few hotels on Las Ramblas and Plaza Catalunya, but for the same price, you can get a much higher grade hotel, a mere five minute walk away. It is all about what is important to you.

I picked the Grand Marina, having never stayed there before, but knowing where it was. It is a five minute spritley walk from the hotel to the Christopher Columbus Statue at the bottom of Las Ramblas. (Or a 10 - 15 minute stroll) During the day, a nice relief. Las Ramblas can be crazy busy. The negative of this though was walking back to the hotel after dark, the area from Las Ramblas to the hotel is very, very quiet and kind of eerie. If I was a single female, I may not have felt so comfortable.

On the location, a previous poster talked about being able to walk to the cruise ship dock from the hotel. That is true for some. The boutique cruise ships can dock at the World Trade Center, next to the hotel. The day that I arrived, Azamara and CDF were docked there. These are smaller ships. If you are sailing with mainstream lines such as Norwegian or Royal Caribbean, the pier is a 10 minute ride away and you should expect to pay $10 - $20, depending on the number of cases you have.

So... the hotel. the lobby area is very bland, but check-in was efficient. I was able to get a room at 9.30am, after an early flight arrival, which is always a blessing.

The room was very nice. Some upholstery was worn and strangely, there was about an inch-wide strip of the hardwood floor missing from near to the entrance door, and the skirting board was badly damaged too. Not a disaster, but not a detail I would expect to be overlooked in a 5 star property.

The room was of a good size and very well laid out. I had a room on the 4th floor, overlooking the courtyard at the back, but that really didn't bother me at all. The room is not set up around the view and there are chairs in front of the windows, so I never even opened the curtains fully.

The bathroom is delightful. Very large and marble-lined everywhere. A decent sized jacuzzi tub (That took 20 minutes to fill) double sinks and a closed off side room with the shower cubicle, toilet and bidet.

The TV in the room had English-language news channels (mostly from the US) and also an English-language entertainment channel from Fox, showing dramas from all of the US networks.

Having stayed many times in Spain, one thing I never get used to is what they consider to be luxury linens. The bed and pillows were comfortable, but very firm, and the sheets were well starched. The bedding was also an old-fashioned bedspread. The bathroom towels were also not what you would be used to in a high-end US hotel, but, as I said, this is what you come to expect in Spain.

Overall... the main three things I rate a hotel on (These items should be the same if it is a $20 or $200 hotel room) were good:

Wifi : Free and fast. I was able to update apps on my iPad with no worries. You do need a code, a different one for each device, so if you have multiple devices, make sure you get the codes at check in.
Shower: Hot water and good water pressure. It was a good shower experience!
Bed: Firm, which I like, but comfortable.

I did the breakfast buffet, open from 7am on the mezzanine floor. The charge was 25 euro. You did get a lot of choices, the hot food wasn't super-hot, but it was OK. Overall, it was no different to what you get at the breakfast buffet on a cruise ship. Some reviewers went over-the-top, in my opinion, on their review of this buffet. It was nice, not amazing. Strangely, there were no bagels, except for ones ready prepared with smoked salmon in. The coffee, as noted on previous reviews, was disgusting. Tasteless sludge. Also, you can request eggs prepared as you wish (There was a menu card on the table), but fried and scrambled eggs were in the buffet already.

Again, as is previously noted, the mini-bar is ridiculously overpriced. I expect a mark-up on these items, but the cost of everything was 5 times what it would be outside the hotel. They are playing on the fact that there is nowhere to buy drinks or snacks within a quick walk.

So, overall, I would give the hotel a 9/10.
This hotel would be a solid 4 star in the US.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel is in great position but breakfast was all cold and coffee awful not really anything special for a 5 star I would look elsewhere for better value.Tip go round the corner for coffee and anything to eat in the world trade centre better food and drinks for a fraction of the hotel prices

Room Tip: We had best room in hotel supposedly but the chocolate strawberries and cava did not make it worth 4...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jaromir S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#118 of 513 in Barcelona
2,401 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#114 of 513 in Barcelona
6,361 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
4,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
#160 of 513 in Barcelona
1,000 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
2,520 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars BCN Design
Eurostars BCN Design
#342 of 513 in Barcelona
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel

Address: Moll de Barcelona s/n, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#91 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $172 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean surrounding, Avant-garde Art and a soft sea Breeze envelope the privileged facilities at the Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel ***** GL. It is located in the World Trade Centre - leisure and business Complex in the middle of Barcelona's Old Harbour. The colourful Ramblas street and the magic of the Gothic Quarter make the perfect match for a unique feeling which is to be experienced from any of the eight floors of our magnificent Hotel. Both businessmen & women and leisure tourists will find in the Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel a wonderful place to enjoy a perfect stay, surrounded by every possible amenity and comfort. An excellent communications network that connects the Hotel to the Old Town and to the Financial District simply adds that little extra to a truly luxurious offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Marina Barcelona
Hotel Eurostars Grand Marina
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing