We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, helpful owners.”
Review of Pensio 2000

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pensio 2000
Ranked #125 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Excellent location, helpful owners.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent location for exploring all the Barrio Gotico (or old neighborhood) of winding little streets and so many sights. Near metro stations. Clean, safe, cozy. The owner was especially helpful in many ways. He helped us buy our Sagrada Familia tickets online which was a boon. Highly recommend this if you can walk up 2 flights of stairs. Be sure to let him know if you plan to leave early in the AM.! The day we had to leave he hadn't arrived yet. But we had his cell phone, and all turned out well. (Had to pay the bill.)

Room Tip: We had a room near the reception; but,suffered absolutely NO noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    59
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
62
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A good value location ideal for exploring the old city and getting to the many sites around Barcelona. You can walk almost anywhere from here. Facilities are unique, clean, inviting & comfortable. Located steps from Palau de la musica, restaurants, transit and shops. Owners are friendly and very helpful but do not stay on site late evenings or overnight. Breakfast can be arranged but there are many options within minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WisdomExchangeTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We 've spent very good time in this cosy pension;small but very original and very clean and the most important, the owners are so friendly and funny; we really love to discuss with them; the location is no1:we admired every day the Palau de la musica, such a gem!Close to everything, quite convenient. It is not easy to find a room for 3( an additional bed for our daughter) and this is a perfect solution if you need another bed; we had 2 rooms and private bath, super. THANKS FOR THE SERVICE and hope we will return to visit again Barcelona which is so beautiful.

Room Tip: the room opposite to the terrace and 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heitz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pensio 2000 is situated close to two major metro stations, Plaza Cataluyna, multiple bus stops and a taxi stand making it very easy to get to and from. The helpful owners gave us a map and lots of tips about safety and what to do so we were able to walk for miles around Barcelona and catch the metro without any hassle. The rooms are secure - there are three doors to get up to the room so we felt very safe. Our room was huge and had a view out to Palau de le musica Catalonia. The other downside was the pump operated toilet or maybe the drain in the bathroom had a bad smell coming out of it all the time - not a big deal though. Also there is no lift and a few flights of stairs - fine if you have some muscles - our host kindly offered to carry my bag down for me. The room was surprisingly quiet because of the shutters and double windows. Extras: free hot drinks, muffins, purified water, magazines and board games to borrow and a sunny terrace to sit on. Great place to stay and value for money!

Room Tip: Room 4 is nice - it is on the corner facing the Palau de musica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzkiwicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice small pension just near the Palau de la musica (you must visit it). Easy going to the Barrio gotico (5 min) Placa de Catalunya (5 min), underground next door. Friendly owners, small but clean room, breakfast on the terrace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pensiò 2000 is located just in front of the Palau de la musica catalana, a masterpiece of catalan modernism. The Barrio gotico and the Eixample (where the Pedrera and Casa Batllo are located) are easy to reach.
The Pensio 2000 itself is very nice and cosy. Our room was big enough for two people and the bathroom was clean. The staff was polite and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alakazum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian in rural Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was a very good B&B, with a great location, right next to Palau de Musica, one of the main tourist attractions of Barcelona, and a block to the Cathedral, right in the heart of Barri Gotic. It was also only a 5 minute walk to Placa Catalunya, a main shopping precinct, and where La Rambla started/finished, and one of the main stops for both Airport buses (which go every 10 minutes in peak times, and every 15-20 mins late in the evening and very early in the morning). The metro was a 2 minute walk, so it was easy to get to from both the airport and to access all the metro stations. Wherever one stays in Barcelona, it is necessary to take the metro at some stage, as the main tourist sights are quite scattered over the city.

It was also very convenient for restaurants and tapas bars, with several bar/restaurants in the square itself (no outside tables), and numerous others close by. Ask Orlando for suggestions. There is one of the best tapas bars in the Cathedral square close by, Bilbao Berria, but be warned, it gets very crowded.

Access was by stairs, no lift, so beware if this is a problem (it wasn't for us). We didn't have a car so can't comment on parking, though it would be possible to drive to the pensio to drop off bags for a short while, but not to park in the Placa itself. The Pensio is no-smoking, which is wonderful, no stale cigarette smell.

The room was well furnished but not luxurious, with a double bed (I think), bedside tables with good lighting, cupboard and small table for two, where it was possible to have breakfast if preferred. There was no refrigerator in the room and not sure about A/C, but as we were there in early June, we did not need that. The balcony was small, so it would not have been possible to sit there, but was nice to be able to access. There was double glazing to keep the noise out, though you must remember that this is Barcelona, and with people out most nights till late, it can be quite noisy. Our first evening there was a Sunday evening, when there was a performance and the square was crowded, but only with people talking, not drinking. There was no traffic noise.

The bathroom was small, the shower was a bit old, and the towels were a bit worn, but there was the usual complement of shampoos, soaps, etc, and hairdrier. There seemed to be plenty of hot water, though there was a reminder to not waste water. No bidet, if that is a concern (we didn't care).

Breakfast was an extra 5 euro and had to be ordered by the afternoon before. There was a choice of 5 different menus. Coffee/tea + muesli + fruit OR + toast & jams OR + croissant & jams OR+ macrobiotic rice cakes of some sort OR+ cake. We had the muesli fruit option plus coffee, and must say, the muesli was very good, no added sugar, all wholesome nuts and cereals and dried fruit. I drink decaf, and this was the nescafe variety, which was fine with me. You could have probably got a slightly cheaper brekkie deal by going to one of the bars downstairs if you preferred. Breakfast was served from 9, so if you needed to leave earlier, this was a problem (but of course, later breakfast times are fairly typical everywhere in Spain).

The Pensio was marketed as being like your home, so there was a largish lounge with TV, sofas, bookcases, with boardgames, magazines etc. for guest use. There was a refrigerator cabinet with a variety of drinks available (but no beer or wine) for purchase, and complimentary coffee/tea/snacks (muffins) whenever you wanted. Also water cooler for guest use. The internal courtyard area with plants, shade cloth and outside tables was also for guest use, but only until 8 at night, when it was locked for security reasons. Both the lounge and courtyard were very pleasant, though we didn't use them and we never actually saw anyone using them. There was also a computer and printer set up for guest use, which was great for printing out any prebooked tickets (many sights in Barcelona can and should be prebooked to avoid the long queues at almost any time of year). Wifi was free and although Orlando thought that the signal strength would not be very good in our room as it was the furthest away, we had no problems with the connection at any time (the signal strength was always very good and never dropped out).

Orlando and Manuela were very attentive hosts, with lots of information, which they were happy to share. Whenever we needed help, they were always able to suggest good restaurants, bars, tapas, which was the best travel option, how to get to the airport, what sights to see, etc. We had a problem with our booking for La Sagrada Familia, and Orlando help us to sort that out by paying for the booking with his credit card. They were on site every morning from 8.30 till about 12, and then from about 3 until 8, and then could be contacted by free phone at any time, as they lived very close by.

Security was very good, with security cameras on the building itself as Barcelona has quite a problem with pickpockets. We were warned by Orlando and at various restaurants to be alert and never to leave valuables unsecured, but we had no problems. We were also warned to make sure that we locked up when we entered the building, which was shared with a music school on the first floor, and other tenants, but there were never any problems.

Must comment on the music school downstairs. The lessons included piano, flute, choir, xylophone and drums - it was lovely to listen to the music, even the drum lesson. It was never intrusive and the lessons were always finished by about 8/9 at night.

Price was about 100 euro a night, which for Barcelona is good value.

Room Tip: We had a double room, no 5, at the end of the corridor overlooking a small laneway, with a small bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank learningitalianat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#51 of 513 in Barcelona
486 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#35 of 308 in Barcelona
452 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#32 of 728 in Barcelona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Pension 45
Pension 45
#268 of 308 in Barcelona
157 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#16 of 308 in Barcelona
301 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Pension Francia
Pension Francia
#223 of 308 in Barcelona
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensio 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensio 2000

Property: Pensio 2000
Address: C/ Sant Pere mes Alt 6, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pensio 2000 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensio 2000 Hotel Barcelona
Pensio 2000 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing