We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of Pensio 2000

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pensio 2000
Ranked #129 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice small pension just near the Palau de la musica (you must visit it). Easy going to the Barrio gotico (5 min) Placa de Catalunya (5 min), underground next door. Friendly owners, small but clean room, breakfast on the terrace.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Pensio 2000
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pensiò 2000 is located just in front of the Palau de la musica catalana, a masterpiece of catalan modernism. The Barrio gotico and the Eixample (where the Pedrera and Casa Batllo are located) are easy to reach.
The Pensio 2000 itself is very nice and cosy. Our room was big enough for two people and the bathroom was clean. The staff was polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alakazum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was a very good B&B, with a great location, right next to Palau de Musica, one of the main tourist attractions of Barcelona, and a block to the Cathedral, right in the heart of Barri Gotic. It was also only a 5 minute walk to Placa Catalunya, a main shopping precinct, and where La Rambla started/finished, and one of the main stops for both Airport buses (which go every 10 minutes in peak times, and every 15-20 mins late in the evening and very early in the morning). The metro was a 2 minute walk, so it was easy to get to from both the airport and to access all the metro stations. Wherever one stays in Barcelona, it is necessary to take the metro at some stage, as the main tourist sights are quite scattered over the city.

It was also very convenient for restaurants and tapas bars, with several bar/restaurants in the square itself (no outside tables), and numerous others close by. Ask Orlando for suggestions. There is one of the best tapas bars in the Cathedral square close by, Bilbao Berria, but be warned, it gets very crowded.

Access was by stairs, no lift, so beware if this is a problem (it wasn't for us). We didn't have a car so can't comment on parking, though it would be possible to drive to the pensio to drop off bags for a short while, but not to park in the Placa itself. The Pensio is no-smoking, which is wonderful, no stale cigarette smell.

The room was well furnished but not luxurious, with a double bed (I think), bedside tables with good lighting, cupboard and small table for two, where it was possible to have breakfast if preferred. There was no refrigerator in the room and not sure about A/C, but as we were there in early June, we did not need that. The balcony was small, so it would not have been possible to sit there, but was nice to be able to access. There was double glazing to keep the noise out, though you must remember that this is Barcelona, and with people out most nights till late, it can be quite noisy. Our first evening there was a Sunday evening, when there was a performance and the square was crowded, but only with people talking, not drinking. There was no traffic noise.

The bathroom was small, the shower was a bit old, and the towels were a bit worn, but there was the usual complement of shampoos, soaps, etc, and hairdrier. There seemed to be plenty of hot water, though there was a reminder to not waste water. No bidet, if that is a concern (we didn't care).

Breakfast was an extra 5 euro and had to be ordered by the afternoon before. There was a choice of 5 different menus. Coffee/tea + muesli + fruit OR + toast & jams OR + croissant & jams OR+ macrobiotic rice cakes of some sort OR+ cake. We had the muesli fruit option plus coffee, and must say, the muesli was very good, no added sugar, all wholesome nuts and cereals and dried fruit. I drink decaf, and this was the nescafe variety, which was fine with me. You could have probably got a slightly cheaper brekkie deal by going to one of the bars downstairs if you preferred. Breakfast was served from 9, so if you needed to leave earlier, this was a problem (but of course, later breakfast times are fairly typical everywhere in Spain).

The Pensio was marketed as being like your home, so there was a largish lounge with TV, sofas, bookcases, with boardgames, magazines etc. for guest use. There was a refrigerator cabinet with a variety of drinks available (but no beer or wine) for purchase, and complimentary coffee/tea/snacks (muffins) whenever you wanted. Also water cooler for guest use. The internal courtyard area with plants, shade cloth and outside tables was also for guest use, but only until 8 at night, when it was locked for security reasons. Both the lounge and courtyard were very pleasant, though we didn't use them and we never actually saw anyone using them. There was also a computer and printer set up for guest use, which was great for printing out any prebooked tickets (many sights in Barcelona can and should be prebooked to avoid the long queues at almost any time of year). Wifi was free and although Orlando thought that the signal strength would not be very good in our room as it was the furthest away, we had no problems with the connection at any time (the signal strength was always very good and never dropped out).

Orlando and Manuela were very attentive hosts, with lots of information, which they were happy to share. Whenever we needed help, they were always able to suggest good restaurants, bars, tapas, which was the best travel option, how to get to the airport, what sights to see, etc. We had a problem with our booking for La Sagrada Familia, and Orlando help us to sort that out by paying for the booking with his credit card. They were on site every morning from 8.30 till about 12, and then from about 3 until 8, and then could be contacted by free phone at any time, as they lived very close by.

Security was very good, with security cameras on the building itself as Barcelona has quite a problem with pickpockets. We were warned by Orlando and at various restaurants to be alert and never to leave valuables unsecured, but we had no problems. We were also warned to make sure that we locked up when we entered the building, which was shared with a music school on the first floor, and other tenants, but there were never any problems.

Must comment on the music school downstairs. The lessons included piano, flute, choir, xylophone and drums - it was lovely to listen to the music, even the drum lesson. It was never intrusive and the lessons were always finished by about 8/9 at night.

Price was about 100 euro a night, which for Barcelona is good value.

Room Tip: We had a double room, no 5, at the end of the corridor overlooking a small laneway, with a small bal...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank learningitalianat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The breakfast (5Euro) was very nice on the balcony with a lot of plants, the owners are a really friendly couple who are willing to help you with any problems you encounter. There is a living room and seperate rooms with showers - very very cosy with good views on the Palau Musica!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elijah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a great find at 66 Euros a night for a double room, private bath. We were in the back, behind the living room area (room 3 and 4) so we didn't hear any noise from the other guests. The rooms are beautiful, the view is great, we were right in the old city, and despite being across from the music theater it is very quiet because of the glass doors by the windows. Orlando, the owner, is very nice and responsive and speaks serviceable English. The only drawbacks are that it is two flights up, and the bathrooms had some kind of water-conservation machine that makes noise every time the water in the sink, shower or toilet is running. A light sleeper might be awakened by it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the living room, toward the back. Rooms 3, 4, or 5
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked this accommodation based on other reviews. We didn't find it difficult to find- number 6 is marked on the door and there's a sign at the bottom of the stairs. Orlando and his wife took our bags up for us and we had a warm welcome. They are wonderful and made us feel at home. Location is amazing- Palau de la musica across the alleyway, a cool little bar/cafe next door, an awesome cafeteria across the road, Rambla and passeig de gracia just down the street (5 minute walk) and lots of restaurants and tapas bars. For location, welcome, amenities- it's awesome. The rooms are generously sized, warm and homely. The bathrooms have shampoo, soap, razors, makeup removers- everything. Plus, there's always tea, coffee and cakes available for free. Our breakfast this morning was delicious- cake, croissant, cereal, coffee, juice and a big plate of fresh fruit. There are lots available. I would stay here again, it's a gorgeous place. I particularly love the piano music floating up here from the practice rooms :) If you're looking for an impersonal, 5 star hotel, this isn't for you, but if you want a 5-star, homely feel with amazing welcome, look no further.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice- we had 3 rooms between us.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

delicious and very central, but the only flaw is the lack of privacy.
the rooms overlook the hotel's lobby and you hear every speech!
the staff is friendly and ready to help for any problem.
We racomand it, for few days or week end

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DedeiaDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#176 of 513 in Barcelona
1,487 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#48 of 308 in Barcelona
458 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#17 of 308 in Barcelona
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Pension Francia
Pension Francia
#237 of 308 in Barcelona
147 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Fontanella
Hostal Fontanella
#65 of 732 in Barcelona
186 reviews
Eixample
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensio 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensio 2000

Address: C/ Sant Pere mes Alt 6, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $82 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pensio 2000 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensio 2000 Hotel Barcelona
Pensio 2000 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing