We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”
Review of Hostal Grau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Grau
Ranked #66 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here because we needed a room for four. We travel with our two teenagers. We were supposed to have one big room, but we got two connected rooms. We arrived on a very rainy day after a long train and subway ride. They were kind to get our rooms ready for us, so we could unwind for a little. The rooms were a little dark and the small windows opened up into alleyways. The lighting did not make up for the lack of natural light. It was nice to have two bathrooms and get the two rooms for the price of the one room. We didn't take breakfast here, as we got up too late. It is a tiny lobby and I am not even sure where the breakfast room would have been. It was an okay location off the top of the Ramblas. It was a fine experience, and staff was friendly enough, suggesting restaurants, etc., but I would probably look for another hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trumps4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HosteriaGrau, Propietario at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your opinion, it will help us to improve with the renovation that is going on at this moment.

We are making the room bigger, bathrooms, bigger as well, a new restaurant, a lounge with a fireplace, a vertical garden at the back and anothe vertical garden outside. We will get the leed certification(Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design)which is a rating system and environmental sustainability for buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council.

Hosteria Grau is closed at this moment , as you know, and it will remind like this until March 10th 2013, it is when it will be the time to begin a new stage. We will not be an standard hotel that you can find in every corner, we won´t be a “fashion” hotel that you can see in every city in the world, we will be that “special hotel” that keeps its personal cozy style and makes it unique. Always feeling like home....

i hope you change your mind and give us a chance . You won´r regret.

best luck for this 2013.

monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    209
    52
    14
    6
See reviews for
107
242
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent several days at this hotel after being delayed by Hurricane Sandy. The hotel was great, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect. It is about a block off Plaza Catalunya. The hotel was clean and looked like most of it had been renovated not too long ago. There was a little construction on the second floor, but it was quiet at night. Many rooms had their own bathrooms, but we spent one night in a room with a shared bathroom on the hall. This was not an issue as there are not that many rooms on the floor anyway. Free WiFi, but there are no TVs in the rooms. There is a lounge area with a TV and a computer, and they were rarely in use and always available. It is close to public transit, restaurants, and the Terminal Aeroport Bus stop to the airport. Overall it is simple, clean and in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelstooMuch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I spent three days at the Hosteria Grau at the end of a month-long journey around Spain and found that it was the perfect way to end such an incredible trip. Situated on a side street on the west side of La Ramblas, the Hosteria Grau is a small, unassuming little gem that had a very homey feel to it the moment I walked into my room (actually, you feel it when you walk around too - there's a nice lounge with a computer and books you can borrow). As a solo female traveler, I was also quite happy to see that the entrance was controlled at all times of the day (ie. you had to get buzzed in by the front desk person). The room itself was quite large and very clean. I will say that, similar to other posters, I found the shower stall quite tight (I'm a little on the bigger side and I found myself constantly knocking my elbows against the shower door or the wall). Aside from this, I had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the Hosteria Grau to anyone visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you want to be near the heart of all the nightlife stay here. In fact you will want ear plugs there is so much nightlife. We could not sleep one night. It was horrible, loud and into 4 in the morning. Garbage trucks at 2 in the morning too.

The rooms are bare. No toiletries like you might expect, such as soap, shampoo, etc. The rooms are dated. The staff were reluctantly helpful and not particularly welcoming.

When we left we heard they were about to start 3 months of renovations. I would be interested to see what they do, it would take so little really to make it charming. But I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftraveleralone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HosteriaGrau, Propietario at Hostal Grau, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I do apologize for not replying before. I am very sorry to hear that you think the hotel is old fashion, noisy and that the rooms are empty. This is a family business that has been on since my grandfather started in 1965. My father took over 20 years ago and when he died I started to run it. Your opinion is very imporatnt to us and it will help me with the new works going on.

All the rooms have air conditioning and heating, towels, soap, wardrobe etc..I do not know what you mean by empty. The decoration is not old fashion but rustic. We are closed at this moment to make some big renovations: new rooms, bigger, new bathroom bigger as well, new decoration, double window so no noisy anymore, double wall between rooms, restaurant , lounge with fireplace, terrace on roof, vertical garden inside and outside of the building. We will get a LEED certification (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design)which is a rating system and environmental sustainability for buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council.

Hosteria Grau will remind closed until March 10th 2013, it is when it will be the time to begin a new stage. We will not be an standard hotel that you can find in every corner, we won´t be a “fashion” hotel that you can see in every city in the world, we will be that “special hotel” that keeps its personal cozy style and makes it unique. Always feeling like home....

I hope you change your mind and you stay with us again. You won´t regret.

Wish you good luck for this 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge
Level Contributor
315 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a find!! (thank you Rick Steves!). We had a great room with a delightful little balcony. Very modern and spacious bathroom. The light switches are antique and too cool! The staff at the front desk are so nice and helpful with excellent suggestions. Our room faced onto a narrow pedestrian street so there was some noise, but close the window and the shutters and we heard nothing!

Today they are closing until mid-February and will update the infrastructure while maintaining its charm - we can't wait to come back!!

Great price, great value, great choice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank trvel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel has charming character and an excellent location. We took a cab from the airport, and it was good that we did as Hosteria Grau is tucked away on a small street, mostly used by walkers. It was nice to be take right to it since we didn't yet have our bearings of the area.

The entry and shared areas are charming. There is a lounge up a winding flight of stairs that is quirky and fun. Our room had two double beds, and with the two beds in the room, space was tight. The room, itself, was functional and lacked charm. However, it was quiet and we had excellent air conditioning which was nice as we were there in the middle of a heat wave and after touring around all day, it was so nice to sleep in a quiet, cool room. We all commented on how simple the room was, yet how good the sleep was.

We had an ensuite bathroom with a shower. The toiletries were weak, and I was glad I had some of my own. I would have paid more for better toiletries to be available.

Breakfast was not available when we were there. We would have welcomed it.

We took the bus to the airport when we left, and the stop was a couple of blocks away and was easy. If we had realized how close it was to the bus when we arrived, we might have taken the bus from the airport.

Hosteria Grau is in a perfect location for wandering. Within a couple of blocks there are bus tours available and we took a double decker tour of Barcelona - hopping on and off at different locations. There are options all around for good food and good shopping as well as historical sites. It was nice to be able to step out the door and head any direction to find something interesting.

I'd stay at Hosteria Grau again any time.

Room Tip: Our room faced an alley, without a balcony, but was quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Just two blocks form Las Ramblas. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. That said, this is not a luxury hotel. My room was very small, basic and rustic. So if you are looking for ammenities and luxury, this is not hte place for you. If you want a clean place to sleep in a good location, this is a great option.

Room Tip: Have lunch at the restaurant next door which is owned by the same people. The tortilla espanolas is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diverchick092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#82 of 513 in Barcelona
1,483 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#83 of 513 in Barcelona
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,355 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#187 of 513 in Barcelona
317 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 513 in Barcelona
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Grau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Grau

Property: Hostal Grau
Address: C/Ramelleres 27 | Raval, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Grau 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family eco-chic hotel located in the center of Barcelona, only 2min walking distance from Las Ramblas. We have a "green" philosophy and we are just about to Get the gold Leed Certifation(Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Green Building Rating System ). Decoration is fresh, mostly white with eco products and natural furniture. Our beds are organic and hand made beds "Naturalmat and Coco-mat". Reception opened 24hrs and freen internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hostal Grau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Grau Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Grau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing