We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Hostal Grau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Grau
Ranked #66 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
“Great find”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We recently stayed for three nights in the family suite. Great location & price, clean/well appointed rooms, wonderful staff- exceeded our expectations. Really nice find- we'd stay at Hosteria Grau again and would recommend this hotel without reservation. Rochester, NY, USA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    209
    52
    14
    6
See reviews for
107
242
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband & I just visited Barcelona for 5 days on a trip to Spain. Hosteria Grau was perfectly located just a block off the Rambla, right near the Catalunya metro stop. I am a light sleeper and was worried there would be street noise, since I know Barcelona is late night city, but we didn't hear a peep in our room. We were located in the back of the hotel which may have played a factor, but we stayed in other hotels all over Spain where that didn't make a difference.

The room was average size and the bathroom a bit small by American standards, but it was just the two of us and there was more than enough room for us to get around along with our over packed luggage. The room was pretty basic in terms of creature comforts, even so, it was more than I was expecting based on the cost & location. It was always clean and the AC worked perfectly which was a godsend after spending our days touring the city in the 90 degree heat of August.

We didn't ask a lot of the hotel staff but any time we did they were very friendly and provided us with whatever we needed. I would recommend this hotel to any of our friends who might be heading to Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twojoojies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my husband in August. It is very small but does have a lovely feel to it and I would stay here again. I was disappointed though that we had twin beds although I had asked for a double bed on booking. The room was very nice although basic but very clean. The wardrobe was a fancy white coat stand but for a couple of days, I didn't think this was a problem. We were in room 101 which from reading the other reviews on here is probably not one of the better rooms. The balcony looked out onto a wall and the air conditioning was very noisy. However, there was also something very charming about the place and I would stay again. The location was superb just around the corner from La Rambla at the top end near Catalunya metro station so very easy to get to with your suitcases. It was a good 25 min walk to the beach but you could stroll through the Gothic quarter on the way so it was a pleasant walk. If you want good clean basic accomodation in a great location, then this is the place. I paid approx £209 for 3 nights and booked direct with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekermanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for a week. It's got a great location, near, but a long block off the Ramblas. (Important: if you stay on the Ramblas you might not get any peace and quiet). We got a room in back and it was small, quiet and clean. The AC worked perfectly, which in the Barcelona summer is a must. Wifi included, reliable. Showers

The hotel staff, particularly Daniella, were as helpful as possible with every question we raised about making the most of our time in Barcelona. From bus directions, to car rentals, to laundry facilities, to concert tickets, to airport arrangements, you name it, she helped us.

You are a 5 minute walk to the top of the Ramblas and to Plaza Catalunya, which has buses to everywhere. There are enough bars and restaurants to keep you fed at a different place during your entire stay. Coffee places are right nearby.

For those used to mini bar, cable TV, lots of room, and general hotel facilities like pools and gyms ,this might not be for you, but it provided everything we needed at a much more reasonable price than the bigger hotels. We could hear other guests, especially when they entered or exited their rooms, but it never interfered with our sleep.

Muchas Gracias. We enjoyed ourselves and would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the street, quieter. If you need a fridge, they have one off the lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed five nights on our first visit to Barcelona and would definitely recommend it! The location is perfect and close to the city center. The room was air conditioned, clean and comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful.

My only negative comment is that the hotel is not internally sound proofed. We could hear the guests in the next room and every time a door opened or closed across the hall, it woke us.

I would go back there any day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our very last stay on a very large Europe trip. They were very accommodating, and every person at the front desk was helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable, and if we find ourselves back in Barcelona again, this will most likely be a place we visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenabena44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#82 of 513 in Barcelona
1,483 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#83 of 513 in Barcelona
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,359 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
2,051 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#183 of 513 in Barcelona
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Grau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Grau

Property: Hostal Grau
Address: C/Ramelleres 27 | Raval, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Grau 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family eco-chic hotel located in the center of Barcelona, only 2min walking distance from Las Ramblas. We have a "green" philosophy and we are just about to Get the gold Leed Certifation(Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Green Building Rating System ). Decoration is fresh, mostly white with eco products and natural furniture. Our beds are organic and hand made beds "Naturalmat and Coco-mat". Reception opened 24hrs and freen internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hostal Grau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Grau Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Grau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing