We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hostal Goya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Goya
Ranked #49 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013, we hadn't booked but the hotel we had booked didn't have the rooms we needed/had requested so we had to find accommodation for 7 people in a hurry. Hostal Goya was great. The apartment was clean and with 2 bathrooms it was ideal for two families to share. It was in a great location, being close to the Gothic quarter and Las Ramblas as well a metro stop so access to La Sagrada Familia was easy. We took a gentle stroll to Casa Batlo from the hostal and a quick metro trip to the Magic fountain

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Kallie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 460 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The location good. Bed very hard and was woken at 3am then 5am by party people returning.

Staff very helpful. I like to have a TV in the room, there was none. The value to what you get is not in line. Perhaps ideal for youngsters who party hard, not ideal for a family with a baby.

The photographer used for their website is very very good. If you get my drift

Parking 25 euro a night . Heavy !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsborneBJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stay at hostal goya last week (August 2013). it was a very pleasant stay. the room was big enough for 3 of us. the room was clean as well as the bathroom. the shower was great too, strong water pressure from the shower.
As for the location, it's nicely located, city center, close to the main square Catalunya where you can find the aerobus to the airport. (it's just one block away).
very close to the big shopping mall where you can find supermarket on the basement.
If you want to go some other places like la sagrada familia or parc guel, just take a taxi, won't cost a lot.

the staff was very helpful, showed me all the must-visit places.

the only bad thing that I remembered was there are few stairs at the ground floor (on the way to the lift). it was a little bit annoying if you have some heavy luggage. Otherwise, everything just great!!

thanks hostal goya.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marchmarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Helpful staff, especially with information about finding you way around Barcelona.

Within the range, the room was spacious and well kept by the staff, and the bathroom was very satisfactory.
Within easy reach of the metro and tourist and bus centres. Also close to shops, cafes and supermarket, and of course a great square. Good place to stay!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesandYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a lovely stay, the accommodation was just right for our needs - we wanted to stay somewhere close to the centre so we could take advantage of everything Barcelona has to offer. We will certainly return for another stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I cannot speak more highly of hostal Goya. We stayed for 5 nights and the location was perfect for sight seeing. We checked in late at night and the receptionist showed us straight to our room and asked us to call back to him the next morning so he could give us a map. He was very welcoming and the room was beautiful. Very clean, lovely bathroom, very comfortable bed and life saving A/C!! The next morning a different receptionist showed us where we were on the map and gave us very thorough details on where to eat, drink and sight see. She was so helpful. For the five days we came and went from Goya and our room was immaculate each day we got back. I cannot recommend Goya enough, the only place to stay in Barcelona for us!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deirdre65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hostal Goya for 2 days with my boyfriend in a double room with private bath. Considering this has the title hostal I assumed it would be like the ones I've previously stayed in before but it's a lot nicer and more private.

The room was TINY though; if you have a regular sized luggage it will not fit especially with 2 luggages open on the ground. Thankfully we both brought carry ons and it was still cramped for space.

The place is designed similar to Ikea or really simplistic styles which I liked and the bathroom was ok with a closed shower and all the necessities (ie hairdryer). Could still make the bathroom a little bigger though.

Overall, service wasn't bad, the staff gave us maps and directions to the places we needed to see. We were also able to book tours and taxi transfers with them, with no trouble.
The hostal is split into different floors sharing it with other local apartments. Our floor had a little lounge with tv, Internet, and free coffee.

I'm not sure if I would book here again now that I have a certain idea of the surroundings but this place I think may be quite competitive in terms of price compared to more expensive surrounding hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostal Amra
Hostal Amra
#27 of 307 in Barcelona
368 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Aslyp 114
Hostal Aslyp 114
#14 of 307 in Barcelona
222 reviews
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#6 of 307 in Barcelona
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#5 of 307 in Barcelona
605 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#16 of 307 in Barcelona
308 reviews
Eixample
The5rooms
The5rooms
#19 of 307 in Barcelona
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Goya

Address: Pau Claris, 74, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $74 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Goya 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Goya is one of the best options to enjoy your stay in Barcelona, one of the most fascinating cities in Europe. Located in the main shopping, tourist and business zone of Barcelona, Bed and Breakfast Goya is the perfect starting point to discover the jewels of Gaudí at Passeig de Gràcia, the mythical Ramblas or the Gothic Cathedral. On your arrival, our staff will provide you information about tour services, location, restaurants tapas bars, and tips on where to go. Do you need tickets for FC Barcelona, the Sagrada Familia or the last musical? We will book them for you. Within the same family atmosphere, we offer two types of accommodation: Bed and Breakfast Goya and the new apartment. In both options you will find the same quality of standards and services with brand new refurbished and stylish decorated bedrooms. Bed and Breakfast Goya provides WiFI for your laptop, TV lounge, bilingual assistance and 24 hour front desk, as well as ticketing service, laundry and car rental. Bed and Breakfast Goya, in the city centre Barcelona, is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Goya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Goya Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Goya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing