We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARVELLOUS”
Review of Hostal Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Eden
Ranked #504 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MARVELLOUS”
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I lived there for six months and loved it!!! People just like to complain! Thanks Dani & Jose!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasica2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    47
    26
    35
See reviews for
22
63
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2010

it was really good for the price of 20 euro per night per person in double room.its situated very near to the famous places in the city center, u can walk down balmes, then turn to rambla and go down to the cost or just keep left from balmes and reach gracia.
room are very clean and comfortabe, the furniture is new, which, for me was unexpectadly good, coz im very fussy bout new one,nevertheless they r not big, but very comfortable. i enjoyed

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaterinaFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

This place was recommended by Lonely Planet and Let's Go and was terrible. Very loud, dirty, broken fixtures, and falsely labeled as a "Hostal" when the sign out front shows it is a "Pension" which in spain is one grade below. To their credit, we paid for 4 nights with a credit card, and after a terrible 1st night, they refunded our money.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — very loud street
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank halitozis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

The room was about the same as most 2 star places. The staff was friendly and helpfull, while they offered free internet in their lobby from 2 computers. In addition, they have an onsite washer and dryer, but doesn't seem to work that well (but comes with free soap). The location was definately quiet, but had to walk about 3 or 4 blocks to get to the Metro. You could walk to Las Ramblas area, but still about 15 minutes. At night, we did find quite a few restuarants around the corner, so not too bad if you are not set on Las Ramblas.

  • Liked — Free internet
  • Disliked — Location and Washer/Dryer
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brett13sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2008

BEWARE!
It's the worst place I've ever stayed in, hostel eden is incredibly dirty, grubby hideous and disgusting. The room wasnt very clean, mainly the bathroom. In each corner (room, bathroom, ceiling) was about 5cm coat of dirt and spider's web. There was filth everywhere, particulary in the bathroom: fungi between the tiles and bath NO SHOWER COURTAIN! (try to take a shower in 60cm bath without it). Not a single hook to hang the towel next to the tub or a stool. Damp in one of the walls. The windows didn't lock. Easy to break into. Furniture (chair, desk and bed-side table) are about 30 year old, are worn out and mostly MOULDY! And, worst of all, the springs of mattresses was on the point of breaking off. TV doesn't working.
We paid for double ensuite and got 4b. dorm :/ We had to asked and remain about hairdryer (should be at all rooms). And this awfully stink (fustiness, mustiness). Only + is location.

  • Liked — nothing, only small + for location
  • Disliked — It's the worst place I've ever stayed in, hostel eden is incredibly dirty, grubby hideous and disgusting. The room wasnt very clean, mainly the bathroom. In each corner (room, bathroom, ceiling) was about 5cm coat of dirt and spider's web. There was filth everywhere, particulary in the bathroom: fungi between the tiles and bath NO SHOWER COURTAIN! (try to take a shower in 60cm bath without it). Not a single hook to hang the towel next to the tub or a stool. Damp in one of the walls. The windows didn't lock. Easy to break into. Furniture (chair, desk and bed-side table) are about 30 year old, are worn out and mostly MOULDY! And, worst of all, the springs of mattresses was on the point of breaking off. TV doesn't working. We paid for double ensuite and got 4b. dorm :/ We had to asked and remain about hairdryer (should be at all rooms). And this awfully stink (fustiness, mustiness). Only + is location.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frog_little_frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Well for a hostel to call itself Eden was an understatement, yeah rite! The room was clearly a double at most but four of us were crammed in. Easy to find and close to almost everything we wanted to do and the check-in staff were pleasent but the hostel itself and decoration looked like it had come straight from a cheap version of the Addams family film!

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank cooper867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

Do not believe the reviews the guide books have of this place. They all seem to rate it as ok. This is not true.

This place is the worst place I have ever stayed in.

I have travelled extensively all over the world. This includes both western nations and 3rd world countries. I have stayed in everything from 5 star hotels to dorms in old run down hostels. This is the worst of the lot. We had to move because we didn't feel safe. This was on top of the terrible state of the room and the rudeness of the staff.

Firstly, they inform you that they can store your bags if you arrive before your room is ready. They store them in a doorway open to the street where anyone can walk by and steal them. If you decide this is not good enough and wait, they tell you your room will be ready in an hour and then take 4 hours of your Barcelona visit before giving you the key to a room that has not even had the bed made. They also are very rude when you inquire about how long the room will be in this period.

The list of problems with the room was huge. Firstly there was a 2cm wide gap at the bottom of the door. People could look straight into your room. It seems to have been opened by a crow bar at some stage. We were promised a double bed. Instead we got 2 single beds. They were extremely uncomfortable. We had to ask for new sheets to be put on them. When the room was booked we were promised air conditioning. Instead we got a small electrical fan. On top of this we could not open the windows to sleep at night as the curtains only covered about 1/4 of the span of the window. Therefore in the middle of the Spanish summer we could not sleep because of the heat. Just to top it off, the showers do not have any hot water. So you could not even have a shower in comfort.

All night there was banging and screaming from the rooms nearby. Given that our room looked like it had been broken into in the past as well as the activities in the rooms nearby we decided to move hotels after 1 night as we didn’t feel safe. This was despite the fact we had already pre paid for a few nights accommodation (We had to do this to get the room key)

  • Liked — There is nothing good about this. It is dirty, feels unsafe, the staff are rude and you have to fork out 50 Euro a night for the room.
  • Disliked — Not feeling safe.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don' t stay here. There are other hostals for the same price that are worlds better than this.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Timbo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,359 reviews
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#356 of 513 in Barcelona
251 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Balmes Centro
Hostal Balmes Centro
#164 of 308 in Barcelona
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Lenin Hostel
Lenin Hostel
#217 of 723 in Barcelona
218 reviews
Eixample
Casa Balmes
Casa Balmes
#75 of 308 in Barcelona
67 reviews
El Raval
Pension Miami
Pension Miami
#557 of 723 in Barcelona
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Eden

Property: Hostal Eden
Address: C/ Balmes 55, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Eden 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hostal Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Eden Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Eden Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing