We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location, with bathroom and air con”
Review of Hostal Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Eden
Ranked #495 of 739 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived late and shell-shocked by heat and travel -the room was cool and clean, the decor quirky and characterful in the right sort of way. The big bath was a good surprise. We had a balcony overlooking the street and a little supermarket opposite plus a couple of friendly bars etc. So it was great -and can't have been noisy as we all slept well. At that price we got better than expected.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyGraig13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 186 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hostel is situated in a very good location quite central, short walking distance from Las Ramblas and Placa Catalunya.

For the price you pay compared to accommodation in Barcelona having a private bathroom the price is good. The rooms are average, we also had a fridge in our room which we found helpful. When first arriving at the hostel with luggage, go for the key from the reception to use the lift as it does not work without the key.

The receptionist was very kind and helpful but for some reason or other she did not give us good direction to bus station (Estacio Nord) maybe she misunderstood us or I dont know, but if we did not recheck ourselves to ensure this we would have gone somewhere else and loose the bus that would take us to the airport.

On the whole I recommend the hostel as it is in an ideal location, but if you are looking for luxury then you have to pay more.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Eleonora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I think for the money you pay this is good accomidation. The area is niceand only a short walk from the centre of town and some good (and cheap) local bars in very close distance. The rooms can vary - we were a group of four and we had two rooms one being definately nicer and quieter than the other. This said the rooms were cleaned daily and for the price to have your own bathroom in a location this central not sure what more you could ask.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephaniedawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you fly in and arrive by train or the Aerobus Eden can easily be reached by just walking. The lift only works with a key so you'll need to first walk up to ask for assistance. It's nothing fancy but for a family of four the place was big enough and good enough since we focused on the attractions of Barcelona instead of spending a lot of time in our room. The staff was helpful, and the place has huge lockers for the luggage.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJK-Gothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for a city wandering, just 3 minutes walking distance from La Rambla and the same distance from direct train connection to the airport. Room with private bathroom was OK and spacious (speaking of a hostel) with cleaning and bed changed every day. Lockers for luggage are available here so we could spend also the last day wandering around.
Free high-quality wireless internet.

Cons: noise coming from the street gave the impression of an opened window though it was closed (we've tried like hundred times...). Solution = 0,95? earplugs which did the job perfectly and you get them in any pharmacy on the corner.
The door lock was rather simple and window could not be locked properly, but it is a well priced hostel so that should not be a surprise.

1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This Hostal is in a very good area, 5 min. walking to Placa Catalunya and about 3 blogs from Casa Batllo and La Pedrera.
It is old, but the floor and the bathroom is renewed. The rooms are small but this is no problem if you are travelling to Barcelona not to stay the half day in your Room. This was no problem for me!
It is very simple equipped (a chair could be helpful to have some space to let something) but there was a hair dryer and a fridge there.
WiFi was working well.
The Room looks maybe not very Clean, because it is old, but the cleanliness was very good.
Staff was ok: A man who worked in the night shift did not know English, but he was very positive and helpful, we contacted effectively. I didn't had any problem with the Staff generally.
If you don't have high expectations, then is it a great value for money! If you have high expectations, then it's sure that you have to spend more money for your stay in another place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

As other reviewers have said, the hostel is in a great location. It's close to Catalunya Square and several metro stops, so it was easy to get anywhere you want. It was also great for the Airport buses, which all pick up/drop off at the square.
Our room was actually about two blocks away from the actual hostel reception. I'm not sure if all rooms are there or if they are split between the two locations (perhaps that accounts for the diverging opinions here). Our room was just above a night club, which made it very difficult to sleep. Some of the lights in the hallway were out making it hard to find our room at night when we arrived. We could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms. The room was small, which was too be expected given the price. The worst part for us was that the room was moldy and dusty - so much so that I was coughing and sneezing the entire time I was there. When I book at a budget hostel, I keep my expectations low, but this was just not acceptable. I wouldn't recommend this hostel

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 739 in Barcelona
1,618 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#67 of 739 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 517 in Barcelona
3,904 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 517 in Barcelona
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Eden

Address: C/ Balmes 55, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #495 of 739 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $34 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Eden 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Eden Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Eden Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing