We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget hostel close to catalunya square”
Review of Hostal Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Eden
Ranked #488 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“budget hostel close to catalunya square”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

barcelona being one of the most expensive city in spain.on a tight budget finding single
room with private shower was not easy.at £27 per night. booked well in advance.this was the cheapest option.being a hostel was bit weary of students/noise in the hostel.this hostel is about 10-15 walk from the catalunya square.from the airport aerobus a1 and a2 stop here. the hostel is not hard to find with a good map.from catalunya aquare you can take metro to all major attractions.went past the hostal couple of times. there is no sign on the door.the hall was dark . there was no sighn for the reception.its on the fist floor.frendly staff.the room was medium size. not small as i expected.there was mini bar.the bed was very close to the wall.strugle to get to other side of bed(see pic).NOTE. there were no toiletries. not even a bar of soap or cup .there is minimarket in front of the hostel.you buy you toiletries.the room was clean. it was cleaned daily and linen were chaged daily. to my surprise the hostel was quite during my stay.not many students.there are no facility for cooking or restaurant.there is vending machine for drinks.i would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    43
    49
    26
    36
See reviews for
23
65
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The place is really poor. The receptionist is rude and unwelcoming. We had a triple room which was awfully crammed. The furniture is so random to the point that each piece is different as if it came from a different pile of junk.
the only good thing about this place is its location. it's a 5 minutes walk from placa catalunya.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basmaberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the location and price, and the description sounded really nice... But... When I read the reviews about this hotel I almost cancelled my booking - I don't know what the people experienced or expected, but I sure don't have anything to complain about!
The staff was nice, the room was nice, and the bathroom was nice - the furniture wasn't exactly new and modern, but I didn't travel all the way to Barcelona to spend my days in the hotel room anyway...
The only "negative" thing is that the walls are thin, and my neighbors toilet was right next to the bed I slept in, well - there was a wall between ofcourse ;-) Also around 8 AM it sounded like someone upstairs above my room played some sort of computer wargame, but that's all...
I'm glad I didn't cancel my booking and I would recommend it to everyone and wouldn't mind staying there again ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheArtistMalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I chose this place because of its location. This was the only good thing about this Hostel. Rooms were just horrible. I had a wooden bunkbed and my window (at least that room had one) overlooked the drainpipes. The room was dark and hopeless. This was the worst experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Great location and great price, all things considered you cannot expect much more than you get from this place. I don't know if it has changed in recent years, but I am shocked at some of the reviews! We had absolutely no problems, the beds were average but certainly not uncomfortable, everything was clean, and our room had a fridge which came in very handy. The bathroom was great, I loved the bathtub, and they provided a hairdryer too. (also FYI towels, soap & shampoo are included, I know in some hostels you have to rent towels).

However the main thing I was especially pleased about was the service from the staff. As a few have mentioned, their English is not spectacular but it didn't matter. We popped in here first to ask about another hotel we had booked but could not find. When we had given up, we came back here to book a room and even after we had paid, she asked if we had actually booked with the other hotel. When we said yes, she immediately looked it up online and phoned their number several times, and even phoned someone else to ask if they knew anything about the place. I thought it was really good of them, we didn't even ask them to go to that trouble.

The only thing that I could even think to mention as a downside was at the end of our first day I really fancied a bath - but there was no plug! Went down to reception to be told that the cleaners have the plugs, but they had gone home and she had no access to them. I found that kind of strange...

Overall, a pleasant hostel especially considering the price and location. Not many amenities but definitely worth it if all you want is a clean, comfortable bed for the night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Ugly, old and the beds seemed to be camp beds. Not clean not dirty, just ok. Most of the staff spoke English but not very friendly with one exception - thank you Carolina! The location is very good, metro is just a few meters away, Catalanya sq a short walk away and across the street is a 24h cafe-very convenient. We didn't mind the noise as we were so tired every night that only a war could wake us up. For the money we paid we didn't expect something special, but at least the beds could be real beds.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MACARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I lived there for six months and loved it!!! People just like to complain! Thanks Dani & Jose!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasica2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#389 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#111 of 513 in Barcelona
1,906 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#131 of 513 in Barcelona
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hostal BCN Port
Hostal BCN Port
#233 of 728 in Barcelona
232 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Balmes Centro
Hostal Balmes Centro
#176 of 308 in Barcelona
119 reviews
Eixample
Lenin Hostel
Lenin Hostel
#262 of 728 in Barcelona
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Eden

Property: Hostal Eden
Address: C/ Balmes 55, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #488 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Eden 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Eden Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Eden Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing