We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Cold, Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Ciudad Condal
Ranked #145 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Algiers
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Small, Cold, Good location”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a small Hotel.
It is in the 2nd floor, accesible with a small lift.
The rooms are small but finctional, TV, Air conditionner, very clean.
The price is OK for the location.
No breakfast.
The reception is "OK", cold, no smile, just the minimum.
Nothing special I would say just OK, next time I'll choose another one to be honest, I took that one because I coudln't find available rooms in another Hotel in Barcelona but it can be OK for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Just OK, cold reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rashid_DZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    51
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
29
42
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Good location and clean. The room and bathroom were really small (expected more for the price) but the staff is kind and I had no trouble getting a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani_del_Rosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This is not a hotel, but is a hostal providing some rooms within a building that is also used for other purposes. The front door of the building is not the hotel, you have to be let in and then go to the hostal reception on the second floor.

We arrived quite late at night to be 'greeted' by a night porter who spoke no English and made no attempt whatsoever to communicate with us so we could understand (no hand gestures, writing things down etc). He not only had to let us in to the building, but each time we went out, he had to let us back into our room as they did not give us a key to the corridor where our room was located. At one point the night porter started shouting at us, which scared the life out of my 10 year old daughter as we had no idea what he was mad about!!

The daytime staff were better and made an attempt to communicate. The rooms were very clean, but basic - like student rooms. The mattress was rock hard and the pillow was a brick! In addition there was no air conditioning at all. I later found out that there is air conditioning but they only switch it on in high summer.

This is definately one to avoid! We ended up moving to the Hotel Constanza ( see other review), which was well worth the extra money!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ClareCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

belfast
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Right beside the Ramblas. Room was a good size and very very clean and modern.
Room had a small balcony-well insulated by sliding double glazed windows with electrical operated shutters that reduced noise from the busy street. Bathroom had a bath with shower that was slightly ackward to use. Room had a free safe that is always appreciated in Barcelona. TV and air con in the room. Towels on the skimpy size.
Staff very professional and friendly and I would readily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donaldgregoryBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights - to be fair the other reviews saying that the walls are thin and that it's a noisy part of the city is right - you CAN here people walking past and as you're next to los ramblas and all the bars/pubs/restaurants it's going to be noisier - but i loved it. I just wanted somewhere right in the middle of barcelona where i had a bed. this hotel is brilliant if that's all your after. So i recommend you book hostal condal, explore barcelona - do the cable cars for the fantastic views, the Gaudi church (work in progress!) and when you come home in the evening you can walk down los ramblas, with the restaurants, street performers and it'll put a smile on your face.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holmesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandnes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2009

This is an okay place to stay if you have a good sleeping heart. The walls are as paper an the beds very hard . But is clean . The owners is ok , but speaks little english .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kallemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

A friend and I visited Barcelona in early September, and we started looking for a hotel at the end of July. Barcelona, like NYC, is known for having expensive hotels, and for whatever reason, every reasonably priced hotel ($100-$150) was already completely booked. We eventually settled on this place and booked a private room w/ a bathroom for $100/night, which seemed quite high for a hostal, but the photos online looked okay, and the location in Eixample was good.

When you arrive, you go up to an office on the 2nd floor of a pretty decent-looking building. However, our room ended up being in a much scuzzier building next-door, where the front entrance looked like the entryway of a tenement house. The flat itself, where the hostal has several private rooms, wasn't so bad, but our room was a bare, shabby little space, and the bathroom was laughably tiny. The room appeared to have its own A/C controls, but it turns out that the A/C only turns on at 10pm and goes off again early in the morning, and it's barely a whisper of air at all. It's still 90 degrees and extremely humid in Barcelona in early September, so if you need A/C at all in order to sleep comfortably, this is not the place for you.

The other terrible thing about the room was the incredibly tiny shower. If you're larger than a small female, I have no idea how you can bathe in that space - even the opening to get INTO the shower was quite narrow.

The only 2 good, or not-bad, things I can say about the place are that the room was relatively clean, & the location is good. Eixample has two famous Gaudi houses, along w/ the amazing modern-design store, Vincon, and the excellent Fundació Antoni Tàpies. However, I'd strongly advise travellers who can afford it to find another place. This is a hostal, after all - do NOT expect the same level of service or comfort that a hotel would have, not even if you're paying $100/night. I'd've happily paid $50 more per night if I had known how terrible this place would be.

  • Liked — Relative cleanliness
  • Disliked — Almost everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Try not to stay here. It's worth paying a little more for a real hotel.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nabokovian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Actual
Hotel Actual
#145 of 513 in Barcelona
492 reviews
Eixample
Hotel HCC Regente
Hotel HCC Regente
#273 of 513 in Barcelona
508 reviews
Eixample
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
#78 of 723 in Barcelona
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostalin Barcelona Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#158 of 723 in Barcelona
666 reviews
Eixample
Suites Avenue
Suites Avenue
#12 of 723 in Barcelona
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ciudad Condal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ciudad Condal

Property: Hostal Ciudad Condal
Address: C/ Mallorca 255, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Ciudad Condal 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hostal Ciudad Condal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Ciudad Condal Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Ciudad Condal Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing