We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip with Friends”
Review of Ronda House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ronda House Hotel
Ranked #396 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Good value for a group of 3. We had 3 single beds and paid a very reasonable rate. It was clean and in a safe area. We walked most places from here, but also conveniently took the subway as well. They provide shampoo but no conditioner, so bring that. There are also safes in the room, but are opened by the key, so not sure how effective that makes it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passportnecessary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
There are newer reviews for Ronda House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 655 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

THis hotel was booked as an xmas present from family. We enjoyed our trip to Barcelona but found this hotel very basic and in a bit of a rough area of town, lots of muggings took place when we were there and there were some dodgy characters about. We were fine though luckily, prob cos my husband is a huge fella. Hotel was clean enough. Was 15-20 min walk to Rambles.
Barcelona is nice and we did enjoy our visit but would book nearer to the centre ourselves next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Ronda Hotel is good value for your money. This was one of the cheapest hotels in Barcelona with this good location. Hotel itself is small and quite old, but if you are just looking for a place to sleep, it's perfectly fine.

Room is roomy enough and bathroom was nice and big. We had some problems with the room though: walls are thin and you can hear everything your neighbors say. There's some water pipes inside the walls and they make a lot of noise, not a nice thing especially in the middle of the night!

Another warning: If your room mate leaves the room and you lie in bed not moving, electricity shuts down automatically. This happened to us when my boyfriend went outside for smoking and I stayed in our room alone. I was lying in bed and watching tv, not moving a lot, and suddenly the lights went off and tv shut down itself. The whole room was dark, it was quite scary... When I stood up, electricity came back on. There's a small motion detector on the wall which turns power back on, and there's some sort of automatic power switcher that turns the electricity off when you leave the room...

Location is good, although the neighborhood is little bit restless. Not a long walking distance to the nearest metro station. Nice cafe opposite the hotel, much better breakfast there than in the hotel. Staff is nice, but all of them don't speak English very well, could be a problem if you don't speak Spanish... Not sure would I go back but this wasn't the worst hotel I've been to (and not the best either...)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurahoo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed here for a few days with my boyfriend and we had a very nice time. The staff was nice, the room was clean and very big, especially for a european city! The hotel is located close to the Place de Catalogne and publoc transport - it may seem like it isn't central, but it is!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonestar1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel is very standard but has a good central location. It is a little hostel-like and seems to have a lot of groups. Staff are nice. The room had a bath. The TV was tiny. No mini-bar. Near a metro stop. It is a little hidden away at the side of the permanent market.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Good location, but very noisy at night, staff not very helpful, rooms ok but not to many windows in rooms, got sick from the air-conditioning. Restaurant food not good. Ok for short stay but no longer than 2. Be careful of there air-conditioning I don't think they clean there filters. Shop around is the best advice

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My friend and I chose this hotel at the last minute. We will never forget our horrible experience... we booked online, when we showed up the room wasn't ready, they told us the cost of the room would be more than what we agreed to online, and the wifi wasn't working. When we finally got to our room, it was nasty and we were supposed to stay at the hotel for 4 days. The first 2 days we didn't have any hot water, not even warm. We complained to the staff who said they would not move us to a new room AND we would have to wait a day for the maintenance person to come fix the problem. We asked to be compensated since we could not take showers nor could we cancel the reservation since it was made online. The staff was horrible, they refused to let us speak to a manager saying, "No one is allowed to talk to the manager." They would call him on the phone while we stood there in front of them. It was humiliating. One night, a few guys got stuck on the elevator, which was jerking up and down with the doors partially opened, and they were screaming for help (it was over 100 degrees in the elevator, in the middle of summer). My friend and I frantically ran down the many flights of stairs to the front desk to get help. The staff stared blankly at us and could care less!!!!! Finally, a staff member got the guys out, but it was all very scary. Later, the guys told us lots of things were stolen from their room. We were so disgusted with everything at Hotel Ronda, we left a day early to relocate at a new hotel, losing over 200 Euros for leaving a day early. We were told be locals that this place is run by the mafia. I wouldn't be surprised if it was, as I have never experienced such disgraceful customer service in my life. We didn't feel safe or welcomed at this hotel. It was disgusting in every way possible.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
#414 of 513 in Barcelona
377 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#283 of 513 in Barcelona
1,281 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#395 of 513 in Barcelona
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
#294 of 513 in Barcelona
692 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#354 of 513 in Barcelona
1,720 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#287 of 513 in Barcelona
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ronda House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ronda House Hotel

Address: Sant Erasme 19, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $61 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ronda House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern architecture, multilingual staff & restaurant is centrally located near the historical center & the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ronda House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ronda Hotel Barcelona
Ronda House Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing