We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine rooms but leave no valuables” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Levante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Levante
Ranked #186 of 751 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Fine rooms but leave no valuables”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The rooms are small, but the bed is decent and so is the bathroom. But do not forget to take your valuables with you when you leave the hostel in the morning. The cleaning staff steals. No aircon, but a nice fan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgehrke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    126
    70
    35
    25
See reviews for
36
98
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at this hostel at end of an intrepid trip and added on a few nights privately. It is clean and good location but not value for money. Other places close by are much much better.
Our room on level 4 was a double and very smal, no air con only a small fan so very hot. Location was noisy and had to wear ear plugs at night. No TV but neighboring buildings are so close u can watch their TV. Bathroom small so that only one person could use at a time or if one person on loo other person had to walk over loo person to get to shower. A bit too intimate. Windows had some type of seal but not double glazing and didn't stop noise. Luckily the fan noise helped drown out outside noise.
The cost of this room for our private nights paid through an intrepid travel agent in Australia was 100 euros but if we booked direct would have cost 80 euros. New Zealand travel companions paying through intrepid agent in new Zealand paid 130 euros which was a major rip off for the room they got. Other travel companions who got a room on the day paid 60 euros and got air con so price is variable. I'd so standard is about 70 to 80 euros for twin/double.
Complicated system of getting to hostel rooms - u are buzzed into building than enter a 3 door lift pressing white button to get to reception on level 2 then get into lift pressing button 1 to get to rooms on level. 4. Not sure how to get to rooms on level 3. Good news is free wi fi.
So overall our room not worth the 100 euros we paid considering hotel around corner was 120 euros, with air con, near new and had swimming pool with much more professional reception area and service.
Cheap laundry around corner. Asian gentleman runs laundry plus Internet shop and washes and dries 8 kg laundry for 9 euros within 2 hours. Also some fabulous and amazing high quality but cheap restaurants nearby, including cheap silver service places but avoid anything on la rambler (main tourist strip/trap) side alleys much better.

Room Tip: Ask for air con, check prices carefully, better value close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hostel is in a disused brothel. Kind of cool. The location is great, it is quite and immaculately clean. It is more like a hotel than a hostel. We couldn't get the wifi to,work in the room. The common area is very basic with chairs lined up around the walls, like a waiting room. There is nomaircon so it will be hot in summer. There is a fan. The rooms are a good size and the beds comfortable. Towls, shampoo etc is provided. It is a huge place. The staff are unfriendly. If you stay in this hostel it is a little hard to find so get some directions. I would stay there again except it is expensive. I stayed some where equally as nice in Barcelona for half the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovingonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Despite the wonderful location - right off Las Ramblas - the hostal itself is a loud and cramped space. Shared a bathroom which was at the far end of the hall... inconvenient! Room was small, pokey, and overlooked the ventilation shaft, but at least it had a small sink. Would I stay there again? For the price... NO!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

recently went to barcelona for five days break stayed in the hostal levante the hostel has a great location but was very basic you could hear every noise from the reception area and light shone in gaps round door all night no privacy at all the room itself was fine but needs a bit of a makeover thought the price was too much as have stayed in many hotels in many cities which were better standard and cheaper loved barcelona and will return but not to this hotel

Room Tip: ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Our double room was small but the storage and furniture in it was modern and very practical as was the bathroom which was as good as I've had in much more expensive hotels.
Every time you left the hostal the reception insisted you leave the keys at reception for security reasons which wasn't a problem as it's manned 24hrs and also no matter what time you went out between 9am-2pm your room got cleaned and fresh towels were left.The cleaner was excellent!!!
We stayed 5 nights and every day we realised a little more just what a great location for exploring the many attractions of Barca the hostal is in and all conveniences you need are there within a minute.(bank,supermarket,bakery,restaurants)
A very quiet room also mean't we slept extremely well there.
We'll defo be going back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstuartchef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hostal is located in an area which makes it a good base for exploring what the average tourist would want to go out and see and is in the heart of all the action - however it is basic. We stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour so cannot comment on the cost of the room, however for myself as a solo traveller I was given a room with two single beds. The bathroom was very spacious and clean which was nice, however there is no air conditioning so I can see the room getting quite hot in the summer and it also doesn't have proper windows which leads a really wierd smell. That said if you are planning to spend your time out and about and are coming home to rest your head in a comfortable place - the smell isn't bothersome. The staff were very friendly, there is a computer in the lobby that is available for 50 cents or 1 euro, there is free wifi in the lobby and mini supermarket around the corner from the hostal (great for buying snacks, water etc). I noticed that my mattress was very bare bones and I could feel some of the springs when I initially checked in however after days of walking around and exploring Barcelona for 8 hours a day I didn't feel a thing. Maybe a problem for a light sleeper.
Note that they do not serve breakfast but there is a great little bakery perfect for this - a hop away from the Hostal.
I would not reccomend any lone female travellers to walk around late at night by yourself in this area, however in a group is fine as it is very busy with tourists everywhere into the wee hours of the night.
There is a lot to see in Barcelona that you can find in any guide book but for the foodies out there - definately go to Mercat de la Bouqueria - an upscale food market - just heaven!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelgal_5219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#477 of 523 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#277 of 523 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Ramos
Hostal Ramos
#116 of 323 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Europa
Hostal Europa
#306 of 751 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Fernando
Hostal Fernando
#33 of 323 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal NITZS BCN
Hostal NITZS BCN
#136 of 323 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Levante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Levante

Property: Hostal Levante
Address: Baixada de Sant Miguel, 2, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 751 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Levante is situated in the Barcelona's central and oldest neighbourhood, el Gotico. Five minutes away from Las Ramblas, the city's main and most famous street and just fifteen minutes walking distance fron the beaches of the city (Barceloneta). It is well connected with the underground and the bus. It is easy visiting Barcelona and it's most emblematic buildings (Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell, La Pedrera, Casa Batllo, Gothic Cathedral), museums (Picasso, Macba, Mnac) and attractions (FC Barcelona - Camp Nou, Montjuic fountain, Tibidabo, Puerto Olimpico, Born) from the Hostal in a comfortable and easy way. Enjoy Barcelona, one of the Europe's most beautiful cities, staying in Hostal Levante. It is a familiar, pleasant and welcoming Hotel. The rooms have just been reformed, it has heating and private bathrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Levante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Levante Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Levante Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing