We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but The staff let it down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Levante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Levante to your Saves list
Hostal Levante
Baixada de Sant Miguel, 2, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #259 of 720 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great but The staff let it down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hostel is in a disused brothel. Kind of cool. The location is great, it is quite and immaculately clean. It is more like a hotel than a hostel. We couldn't get the wifi to,work in the room. The common area is very basic with chairs lined up around the walls, like a waiting room. There is nomaircon so it will be hot in summer. There is a fan. The rooms are a good size and the beds comfortable. Towls, shampoo etc is provided. It is a huge place. The staff are unfriendly. If you stay in this hostel it is a little hard to find so get some directions. I would stay there again except it is expensive. I stayed some where equally as nice in Barcelona for half the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovingonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Despite the wonderful location - right off Las Ramblas - the hostal itself is a loud and cramped space. Shared a bathroom which was at the far end of the hall... inconvenient! Room was small, pokey, and overlooked the ventilation shaft, but at least it had a small sink. Would I stay there again? For the price... NO!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

recently went to barcelona for five days break stayed in the hostal levante the hostel has a great location but was very basic you could hear every noise from the reception area and light shone in gaps round door all night no privacy at all the room itself was fine but needs a bit of a makeover thought the price was too much as have stayed in many hotels in many cities which were better standard and cheaper loved barcelona and will return but not to this hotel

Room Tip: ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Our double room was small but the storage and furniture in it was modern and very practical as was the bathroom which was as good as I've had in much more expensive hotels.
Every time you left the hostal the reception insisted you leave the keys at reception for security reasons which wasn't a problem as it's manned 24hrs and also no matter what time you went out between 9am-2pm your room got cleaned and fresh towels were left.The cleaner was excellent!!!
We stayed 5 nights and every day we realised a little more just what a great location for exploring the many attractions of Barca the hostal is in and all conveniences you need are there within a minute.(bank,supermarket,bakery,restaurants)
A very quiet room also mean't we slept extremely well there.
We'll defo be going back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstuartchef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hostal is located in an area which makes it a good base for exploring what the average tourist would want to go out and see and is in the heart of all the action - however it is basic. We stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour so cannot comment on the cost of the room, however for myself as a solo traveller I was given a room with two single beds. The bathroom was very spacious and clean which was nice, however there is no air conditioning so I can see the room getting quite hot in the summer and it also doesn't have proper windows which leads a really wierd smell. That said if you are planning to spend your time out and about and are coming home to rest your head in a comfortable place - the smell isn't bothersome. The staff were very friendly, there is a computer in the lobby that is available for 50 cents or 1 euro, there is free wifi in the lobby and mini supermarket around the corner from the hostal (great for buying snacks, water etc). I noticed that my mattress was very bare bones and I could feel some of the springs when I initially checked in however after days of walking around and exploring Barcelona for 8 hours a day I didn't feel a thing. Maybe a problem for a light sleeper.
Note that they do not serve breakfast but there is a great little bakery perfect for this - a hop away from the Hostal.
I would not reccomend any lone female travellers to walk around late at night by yourself in this area, however in a group is fine as it is very busy with tourists everywhere into the wee hours of the night.
There is a lot to see in Barcelona that you can find in any guide book but for the foodies out there - definately go to Mercat de la Bouqueria - an upscale food market - just heaven!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelgal_5219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Conveniently located in the city, average distance for the beach and airport. The bathroom was great. The room not so much... a little dusty and dingy. The beds were okay but the fans (there was no a/c) were covered with a thick layer of dust.

We liked that we would leave our bags with the front desk even after we checked out. The wifi only worked in the common area.

The restaurant beside the hostel with the tarantino theme had some awesome spanish pizzas!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontochicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We just stayed at the Hostal Levante for the second time. Everybody knows that Barcelona is an expensive city, but it is possible to have a clean room with private bath in the center for 60 euros. They serve no breakfast, but there is a small café in the building in addition to supermarket and a bakery steps away. You have to book this hostal via their own web-site, and they charge you for the first night on the day of booking. It is possible to cancel, and use the charged amount for a later boooking at the hostal, but they normally doesn't pay you back. The hostal is superclean and comfortable, the staff is correct, and the situation is fantastic with lots of attractions in a walking distance. There is no Tv and no air conditioning, but a fan is provided. Yes, we would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nojo6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#274 of 519 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#408 of 519 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Call
Hotel Call
#335 of 519 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hesperia Barri Gotic
Hesperia Barri Gotic
#89 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#319 of 519 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
#81 of 318 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Levante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Levante

Address: Baixada de Sant Miguel, 2, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 720 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Levante is situated in the Barcelona's central and oldest neighbourhood, el Gotico. Five minutes away from Las Ramblas, the city's main and most famous street and just fifteen minutes walking distance fron the beaches of the city (Barceloneta). It is well connected with the underground and the bus. It is easy visiting Barcelona and it's most emblematic buildings (Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell, La Pedrera, Casa Batllo, Gothic Cathedral), museums (Picasso, Macba, Mnac) and attractions (FC Barcelona - Camp Nou, Montjuic fountain, Tibidabo, Puerto Olimpico, Born) from the Hostal in a comfortable and easy way. Enjoy Barcelona, one of the Europe's most beautiful cities, staying in Hostal Levante. It is a familiar, pleasant and welcoming Hotel. The rooms have just been reformed, it has heating and private bathrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Levante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Levante Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Levante Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing