We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise in this area of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tonka

Tonka
Ranked #2,493 of 9,400 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $13 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Healthy ingredients, mostly from Catalonia, in a pleasant space in downtown Barcelona. Perfect for healthy breaks (with home made cakes made with locally produced, organic eggs, plus a wide choice of organic teas, organic soy milk). Come visit for lunch (at a special price, including starter, main course, drink and coffee or home-made cakes). Or come over at early evening for classic tapas (cheese from Pirineo mountains, Spanish cured ham, etc.) Or just enjoy our dinner, with tasty main courses and chef's specials, with a choice of beers and local organic wines. And on week-ends: BRUNCH (please email or call us to reserve your table). All at reasonable prices, for all pockets. -
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice surprise in this area of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Good food, quality ingredients, everything pristine and all driven by young and nice people. Nothing else need to say.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan_Domenech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    66
    31
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Small cafe with great food and service.
We went there based on the trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The waitress was nice and spoke English. She took the time to answer our questions on the menu which helped a lot. The food was fresh and tasted great. Highly recommend this to anyone who wants a great meal in Barcelona.

Helpful?
Thank Suneet T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great food and wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stumped across this place after we couldn't get into another restaurant. The menu is great plus lots of options for salads, sandwiches and of course tapas. Service was excellent and for €10 for a bottle of wine, you can't go wrong!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitten83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal at Tonka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great meal from beginning to end here! Warm and friendly staff, beautifully presented dishes from salads to dessert. The chef welcomed us personally, offering to explain the dishes and recommended a nice bottle of wine to enjoy with our meal (a perfect choice). She even checked back to be sure we were happy with our meal. Each dish is carefully prepared and the ingredients (most are organic) are of the highest quality. Service was also very good, not rushed in any way and we were presented with complimentary after dinner drinks. Nice touch.....
We would certainly return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loves2travel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We loved this restaurant. The chef came out and spoke to us and made a special pasta dish based on what we told her we like. It was excellent. The arugula, pear and goat cheese salad was outstanding and beautifully presented. I've attached a picture. They had craft beers which my husband loved and we had a great bottle of organic Mas Elena red wine (blend of merlot, cab franc and cab). Whoever wrote the previous review saying they had a huge wine list must have been talking about a different restaurant, because they only had 2 reds.
We enjoyed the fact that this is in a quaint little neighborhood, not far from the tourist area, but a completely different atmosphere, quiet and sweet.
Our server was named Christine and she was lovely, helpful, and friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonka also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Tonka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing