We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hostel: clean, excellent location, but lacking comfort”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Ramos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Ramos
Ranked #112 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent hostel: clean, excellent location, but lacking comfort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hostel is 100 meters down a side street of the Ramblas, very near La Boqueria (market). The neighborhood is not the best Barcelona has to offer, but you don't have to get in too deep.. The rooms are cleaned daily, with fresh towels being delivered as well. The comfort level of the rooms is very low, just the basics (bed, shower, toilet and some closet space). Our rooms were a bit noisy with the windows open and a bit smelly as well. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay (mainly due to the location). If you just don't expect too much beforehand, I'm sure you'll do too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    110
    89
    18
    20
See reviews for
28
114
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Perfect place if you are on a budget. It's clean and just 3 mins walk to La Rambla. TV channels are only in Spanish, no fridge and no lifts.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvesStGullbekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

6 of us stayed in the hotel for 2 nights whilst on a stag do. It was as to be expected very clean and tidy. the rooms were OK as we were not staying in them for long only a few hours sleep. Staff were very friendly and we had no issues like some while we were there (didnt know what about). We experienced no trouble going to or from the hotel. there was more at Le Rables which can be quite seedy.

In summary, you get what you pay for and it was good for what we wanted a place to sleep and a shower in the morning. Wouldnt take the wife there!

Room Tip: book in advance and be prepared
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbyhuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

I'm not sure why hotels do not have to advertise this fact, but this hotel does not allow visitors in the room. I was travelling with friends for 2 weeks, and stayed in Barcelona for a few days at the beginning and end of trip. We were not all staying at same hotel and we had friends who lived in the city. The first hotel I stayed at, no problem to have a friend up. However, this hotel completely different story...no one allowed in. If I had known this I would have never booked here. Plenty of other hotels in the area. Plus, super noisy. Very early in the morning, the restaurants on the street wheeled out the metal tables and chairs on some kind of dolly, all piled on top of each other shaking and banging into the others...excrutiating!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

We were 3 male friends around 30 years old. We were looking for good location, good price, clean rooms and safety. The hotel fullfiled our expectations. The hotel is about 120 metres from La Rambla and the subway station Liceu. Everyday we were returning between 1:00 - 3:00 and we did not experinece any problems (no drug dealers, prostitutes, ...). It was suprisingly clean - it looks much better from inside than from outside. The furniture was not the newest, but it did the job. There was room service every day and was efficient, the room was always clean and tidy. There was always someone at the reception. We could leave our luggage at reception the last day, so we could stroll around city without them. Only problem was the size of the room - it was very small (we had one room). And so were the beds. There was some noise in the mornig - started around 8 o´clock, because in the street opposite the hotel was small shop and it was supplied by the goods. However the noise was only during work days. And if you closed the windows, you could barely hear anything.
The bathroom was small, but clean. However, since it was "inside" the room (at the corner), if you don´t like to hear your friend´s noises you must turn on the TV quite aloud :-)
There was computer with free internet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jafc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

i stayed with a friend for 6 nights.
we booked it because the location of the hotel is very convenient and it was cheap (67euros per night). the room was sipmle and clear,but there is a lot of noise from the other rooms (there is no insulation)and outside(garbage trucks-people shouting-e.t.c.) during the night.
outside the hotel people asked us if we wanted drugs or sex!
anyway, we wouldnt care, because we are young and we just wanted a safe and central place, just for a sleep.
but it is not safe. they stolen cosmetics and clothes from our suitcase. when we told to the receptionist, they were surprised and did not pay any atttention. they just said, that we lost them somewhere else and that the staff of the hotel does not steal.
we were disappointed from our stay in ramos, and we dont want to have that bad memory from nice barcelona.
eventually, if we assume the stolen things, it wasnt cheap!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josephAthenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Hostal Ramos offers surprisingly good value for money. It does not pretend to be a five star hotel; and it is not a backpackers hostel. It is a clean, plain hotel in a brilliant location. We stayed four nights: it was quiet, we did not see the drug addicts and prostitutes we had read about in one review: Instead, we found we were in a "local" area with a brilliant cafe/bakery next door, a bank, an ATM and shops selling to locals. The famed La Ramblas was a few meters away, but we did not have the huge noise that street generates. The bathroom was basic, the towels clean and changed daily. The room was adequate; certainly not small, with a queen bed, a writing bureau, tv, phone, wardrobe and bedside tables. Don't be put off by stars and price!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal La Palmera
Hostal La Palmera
#90 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
El Raval
Operaramblas
Operaramblas
#52 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Levante
Hostal Levante
#201 of 753 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Europa
Hostal Europa
#315 of 753 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Mare Nostrum
Hostal Mare Nostrum
#21 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
El Raval
Pension Solarium
Pension Solarium
#215 of 326 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ramos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ramos

Property: Hostal Ramos
Address: Street Hospital, 36, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Ramos 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive charming hotel is situated in the city center, next to the Ramblas in Barcelona, ​​and within walking distance of Mercat de la Boqueria. Its location guarantees a wide and varied range of shopping, restaurants, entertainment, culture ..., Whether weekends or holidays. The rooms have bathroom, heating, air conditioning, television, telephone, and safe. Good accommodation, where the structure of two centuries, a period in which the building was built remains. The opening to the public is 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Ramos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Ramos Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Ramos Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing