We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do-able”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Residencia Rembrandt
Ranked #617 of 735 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is definitely a easy and easily accessible place to stay in the city. It does not have the wow factor one bit. But for a couple of friends who spent more time exploing the city we just wanted a place to sleep and wash. The shared bathroom faciltiies arent bad- although would have been nice to have had something to dry my hands with other than loo roll once being to the toilet.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, and if you hve late flight for just 5 euros they will keep your liggage after you´ve checked out. So it meant we could spend a day in the city without taking our luggage with us.

The reason why I gave it a ´poor´rating was due to the lack of sleep. I expected noise from the Las Ramblas but the windows did drown it out. It was the other guests! Considering in the ´hostals´rules it says ´there must be pin drop silence after midnight´ it was more loud at 2am than it was in the morning and evening. I came away from the tip way more knaquered than I did when I arrived. In saying that Barcelona is an amazing city and I will return- just not here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca_Lobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 241 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

Worth considering if you want a cheap place in that area but definitely the backpacker hostel end of the spectrum. Rooms are very basic, old furniture, a bit airless and depressing, you don’t get soap, towels are changed every second day, there are signs forbidding washing and drying your clothes and the whole place is VERY noisy - all the doors and latches, pipes etc are old and make a lot of noise and the sound really echoes and carries, as do voices (although there was no partying when I was there). On the plus side it seems safe and the staff are helpful and they have lots of info about tours, launderettes etc and the location is ideal if you want to be between the Rambla and the cathedral. It is easy to find and close to the metro.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRChurchlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed in this hostel for one night with a total of 5 friends. It was one of the cheapest options in the city which was on a very central position. The rooms were very basic but that was expected for the price. We had a shared toilet and bathroom and also a shower in the middle of our room which we didn't found very useful because it delivers no privacy and it wets the room. Overall it was clean and comfortable so nothing to complain about that.

The only bad thing about the hostel was that about 6 hours after checking in the guy who checked us in knocked on our room and said that we paid with a fake 20 euro's. The fake 20 euros was a 'fake fake' which is immediately recognized as fake money as it was made very amateuristic with paper and glue. It was in no way possible that we paid with the fake 20 euros and we felt very insulted as we checked the money both when we paid it. Also we paid only with 20 euros notes so it would be very stupid to put only one fake between it. When we went 5 minutes later back to the reception, where the manager was, everything was ok and we didn't hear anything about the fake money and it seems the guy tried to scam us 20 euros.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinKaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The hostal is centrally located in a walking street. There is free wifi. Good value for the money. Note they charge extra to pay with Credit Card, have cash on hand and save 3 €

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NVG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The room was small, but it had everything I needed. The bathroom was right beside the room though it wasn't in it. My room was cleaned everyday and they would change the sheets and the towels. The place was quiet even if the hotel is really close to La Rambla, which is perfect. I could go almost anywhere by walking. And, the staff was nice and calm. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilieDuaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of June. We were looking for somewhere cheap, and near La Ramblas and it was pretty much perfect for our purpose.
The owners were very friendly and welcoming, and I was surprised to find that our room had a shower and sink - we had expected to share a bathroom with other guests!
Everything was also very clean, and the location was great. Down a street off La Ramblas and about 5 minutes away from the metro.

The main complaint I'd make about the place was the noise. Not so much an issue with earplugs and shutting the windows, but the street cleaners come out at 1am and are still quite noisy! Also there is no ari con which would be an issue in the height of summer.
For a budget hotel though it was spot on

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank electro_cutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hostal Rembrandt. A nice and friendly atmosphere, service minded staff. Our room was cleaned every day, we could borrow a hair dryer and got new fresh towels every day. The Hostel is right in the middle of the town, still in a rather quiet corner. We truly recommend Hostal Rembrandt to every Barcelona tourist!

Room Tip: The friendly atmosphere is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulla059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#433 of 515 in Barcelona
165 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#30 of 735 in Barcelona
426 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostel Fina
Hostel Fina
#83 of 735 in Barcelona
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#14 of 307 in Barcelona
572 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Excellence
Hostal Excellence
#165 of 307 in Barcelona
58 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Barcelonastuff Apartments
Barcelonastuff Apartments
#493 of 735 in Barcelona
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Residencia Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Residencia Rembrandt

Address: Puertaferrisa 23 | Junto Ramblas, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #617 of 735 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $47 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Residencia Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Residencia Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Rembrandt Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Residencia Rembrandt Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing